Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
9.7

This is my favorite hostel in Istanbul and one of my favorite period. Very cool old-feeling building with a lot of character. Cozy...indoor 'terrace' on top floor as well as a semi hidden little balcony above that which overlooks much of Istanbul (you can see the Blue Mosque! And the Taksim skyline...check it out at night!). Owner is a good guy and a real human being. Best location of any hostel in this city that I'm aware of (between Hagia Sophia/Blue Mosque and Cemberlitas/Grand Bazaar).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • malmukhtar
  • Iraq, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2017
10.0

Very good hostel and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ciwanhalo7694
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2017
10.0

The hostel location is perfect. I would definitely recommend this hostel. It is very clean and staffs are so kind and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • slemantamerm2597
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2017
10.0

The best amazing perfect and comfortable hostel for all who love traveling and stay in a amazing center point of city, The old city hostel is in a center point of old historical İstanbul With a very helpful staff ,clean as perfect as everyone will like, perfect terrace with Very nice view of the famous blue mosque Very nice breakfast,. I really enjoy the stay in old city hostel, sure it get my place for next time , I recommend it for everyone who plans to visit İstanbul.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2017
10.0

It has the perfect location at the center of the old city. Almost on main road. 1min for the tram. We could walk to all the historycal places. Very good stuff and the owner is very friendly and kind. Thanx for everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2017
5.4

Do not stay here! The hostel manager is not to be trusted. I booked this hostel for 11 days instead of 4 days by mistake. I emailed the hostel 3 weeks before my stay explaining what happened and never heard back. When I checked in, the receptionist informed me I would need to pay for 11 days regardless. This is in violation of Hostel world’s cancellation policy. The manager refused to accept this. He harassed me for my entire stay pressuring me to pay the extra money. I felt very unsafe. SCAM.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
15th Oct 2017
8.6

Perfectly located hostel right in the old city centre on the tram line with loads of restaurants super close. Decent sized rooms, good Wi-Fi connection, sockets at every bed. Good breakfast included. A little noisy at night due to the outside restaurants. Cute little terrace on the fourth floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2017
3.7

We would recommend staying elsewhere. The bathroom was filthy, and the guy was really rude and unhelpful. Security was non-existent, all the lockers had false locks. The breakfast was also depressing. There are so many better choices in Istanbul.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Oct 2017
10.0

Good value accommodation, friendly staff and a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

wow. what an amazing place to stay! I travel through Istanbul often and after bad experiences at a number of hostels in the city, I now alwsys settle for here. it has a great staff, it's on a really cool street for hanging out and smoking sheesha, it's very clean, and very safe. the location is perfect too. I recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×