Hostelworld.com

Nomads Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Sep 2018
5.7

Placed smelled, dryers didn’t dry clothes properly even after 3 uses, place was a ghost town at night. People didn’t tidy up after themselves. Staff were great but yea no lockers in rooms which smelled and were really dark.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We've taken your comments on board and the maintenance issues have been passed on to Management. We're replacing all our Washers & Dryers soon, so I hope you come back to see us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Aug 2018
7.7

Staff were really lovely and helpful. The kitchen is definitely very small and could use some more bench space. The first room I stayed in smelt really bad (kind of like a football team had been in there and it hadn’t been aired out properly) the second room was good though got really hot when you slept on the top bunk. They could also do with providing more blankets as one thin blanket in the first room with a broken heater really isn’t ideal. Overall the place was good though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you come back to join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2018
8.9

Great spot, they create a dope vibe in the common area. WiFi isn’t the best but that isn’t a big issue when you have plenty of people to talk to; and you will find someone to connect with. Great bonding events nightly! They got a bar on the ground floor, the kitchen is nice, but no oven unfortunately. You’re right next to the Queen Victoria Market so you’ll get a dope taste of the melting pot that is Melbourne. A couple of the floors has luke warm showers :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope to see you back here again soon! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • Tanthanhnguyen244f1716
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2018
9.4

The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is in the heart of the city. My room mates were nice. It would be perfect if someone did not hang their washing clothing in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you had a pretty good stay with us which is exactly what we like to hear! I hope you come back and join us again (without someone's washing in your room). Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2018
4.9

The kitchen is incredibly small and dirty with no dining area. I accidentally left a plastic bag with my food in it on the counter for an hour. When I came back someone had stolen most of my food. There is free tea and coffee but no mugs and hardly any forks. The card reader on our dorm door wasn’t working. They advertise a lounge cinema but it’s always locked

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and can understand your frustration. You're always more than welcome to approach Reception to find out where our dining areas are (we have two, not including the bar area) or if you need the cinema room opened. Reception can also supply Mugs & Forks if you couldn't find any. Other guests frequently don't do their washing up so we regulate the amount of cutlery in our Kitchen to help guests feel compelled to wash their dishes. Unfortunately we can't help that someone stole your food after you left it out for a period of time - such is backpacker life. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Best wishes, Georgia.

  • tiabailey48976284
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2018
5.7

They handed the luggage room key to anyone without any ID although this was a free service it wasn’t secure at all. There were lots of permanent residence making it hard to make friends and made you feel uncomfortable. There were no activities to get to know more people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Cheers for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. Our free luggage room storage has a security camera monitoring it and although it may seem like we're careless with the Storage Room key - we are aware of who has the key and whether or not they're staying here. We have a free walking tour and nightly bar activities to help you make friends. We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • katemcallister4560
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2018
3.7

My friend and I arrived late at night and found out that we were in different rooms. Her room didn't even have any free beds so she had to go down to reception to find that they had double booked that room. We were also overcharged and we had to bring it to their attention. The kitchen was super messy, nobody did their dishes. Overall weird vibe from the whole place. The outside area is really nice but other than that our experience was definitely less than ideal.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and I apologise about the confusion that happened to your friend on your first night and your overcharged. This is obviously not standard practice for us and I'd love for the opportunity to change your impression of us. Let us know if you're ever coming back to Melbourne so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • callanicholas36672
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2018
9.1

THE PILLOWS WERE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD AT A HOTEL EVER! And I am really sorry about the accidental sleep in :) Lots of love, Nicholas Calla

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We're super happy you had such a great sleep - I mean stay - with us. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2018
6.0

Good location, nice staff, not very clean. Door didn’t lock. Kitchen was messy. Room didn’t get cleaned daily.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and I'm glad you found our location & staff to a high standard. Our kitchen gets clean no less than five times daily - but you can imagine with 275 guests that sometimes it will get a little bit messy from people not cleaning up their dishes. I'm alarmed that your room didn't get cleaned daily however, as this is common practice here at Nomads Melbourne. We hope you enjoyed your free upgrade that you had during your stay here and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2018
9.1

The hostel was wonderful and very accommodating to our needs. They had amazing theme nights planned that were a lot of fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a great review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you come join us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

×