Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Once in Joburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • grondman
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2018
7.7

Nicely decorated hostel in the area of Braamfontein. Close to the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stop on the corner of Melle/Jorissen. Good food and drinks available from the next-door, but pretty integrated "Immigrant Bar", but if you want there's a KFC and Pizza Hut on the same block. In the dorm itself there's a couple of lockers where you can keep your stuff safe (I brought my own padlock for this).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Apr 2018
8.0

Once in Joburg is a cool place. The neighborhood is great; safe enough to go for dinner and a drink. The personnel was friendly and answered all our questions about traveling in Joburg. The room was okay. Unfortunately, the toilet was (extremely) dirty and the shower drain was blocked..flooding the whole bathroom floor. This made our stay slightly less comfortable. Besides from that, I would recommend this place. Oh, and not to forget; they serve delicious breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • benedikthank3884
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2018
8.9

Small kitchen, nice atmosphere, good program (e.g. wine trinking, cinema, tours), be careful in Joburg!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2018
9.7

Great Hostel!!! It is very clean and accessible and has tons of stuff for your to do! The front desk people are super nice and helpful and the restaurant next door has great food as well. I believe this is the best hostel in Johannesburg.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2018
9.1

Nice place, next to a book store, a bar, caffes etc, there's no need to go "that" out to find something to do. Guys were great. A small hint: The Orbit, jazz bar 30 meters away from the place, is an excellent place to go to live shows.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Mar 2018
8.9

Awesome rooms! Feels like privates. Really awesome staff! They organise lots of smaller tours and trips that you can join on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ade_963488
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2018
10.0

I had a really great stay at once in joburg hotel. The stuff were friendly and helpful. As a solo traveller I felt safe and comfortable and the location was perfect for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2018
8.0

Once in Jo-burg is a hotel with hostel like traits that make it a place to be in the Braamfontein area of Johannesburg. The area itself is a place that you can hang out in the evening especially during the weekend since it is a student area. There are regular activities in which you can sign up to in which you can meet up with other guests and mingle with. Although it may not be situated in the central area of the city it is better to feel safe during the day and night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2018
6.0

The Hostel is situated in a HORRIBLE location (near Hillbrow). Extremely unsafe with walking a few meters (even during daylight) being dangerous without being mugged or harassed! The hostel in itself is nice with very friendly staff & clean rooms, but I’d suggest others to stay in a safer locality than here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2018
2.6

Avoid staying here if possible. Facilities are run down, the room I stayed in didn't have working AC, they overbooked my room one night with extra people, unprofessional staff obviously. Showers drainage didn't work, gross. Wifi didn't work anywhere, what a surprise. Extremely dangerous part of town, did not feel comfortable leaving the hole in the wall (I mean hostel) without proper transportation. First time I didn't feel like mingleling with people at the hostel. Won't ever be returning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×