Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nikko Guesthouse Sumica

  • 5-12 Aioi-cho, Nikko-city, Tochigi, Japan, Nikko, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rebstockjames2334
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2018
10.0

I had a really great stay in Nikko. All the staff were such helpful, gracious and kind. I would definitely stay again if I return to Nikko.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2018
10.0

I had a lot of fun staying here, met some great people and the hosts helped me SO much during my time there in informing me about the local area and where I could walk with all kinds of useful maps and suggestions. It has a great vibe, much more relaxed and social than I had previously experienced and I hope to see the hosts again soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2018
9.7

The host couple are really the draw in this place, they're truly lovely! If U get the landlady to play cards (which is not difficult) prepare for a awesome time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2018
10.0

Sumica was an amazing stay! The hosts were extremely friendly and very helpful. I came to Nikko with no plans at all and no idea what there was to do and they gave me some amazing recommendations. The guesthouse is super close to the JR station and the buses and really convenient to get everywhere within Nikko. I loved the heated table that sumica had. It made it a great place to eat or hangout. The people that I stayed with were also fun and made my stay even better. I will come back to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
12th Mar 2018
9.7

Nice little hostel. Stayed when it was still winter in Nikko. Room was warm, staff friendly and location was a few steps away from the train and bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2018
7.7

Booked a private double room - which was great. Room was too small for our bags to fit in though, so they were kept in the corridor - no security worries though. Guesthouse staff were amazing and even gave me a list in their car toward the near-by shrines (30 mins walk). Great location in Nikko. Kitchen nothing to write home about, but plenty of places near by, include a large supermarket (10 mins walk).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jan 2018
10.0

The guesthouse is so tiny so it feels almost like a homestay, the staff is so friendly and accommodating! it was so cold when we went there, so the kotatsu (table with heating) felt extra nice, also a good place to have a chat with other guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jan 2018
9.1

The guesthouse was in a great central location of Nikko and close to places to eat and supermarkets. The owner and the staff were super friendly and very helpfull. It does get cold as it doesn’t have central heating but they have individual heaters and lots of blankets and hot water bottles at night. Overall was very happy with it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2017
10.0

Amazing beautiful and cozy place, the owner is a lovely guy who will make you feel like home. My friend and I felt so welcomed!! We had a great night with the other guests singing and chatting, and we became good friends. It’s a lovely atmosphere that you have to live if you go to nikko. I will definitely stay at this place again. Totally recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2017
9.4

An excellent choice of budget accommodation in Nikko. The hostel is right next to the station and town centre. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very happy to help you enjoy your stay. I went in winter and the hostel was warm and cosy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×