Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oliver St. John Gogarty Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 4448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 4448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2018
4.9

This hostel was difficult to live in. The rooms are incredibly hot and the windows don’t open more than an inch. There is only one bathroom in each room making it difficult to shower and use the restroom when you need to. And there were no showers in the hallway. There was black mold in multiple rooms. Finally, the kitchen and eating area was dirty and food was left out all night, then served for breakfast the next morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mcbeec164646
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
8.6

Everything was pretty good about our stay but there were three concerns that stood out against other hostels we have stayed out in the Temple Bar area. The first being the heat in the rooms at night, the second being the selection available for breakfast, and the most important being a significant amount of mold above the beds we slept in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
2.0

Worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Staff was unhelpful and couldn’t even book a taxi accurately. There was 1 bathroom for 10 beds. There were 3 outlets for 10 beds. There was mold growing on the ceilings. It was louder than a concert due to location. I would rather stay in a prison than go back to that hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2018
10.0

Can't complain! This was a great price, clean hostel, and unbeatable location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jul 2018
10.0

A good place to stay in Dublin

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2018
7.1

The bathroom of my room was very dirty when I arrived at the hostel. The floor was very sticky, and there was hair everywhere. I only stayed for 2 nights, and during this time the bathroom was not cleaned at any point. Be aware that the hostel is in the middle of Temple Bar and does not have any air conditioning. During my stay, it was unusually warm for Ireland, which made it nessacary to sleep with the windows open. As a result, it was very loud in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2018
8.9

Fantastic location . I went with a large group of 40 year old professionals and were initially apprehensive about staying in a hostel . For a weekend of sampling the Dublin drinking culture the location was perfect. No idiots no trouble just really expensive alcohol and fun . Be prepared to pay anything from £6 -£9 a pint .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arielbody2246
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Jun 2018
6.3

Overall pretty average - no major complaints! Pros - Under-bed storage bins you can lock for security. Baggage storage if you arrive early or leave late! Seemed to be solid wifi connection. Cons - Right near Temple Bar bar area, and above a bar - so pretty loud (or maybe that's your thing!). Power outlets in the room were scarce and in weird places. Some of the bunks had personal lights, and some didn't. Breakfast didn't start until 8 (which is so late!), nor did the kitchen open.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cbennett028434
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jun 2018
5.4

This hostel is ok, but very dirty and extremely loud. The breakfast wasn’t good and the staff were a bit rude. The only good thing about this hostel is the location. I have been traveling for about 4 months in hostels and this is one of the worst.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jun 2018
9.7

Excellent vibrant hostel in heart of the city and temple bar. Room large and clean with great storage space and good wc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×