Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ocean Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
10.0

Rooms are a bit tired, but they're clean, the beds are comfy and the water pressure in the showers was good! Can't ask for more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Dec 2017
7.7

Overall a good hostel. The location is one of the best you’ll find - you can literally fall out of your dorm onto the beach. There’s a nice communal courtyard and bbq. The only issue was with a member of staff who was not great in helping me get a taxi. He didn’t offer to book one and even said he’d charge me $20 to use the hostel phone - given the location of OBB and the fact that most hostels over the world book transfers, they should be more accomodating. Sad as rest of staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2017
10.0

Really awesome hostel with a great vibe. Full of great and fun people and I'd definitely recommend staying there. The location is perfect, literally 50 metres from the beach, with a supermarket and train link to the city only 15 minutes walk from the hostel, and a bus stop right next to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2017
10.0

I had an awesome stay at Ocean BeachBackpackers! Lovely and very helpful staff! The location is just perfect with a 100m walk to the beach!! Totally recommend this hostel and will definitely come back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lallenm046803
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
6.9

Location near the beach and cafes was great! It was clean and the beds were comfy. Wifi was average, especially because it didn't reach the rooms. Atmosphere didn't really exist. There were a bunch of people that lived there and weren't all that friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2017
8.6

Great location just across the road from the beach and the bus stop. Decent hostel, but a lot of long termer's. Decent facilities with a bottle shop just next door which is very convenient. Could do more to make it a better hostel experience. Cleaner kept leaving the dorm doors open - not ideal for security. I'd stay again but only because of the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Nov 2017
9.1

Recommended hostel. Great staff helped us with checking in. Answered every question and assisted wherever possible. Location is good, place is clean, all amenities are good for what you'd expect at a hostel. Common rooms, although not used, seemed reasonably set up and easily accessible for all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2017
8.3

Basic hostel right at the beach. Don't expect luxurious facilities or super cleanliness, but it has everything you need. Nice beach but not much else, only store is an IGA. Relaxed atmosphere where everyone knows each other, bit of a party hostel in weekends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • denisemayree
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2017
8.6

My start was excellent. I would have stayed longer but the mates was terrible and I couldn't sleep. Otherwise it was fantastic

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rsahearne
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Sep 2017
9.4

First hostel I've stayed in and found it a great place to stay. It's in such a good spot! Only thing is I was there for 6 days and others in my room had been there longer but we never saw the cleaners clean the bathroom in the room- it really could have done with a wipe down or leave some bleach in there for us to do it?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×