Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • timmarting131486
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2018
2.9

I gave security staff and location a lower rating they deserve because the hotel was disgusting and even giving the rest of the ratings a 0 it somehow came out at a 4.6. This hotel is overpriced and uncomfortable to stay at. I should’ve camped another night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2018
2.0

The worst place i have ever stayed. The bed was extremely noisy that you wake up whenever you make a small move. The shower is very small that a 185 cm person cannot take a shower. We called the reception several times to ask for a taxi number as there was no internet connection or bus service available down Ben Nevis. No one picked the phone... The most ignorant hotel/hostel staff ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malta, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jun 2018
5.7

The hostel was tidy and at a very good location. The room itself was functional and reasonably comfortable but cleanliness was a bit doubtful. We found a beer bottle lid on the bed as soon as we walked in and later found an empty plastic bottle under the bed. The room was also cold and although an electric heater was provided there was no way the wire was going to reach the bathroom, which is where it was mostly needed. Overall, felt that it is overpriced at 75 pound per night for a double bed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • thomsonjeanette13998
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2018
9.7

Brilliant location. Bit dated but Comfortable beds and clean and friendly. Nice bar and lounge. Reasonably priced and perfect for backpackers or a couple of nights stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks.

  • sales1506
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
7.1

Just as it says on website, great location, functional & good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jasonchambers167220
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2018
8.6

The building is an old dated building. The rooms are old and in need of refurbishment but everything worked, the rooms were clean, the staff were friendly. If you want high class don't go there, if you want a place to wash and sleep after a days walk, this is it. If Ossian's did update the rooms they'd probably double there price. So value for money is top notch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Rooms are being updated, first ones are underway now, but the price won't be double. Still want to have all our friendly guests.

  • sadielampert2947
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2018
9.7

Ossians hostel is absolutely fantastic! Took a chance on this for our one night stay after riding on the Jacobite Steam Train. Haven't stayed in Fort William before. Called in to leave our luggage 1pm but was given our key as room was ready. The lady was lovely, very welcoming. We were offered to change to a loch view room as this would avoid Friday night high street noise. The room was excellent, had everything we needed, view was beautiful, even had free breakfast-Wonderful!! Will return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2018
9.4

Janice is a wonderful and warm host, with guests' comfort and convenience her priority. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • petebenn26034
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2018
4.9

It was an unwelcoming building and room. Dating back to a 70,s type standard. This property s in great need of a face lift. Just because it says hostel does not mean it has to live up to the old fashioned perception of one, this one did. Get some money spent, get some pride in the building and allow it to live up to its outstanding location. The rooms are by no means cheap so no excuses.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • smithy07527261
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
4.6

The lady wasn't very polite in general and the property had a different funky smell for every section of the building, the water took an hour to get hot which resulted in my girlfriend taking a cold shower due to check out times. The sink was in the bedroom which is obviously not very hygienic as you have to use the toilet then touch things on the way to the bedroom sink. The carpet was not cleaned for a long time. It was cheap but doesn't meet the standard of even a budget hotel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×