Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Qian Men Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Nov 2017
8.6

Qian Men Youth Hostel is located at a very strategic location. It's about 1km away from the centre of Beijing - Tian An Men Square. Subway station is about 600-700m away. There are eateries (Chinese & Western) within walking distance. On top of that, you will be able to find cinemas, shops and interesting hutongs within a stone's throw. Overall it's clean but the place is old. They provide laundry service but they don't have a dryer. Common area is too small and there is no TV.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
8.9

convenient to stay and worth it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
7.1

We stayed at a double room with private bathroom. Room and bathroom was clean, the bed was comfy. Location was great, near the metro station. The staff either speak little or none english - therefore not so helpful. They sell cold beer and OK breakfast. Not a typically travellers hostel, a lot of chinese families (with children) live there, and they get up early and do not care if others are still sleeping. The wifi is not reliable - but if you are not dependent of internet it is OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jbuwang9991
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.3

A truly traditional Chinese house

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Aug 2017
7.4

Great location for Tiananmen Square and staff were very helpful in booking a reasonably priced tour for the Great Wall. Kane speaks great English and very was helpful. It lacks atmosphere compared to some of the other hostels in the area and bathrooms and showers were pretty basic but overall good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
6.0

On arrival we were disappointed, having stayed in another hostel nearby previously we realised that Qian men hostel failed in comparison. Check in staff had little English and were not helpful or interested at giving advice- we booked our Great Wall tour through a different hostel. There were not many international guests which meant it was harder to meet people, the hostel was tidy but unkempt and very basic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st Aug 2017
7.1

The location is top notch and the courtyard is beautiful. Kane is lovely and really helpful. Our bags hadn't arrived with us and he was more than happy to let us pay once we had our bags and enough money with us. The room itself could've done with a bit of a clean and the toilet decided to break us on by the third day. Also one of the women working there was rather rude to us every time we asked for anything. Overall though it's good if you want a nice location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

Cool hostel, great location, great facilities... tended to be more Chinese travelers and a little more quiet, but still good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.6

The hostel is located close to Tiananmen Square and the subway station "qianmen". There are plenty restaurants and shops around. The staff is really friendly and the rooms are nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.1

A great hotel for those that liketraditional style. Our room had old Chinese furniture including a wooden panel wall. Rooms and shared bathrooms were clean. The courtyard was small, but a nice place to sit late in the evening. Staff was friendly and helpful, and usually there was English-speaking staff available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×