Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Orsa Maggiore for Women Only

  • Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, Rome, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • susan2571
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2018
9.1

The Orsa Maggiore for Women is located in the old part of Rome, accessible via bus/car/walking. Staff is very friendly, helpful, and well versed with the challenges of travel. Very clean. Bring your own towel, padlock. Grocery within walking distance + full kitchen for guests. My only complaint is that the shared sleeping rooms, while large, are echo chambers--every rustle of fabric is noisy. Snoring/coughing wakes everyone. Earplugs should be offered at the door. Consider a private room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2018
9.1

The environment is great especially for a solo female traveller. Trastevere is a wonderful location and has a great city spirit that Orsa Maggiore reflects as well!! There's a great garden. I stayed at a 5 person room and the room was big enough to host 10 people also very clean. Was kind of cold and radiators weren't working though. Besides they don't provide the padlock so better to bring your own. If I were to go back to Rome, I'd probably stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hfcapocci9520
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2018
10.0

Great hostel if you are after a peaceful place, a short walk away from the centre of Trastevere. However beware - hostelworld took my deposit but when I arrived the hostel had no record of my booking so I had to pay again. It was fortunate that they had a space in a different room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • madlib24248034
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Mar 2018
8.0

Good spot for a one night stay. It’s not super close to the main attractions (except Vatican) but it’s near the cute Trastevere area with lots of great restaurants and scenic streets. The room was spacious and the staff was helpful with transportation to the airport. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • suzannemcghee5815
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2018
10.0

Great hostel very peaceful stay and a 5 minute walk from Trastevere :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2018
6.6

Though staff was very great and helpful, this hostel lacked good atmosphere. I thought it'd be pretty cool to stay in an all girls hostel, I don't think I have ever been in such an unfriendly environment. I don't really blame the staff but I would only stay here again if I was interested in a very low key hostel. Wasn't my favorite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • smcintosh11145746
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2018
6.0

Personally, I did not feel entirely comfortable here. It was located on the second flood of another building and was slightly difficult to find at first. The staff was somewhat helpful and there was free coffee and tea in the morning. It was in a good location as you could easily walk to the Vatican and many landmarks. Not bad for the price but I didn't feel entirely secure there, especially not returning at night. Also, no one was at reception when I left and i didn't know who to contact.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Madam, our Hostel is inside the building of the International Women's House, and you can find the sign and the bell at the main door and all the signs that lead you to the hostel once entered. Our place is very apreciated because our guests feel very safe even if they travel alone. The neighborough as well is very safe, so we are very sorry if you did not feel comfortable. The reception is open from 7 am to midnight, but there is always someone during the night who opens the door, so maybe you left before 7?. Or the receptionist could have been in some room to accompany a new guest.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Mar 2018
9.7

This is such a wonderful hostel! My friend and I greatly enjoyed our stay, and the vibe that the hostel presents. It's clean, safe and funky and the staff are always happy to help you out. They also have a laundry service and plenty of bathrooms. The hostel is also super close to a main bridge crossing the river that goes to the city centre, a 15 minute walk to the Vatican, and a 10 minute walk to the most beautiful area in Rome - Trastevre! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Marissagoodier1578
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2018
9.7

Amazing value and everything was really great! Only negative comment to be made is that the bathrooms where showers are could be bit cleaner/more well ventilated because they smelled of mold. Otherwise amazing and very safe feeling hostel. Not a party atmosphere at all but that was nice for me. Great location as well. Definitely found a home base anytime I want to go to Rome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emichels9741
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2018
8.3

Great small place in a central location- there's only 4 rooms and it's a sort of bed and breakfast style place. The staff is only there until 12:30 every day, but they make it easy for you to access your room if you arrive after then. If you need a place to unwind and stay in a comfortable environment, the location cannot be beat in Trastevere. I would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a no-frills, yet nice place in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×