Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mount Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • janaye56276359
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Jun 2018
8.0

This hostel had a lot of neat features like a reading nook and a cat, and the staff clearly cared about my stay. The room was a little cramped, with very little floor space for my things and no lockers available to store my stuff elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • frederikehagedorn112
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jun 2018
8.3

The staff was super friendly and the bed was comfortable but the hostel is next to a very noisy bar and for someone who had to catch the bus at 7 am it was really annoying. Also i could hear the people talking in the lounge. All in all this is probably great for someone who likes to party and to go surfing but it wasn’t such a nice stay for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st May 2018
8.0

Had a lovely time at Mount Backpackers. The lady on front desk was really welcoming and had lots of advice and vouchers for freebies and cheap trips like the hot pools. We had a bed by the window which was very noisy at kicking out time but that's not the hostels fault just something to be aware of.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th May 2018
9.4

Great hostel in a fantastic location. Friendly, cosy, good facilities. Just down the road from Mount Maunganui, good bars and food nearby, a few minutes walk from the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anniecgilchrist1730
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2018
8.6

It was a short stay, lovely welcoming staff. The mattress I slept on was horrible with a huge sag in the middle. I actually hurt myself the next day, did something to my back . This was a little scary in a foreign town but went away after a good sleep on a nice bed. Overall I enjoyed my stay and appreciate the staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kevkeel3344
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2018
9.4

Awesome hostel in a perfect spot. Staff and guests were all super cool and welcoming. Everything you want as a lone traveler really. Could have had more space in rooms, but it was nice because everyone hung out in the common areas instead.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2018
8.6

Came back cause it was the cheapest and nostalgia. Doesn't offer too much though and the kitchen closes early so if you're a late eater like myself it looks like you're having sleep for dinner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mariatandy958628
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Mar 2018
4.9

Great location but that's where it ends. The staff member checking us in acted like we were an inconvenience and told us nothing, lazy & not helpful at all. The dorm was so cramped that people's feet were basically in your face when you slept. Tiny lockers, couldn't even fit a laptop. Kitchen is tiny and filthy, full of flys and the fridge stank. Was full of long termers who didn't obey the rules of 'quiet time', TV was ridiculously loud & played way past midnight, not sure if they are deaf?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×