Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Jun 2018
9.4

We booked it without realising that is was at the bottom of a favela however that turned out fine so don’t be put off by that. We enjoyed our stay there. Staff was friendly and helpful location was great 2 minutes walking from Copacabana beach and few more to the Ipanema beach. Rooms were clean and had AC. WiFi was all right in the common areas and they have a bar inside where you can get 2 drinks for the price of one between 7-8pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2018
9.7

Is a really nice place to stay, and the staff so nice too, i felt like at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2018
8.3

I'd recommend coming here. Only stayed one night as didn't have much time at the end of my trip but perfect place. Easy to get to copacabana and ipanema beach from here. Lots of nice places to go in this area too. Bar seems good and nice chill out areas. They have stuff on every night for you to do and get involved. Breakfast is not free so didn't get it. Very safe. Staff were not always at the reception when you wanted them, bit annoying when I wanted to check out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinion and for choosing us! Your satisfaction is our fuel and it makes us work harder to have more fun with guests here. Please note that returning guests get a 10% discount! Just book by email and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND". We are waiting for you as soon as possible - Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2018
7.4

Great location, 1 block from the beach. 2 supermarkets less than 3 minutes away. Rooms are a bit small, but common spaces are very spacious. Equipped kitchen, however, not very organized. The staff is kind and very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Pura Vida guest: Many thanks for choosing us and and for your evaluation! Your review is important to help us improve and make you 100% satisfied on your next time with us. By making your reservation directly with us by email and mentioning the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" you will receive a 10% discount! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

  • dylandittmer4650
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2018
9.4

I love Pura Vida, the bar and common areas are awesome! It’s at a good location in copacabana close to ipanema and to 2 metro stations if you want to go to the center or lapa. It’s not at all in the favela like some reviews say, it’s on the same street to get to the favela but in no way is it in the favela, people are paranoid. Staff are AWESOME and the hostel even has events or excursions you can plan with them. I stayed here for 3 weeks and came back after São Paulo for more time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation! Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time! When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida! <3 ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2018
4.6

This hostle was a great party hostel for carnaval! We met some amazing people, but other than that I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone. We had bed bugs in our four-person dorm and had to constantly push the staff to get us a new room. Thanks to Fred, we did get a private room with no extra cost. In our new room, water, AC and lights only worked intermittently. Bad wifi, kitchen staff not friendly. No AC in dorms only private rooms. Atmosphere vanished after carnaval.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Pura Vida guest: Many thanks for choosing us and and for your evaluation! Your review is important to help us improve and make you 100% satisfied on your next time with us. By making your reservation directly with us by email and mentioning the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" you will receive a 10% discount! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2018
9.7

Best hostel I’ve stayed in! So big!! Was there for carnival, the atmosphere was party and everyone got along like family. There were people from all parts of the world. Would 100% recommend for carnival. The only negative was a few people had bed bugs but they ended up getting an upgrade.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Pura Vida guest: Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation! Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time! When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

  • anniegoodwin4878
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Feb 2018
9.7

Had a great experience over Carnival. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we met a good crown of people in the bar. Location was perfect and around a 5 minute walk to the beach :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Pura Vida guest: Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation! Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time! When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

4th Feb 2018
7.7

Clean rooms, comfortable and close to pretty much everything. I'd go back though I think the place could use some love.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×