Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Once in Joburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2018
10.0

Totally recommended! The time in this place was so nice, atmosphere and staff very helpful and friendly, even organizing activities to meet up with the rest of the visitors. Rooms and facilities very clean, and also is located 10’ walking from Park Station of the Gautrain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • guimacampos
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
9.1

Best hostel eveeeer. Staff are the best. In my stay here, everynight had a party in first floor. Good days here. I will miss that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2018
6.0

Not a great experience overall, but still seems like one of the better places to stay in Braamfontein. Had real trouble checking in to a private room. Wi-Fi didn't seem to reach the rooms. Water went out my second night & morning (12+ hours - the whole block apparently). Pillow cases had some nasty brown water & blood stains, which worried me that they don't change/wash sheets between guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2018
10.0

Incredible hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2018
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff was amazing, the service they provided was beyond an expensive 5 star hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • incognito6428377
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2018
10.0

Great place, loved the 4-bed rooms and the nice shower facilities for each room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2018
10.0

Cool place, nice staff. Recommended as a good base for joburg!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Leon, Thank you for this excellent review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you over at Once in Joburg. We look forward to your return in the not so distant future! Until then, happy travels. Yours in Travel, Dylan & the Once in Joburg Team

9th May 2018
9.1

Lovely people. The staff is super friendly and go out of the way to make you feel comfortable. Jo’Burg is generally not safe so I can’t blame them for the unsafe area. But within the hostel you are definitely in good hands. The sightseeing bus leaves just 200meters from the hostel. There are some good restaurants nearby. They have daily events and a whatsapp group for everyone which makes it super convenient to coordinate and plan group activities. Clean and big rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grondman
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2018
7.7

Nicely decorated hostel in the area of Braamfontein. Close to the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stop on the corner of Melle/Jorissen. Good food and drinks available from the next-door, but pretty integrated "Immigrant Bar", but if you want there's a KFC and Pizza Hut on the same block. In the dorm itself there's a couple of lockers where you can keep your stuff safe (I brought my own padlock for this).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2018
8.0

Once in Joburg is a cool place. The neighborhood is great; safe enough to go for dinner and a drink. The personnel was friendly and answered all our questions about traveling in Joburg. The room was okay. Unfortunately, the toilet was (extremely) dirty and the shower drain was blocked..flooding the whole bathroom floor. This made our stay slightly less comfortable. Besides from that, I would recommend this place. Oh, and not to forget; they serve delicious breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×