Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Once in Joburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jun 2018
10.0

Cool place, nice staff. Recommended as a good base for joburg!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Leon, Thank you for this excellent review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you over at Once in Joburg. We look forward to your return in the not so distant future! Until then, happy travels. Yours in Travel, Dylan & the Once in Joburg Team

9th May 2018
9.1

Lovely people. The staff is super friendly and go out of the way to make you feel comfortable. Jo’Burg is generally not safe so I can’t blame them for the unsafe area. But within the hostel you are definitely in good hands. The sightseeing bus leaves just 200meters from the hostel. There are some good restaurants nearby. They have daily events and a whatsapp group for everyone which makes it super convenient to coordinate and plan group activities. Clean and big rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grondman
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2018
7.7

Nicely decorated hostel in the area of Braamfontein. Close to the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stop on the corner of Melle/Jorissen. Good food and drinks available from the next-door, but pretty integrated "Immigrant Bar", but if you want there's a KFC and Pizza Hut on the same block. In the dorm itself there's a couple of lockers where you can keep your stuff safe (I brought my own padlock for this).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2018
8.0

Once in Joburg is a cool place. The neighborhood is great; safe enough to go for dinner and a drink. The personnel was friendly and answered all our questions about traveling in Joburg. The room was okay. Unfortunately, the toilet was (extremely) dirty and the shower drain was blocked..flooding the whole bathroom floor. This made our stay slightly less comfortable. Besides from that, I would recommend this place. Oh, and not to forget; they serve delicious breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2018
9.4

Modern hostel located right in central Jo'burg. We stayed here for less than 24 hours, but overall it was a good experience. Beds were very comfortable, although the room had an odd layout (a bunk bed and 2 single beds in a mixed 4 bed dorm). Shower also had a weird glass wall that limited privacy while showering. We weren't there long enough to judge the social atmosphere, but overall I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2018
10.0

Best hostel in Joburg! great location, great staff and everything is very clean and neat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • benedikthank3884
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2018
8.9

Small kitchen, nice atmosphere, good program (e.g. wine trinking, cinema, tours), be careful in Joburg!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2018
9.7

Great Hostel!!! It is very clean and accessible and has tons of stuff for your to do! The front desk people are super nice and helpful and the restaurant next door has great food as well. I believe this is the best hostel in Johannesburg.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2018
9.1

Nice place, next to a book store, a bar, caffes etc, there's no need to go "that" out to find something to do. Guys were great. A small hint: The Orbit, jazz bar 30 meters away from the place, is an excellent place to go to live shows.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Mar 2018
8.9

Awesome rooms! Feels like privates. Really awesome staff! They organise lots of smaller tours and trips that you can join on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×