Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Sep 2018
10.0

Not really a "hostel" so do don't look for a social atmosphere but that's not what I was looking for for this trip so I was fine. The room was great! It was safe secure and an excellent value for the money!!! The breakfast was incredible and it was included in the price. The location was a little bit out of the way--like a 30 minute walk to the center---but like a $4.00 Uber ride so that's how I did it and it was easy. I drove my car and they had free secure parking. Honestly one of the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rmiddleton1988126
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2018
10.0

Clean rooms, bathrooms, buildings, and reception area. Staff were always very friendly, welcoming, and willing to answer any questions. Breakfast had a really well-rounded variety of options, including a few Scottish specialties like haggis and blood sausage. I used the luggage room due to early arrival, and it was well-organized and clean. Location was a 20ish min walk to the city centre with stores along the way, and it was in excellent proximity to Arthur's Seat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2018
10.0

I found the Pollock Halls very good indeed. The main booking hall was bright and well staffed with helpful advice and good customer service from the friendly staff. The location is lovely and the planted grounds are nice to look at. I found the room very comfortable and up to a high standard. The room was set up very nicely. Also with 2 towels and a kettle with tea and coffee. It was great value for money and i would use the Pollock Halls again any time. I am happy with everything. 10/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dagmarvavrusa36693
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2018
10.0

I loved staying at Pollock halls. The place was clean, safe, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, the choices and quality, vegetarian haggis anyone?! I wish I had more time to explore Holyrood park, the view from Arthur's seat is spectacular. A few bus stops to city centre. Very friendly staff, but then I found most Scots were.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2018
9.1

I've stayed at Pollock Halls a number of times, always during Edinburgh Festival, because of the value for money it gives at this time of the year and the excellent breakfast included in the price. A bit of a walk to city centre but there are bus routes close by and a number of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Highly recommended especially if you don't want to pay Edinburgh's inflated hotel/b&b prices in August.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jul 2018
9.7

Pretty much a hotel at hostel prices, INCREDIBLE breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
10.0

The place is aptly located in the hollyrood locality and has a wonderful view of the Alberta seat :) the breakfast is to die for and the staff are very friendly and helpful :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
10.0

Absolutely excellent. Worth visiting for the gardens alone - Pollack Halls is surrounded by the most wonderful gardens with a fantastic array of plants: Bambus, Monkey Puzzels, Giant Alliums, Holly Hedges and loads more. Accommodation is spacious and clean, staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was exceptional. Perfect for a city visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2018
10.0

Thank you! Hidden gem with easy access to hiking the hill of Arthur's Seat in Holyrood park and reasonable distance walk to center center tool. Staff super friendly and helpful to learn other methods of getting around if wether had been less than perfect for walking!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • baseman42623
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2018
10.0

Wonderful place to stay! All staff were friendly, grounds were beautiful, accomodations were perfect - clean, quiet, breakfast was great. Highly recommend this to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×