Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nikko Guesthouse Sumica

  • 5-12 Aioi-cho, Nikko-city, Tochigi, Japan, Nikko, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 612 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 612 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kenny_lee76710
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2018
10.0

lovely guesthouse ,i had lovely night there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Jul 2018
9.4

Great cozy place in a great spot and with great people running it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2018
9.7

I would STRONGLY recommend a stay here if you're in Nikko - other reviewers have noted the hostel closes up for a few hours a day for cleaning and it also doesn't have air conditioning, but this was still my favorite hostel I've stayed in so far in Japan. The staff is amazing and Yuko especially does such a good job of building a little community every night. You won't regret a stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yuqianru19907260
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2018
10.0

never live in such a social hostel before. Know so many lovely people there, we are very connected through this hostel and staff who is working in this hostel. Very cool experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
18th Jul 2018
8.9

The staff were very kind. It's the perfect place if you look for a homely night to stay. It was right next to the station which was very useful. Everything clean. Only a bit hot with only a fan in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarahbrierley122378
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2018
9.1

Very cozy , small hostel. What it doesn't have in terms of space it makes up for in friendliness. Yoko was so helpful and friendly and went out of her way to make guests feel welcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marianneszymanski332
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
10.0

If I could give this place 11/10 I would! Clean, comfortable, very welcoming and friendly staff, it felt more like a homestay than a guesthouse. When I arrived, one of the staff asked if myself and the other guests wanted to go and see fireflies, and took us out to see them for free. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • olivdl6843
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2018
9.1

Great location, basic hostel but with lovely staff, little privacy in rooms (open bunks). Staff cooked delicious meal for us (for only 300 yen) and took us to see fireflies! Would recommend if visiting Nikko

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2018
9.1

I had such a gŕeat stay. Pleasent staff that create a social experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jun 2018
9.7

Owner was a lovely lady, she drove her own car and drove all 3 of us right up to the bridge and the start of the sightseeing. After walking around temples and shrines we headed back to the hostel. She setup a number of games for guests, and really facilitated in engaging guests if they were interested. She also shared with us reasonable places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay in Nikko. I had visited 18 years before and always wanted to come back, so glad i could share 1 day w family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×