Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oliver St. John Gogarty Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jan 2018
9.7

The location for this place was amazing (stumbling distance from bars). The room was nice, fairly clean but spacious. It was a little noisy at night since there is a bar literately next to it but you could still have a good sleep. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was free so that was awesome! I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2018
6.6

The location is excellent, bur the rooms arent that good. There is a good breakfast too. Don’t go to the bar nest to the hostel, that has the same name. It is a rip off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2017
4.9

You book this hostel for the location, right in the heart of Temple Bar area. Apart from that, don’t expect much. The “lockers” below the beds were not secure so even with a padlock, someone would reach in if they tried. My dorm room toilet didn’t flush very well. Not many outlets in the room. The staff seemed like they hated their jobs (because they dealt with drunk temple bar people all night)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • stuartjohnmoore8959
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2017
9.7

Great location, very central. Clean rooms and everything worked well. Would be handy if you could store luggage for the day when checking out in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2017
8.9

A hostel directly above the bar with the latest hours in Temple Bar district? Yes. A great place to base yourself. Rooms were a bit small and stuffy, which would likely be attributed to many bodies and one only one window.Didn’t spend much time sleeping anyhow, so not much of a problem for me. Needs a common room. In the heart of Dublin’s “tourist” area. Plenty of bars, restaurants, and shopping district is less than a mile away. Ideal location if you like to drink and listen to live music.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2017
8.0

The disadvantage of this hostel is that, due to it’s location, it’s very noisy and the windows don’t help with that, as they are quite old. The breakfast is very good as well as the rest of facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2017
9.1

The hostel really contributed to my wonderful time in Dublin--the beds were comfortable, rooms were spacious enough, and there were enough bathrooms around the building (if you knew where to look!) I was also extremely pleased with the breakfast and coffee/soup served all day. It was really nice to warm up from the cold outside! You also can't beat the location--right in the heart of Temple Bar and a short walk from many tourist locations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2017
6.0

The room was very stuffy. There were no lockers in the room and there were only outlets on one side of the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2017
6.0

Extremely dirty and loud, rude and unfriendly staff. Great location, big breakfast, nice common area

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2017
10.0

An easy and straightforward hostel stay, booked a 4 man room for me and 3 mates. 2 bunk beds in a clean and secure room, with private bathroom in the middle of the temple bar. For the cost what more could you ask for. Room was small but it was purely for getting our head down when we weren't enjoying the famous Dublin social and nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×