Hostelworld.com

Pint on Punt Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Oct 2018
6.9

Though the staff was really nice, I didn't particularly enjoy this hostel. The showers were either freezing cold or scalding and it seemed like there were a lot of long-term visitors who had little regard for other guests. My room, which was a four bed female dorm, had stuff everywhere and it was difficult to walk through because of one of the girls living there. Also, there isn't much around the hostel itself without walking at least 10 minutes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • david-walker4075
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2018
9.1

Very nice hostel, with a great vibe and bar downstairs. My only criticism are the showers that alternate between scorching hot and freezing cold, only staying just right for about 2 seconds at a time. Otherwise a brilliant hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Oct 2018
9.4

Really nice hostel. Perfect for what we wanted. We stayed in a private room which had a sink a fridge and a tv! The bathrooms were always very clean and the staff were friendly and super helpful. Only issue was that there was a slight misunderstanding with our post meaning that our tax file numbers were opened and emailed to us and thrown in the bin without our permission

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2018
9.1

I booked this hostel for the bar on the ground floor, but always ended up too tired at the end of the day to take part! This would be a great place for a long stay - fun and vibrant while not out of hand. All staff and guests I met were polite and lovely, and the dorm rooms were ample sized. Probably better suited for summer guests as it's a short walk to the beach. Bathroom was clean but poor temperature control in September - shower was either scalding hot or too cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • smcgavin43321
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Aug 2018
9.1

Aside from some maintenance work going on at the time and being a bit of a hike to the city centre, the only complaint I could give about this place was it was so comfortable of atmosphere that at times I was tempted to just lounge around it all day. And the pub was excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your great review! We're glad that you enjoyed it so much you almost stayed in . We are about 15 minutes by tram to start of the city centre however when summer comes we are just down by the beach. We hope to see you again at Pint on Punt!

  • neavemahony9337
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2018
10.0

Had a great stay,a bit small the common room,but they have a great bar downstairs were you can get great discounts on you food and drink,staff very friendly,I will come back the next time I am in melbourne

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • catherineunderhill4461
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2018
2.6

Thank God for the pub! Inconsistent check in times - hostel world app said 10am, but hostel itself said 2pm When arrived at 2pm, accommodation door locked. Waited in the bar for 15 minutes until a member of staff got to reception. Signed a waiver to say no use of drugs. Went to the bathroom - all we could smell was cannabis. Smokers area has visual access to female bathrooms. 2 x showers - not working properly Bedroom - small, dingy and unwelcoming Pub was great - only reedming factor!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • alyshas184
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2018
9.1

Awesome wee hostel, great location and friendly helpful staff! Not the ritz but great vibe would def stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2018
8.6

Good value for your money. They offer a free breakfast. The rooms are stanky because so many people live there full time but that's pretty typical with aussie hostels. They have a small but tidy kitchen. However the showers are abysmal. Trying to get anywhere in between freezing and scolding water is quite the challenge. Perhaps a plumber should investigate as it no doubt extends shower times as people fumble with maintaining a comfortable temperature.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2018
7.4

PROS: - Friendly staff. - Friendly residents. - Low price for 6 dormitory room. - 25% dicount for bar meals. - you get a towel. CONS: - small kitchen. - chips bags and food crumbs in dormatories. - shower temperature unstable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×