Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 14261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 14261 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2018
8.0

Felt very safe in the area as a solo female traveler. Clean. Comfortable bed. Really nice breakfast for $5. Would not recommend if you are a light sleeper - loud corridor doors could be heard slamming throughout the night. Also would not recommend if you are looking for a party vibe - most of the hostelgoers I saw were over 30. I would want to stay a bit closer to the city center so I could save money on transportation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks for bunking up with us here at Palmers, we do take all ages and sizes here but that said we also love to party downstairs at Swiss Bar - you must have been unfortuante and caught us on a quieter night! take care and thanks- Tom, Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Sep 2018
8.0

5 min walk from Swiss Cottage tube, no escalator at train station, fantastic building awaits you and great social aspects. Lockers in dorms are so tiny but extra locker space available including a safe. Poor approach to welcome orientation by all staff. Close to all amenities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks for choosing Palmers Lodge, I'm disappointed to hear you didn't recieve our usual chipper welcome from Luis - I'll have a word with him, but happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay non the less.

11th Sep 2018
8.6

I wouldn't stay in the big dorms again: I felt as if I were in a potential fire trap and it was difficult to find. Difficult also to carry suitcase there. I like the common rooms and free tea which encourages people to sit down and even talk. I love that you repurposed a big beautiful old house in such a wonderful location. Some staff were more helpful than others. Altogether positive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks for bunking up with us here, I'm really happy to read that you had a positive stay. Unfortunately our 21 bed girls dorm is our only dorm thats not accessible by the elevator. We are always on hand to help however for those Guests not travelling light.

  • danielleholt885121
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2018
9.4

This hostel was very charming and unique. The location was close to a train stop and easy to get to. I do wish there were more outlets in the rooms, we had to rotate who could use the 2 outlets available. Also be aware if you are located in the basement you will hear the music being played in the reception upstairs all night long. Otherwise the staff was very nice and helpful, food was good, bathrooms were clean, overall had a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks a million for your wonderful review and for bunking up with with us here at Palmers Lodge! We'd love to add more sockets to the building but with 300 beds it can be a bit difficult with the supply available :( Take it easy! - Tom, Manager

9th Sep 2018
9.7

Overall, very satisfied for my stay there. Convenient & safe location; friendly staff, comfortable, homey atmosphere. Almost gave it a 10 except that i’d like to draw their attention to almost 1/3 of the chairs in the resting hall. They are in so such old, shabby, broken condition that nobody wants to sit on them. Their condition also makes them look dirty!!! It’s a shame they are there in an otherwise very welcoming, well laid out & well thought out hall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to write that wonderful and thourough review, We're planning a small revamp of the furniture over the quieter months - there is definitely a fine line between charming character & worn out and old. Thanks again and take it easy! - Tom, Manager

9th Sep 2018
9.4

Always great staying at Palmer's. Ah, if only the kitchen were bigger. But I know you know that is a concern. And your plaintbthat you are not permitted to build a bigger kitchen because it is a listed building is pure waffle. Still and all, it's a good place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks a bunch for bunking up with us here at Palmers - its all true with our Kitchen - we're in a 140 year old building and what we call Grade Two listed, thanks for the wonderful review and take it easy! - Tom, Manager

  • tessaolsen271876
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2018
8.6

Gorgeous old building with a lot of history. Staff so friendly and helpful! I like that the beds have curtains but the beds are quite small and the lockers and chests under ths bed end up being very noisy, use earplugs when you are sleeping!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review and for bunking up with us here at Palmers. Personally I take ear plugs whichever hostel I stay at - you never know if you're gonna be bunked up with 11 snorers! thanks and take it easy - Tom, Manager

  • sarahtravelclub3423
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2018
9.1

Excellent location, hostel is beautiful, classy and clean, offering great amount of privacy (curtain with each bed), great social aspect (bar and restaurant are attached) Terrace is a big plus. major supermarkets close by. My suggestion to this hostel is please improve the kitchen facilities, even bringing some old pots + pans + cooking utensils from your kitchen next door. pot and 2 pans and will not be enough for the whole hostel, I got more to say but please seriously review it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks a million for choosing to stay with us here at Swiss Cottage, I really apppreciate your feedback on the kitchen I'll add a few more pans - It would seem they have a knack for disappearing. If you have any other suggestions please drop me an email - we're always looking for feedback on where we can improve - many thanks and take it easy - Tom, Manager

  • nathanepemolu201
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2018
9.1

Really enjoyed staying here! Great location and the staff (Michael,Lina and Tom namely) were brilliant and friendly and overall I think this is my new place to stay in London!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thrilled to read you had such a brilliant time, I'll pass on your praise to Michael and Lina. Hope to see you again soon! - Tom

  • jenessaraabe3627
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2018
9.1

Great hostel in a good location. Wish their bar had been open a little later with some better food options, but still great value for the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for bunking up with us here at Palmers Lodge, really appreciate you dropping us a sweet review - we'd love to keep the party going until 3am but sadly our Bar is licensed only until 12. Take it easy! - Tom, Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×