Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

River City Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Timkillington6899
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2017
8.0

The River City Inn Hostel is a small quiet hostel very close to China Town. It is in a very good location for the older parts of Singapore. The hostel is clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jasmeetnarang233232
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2017
7.7

Everything was good but the issues I faced was that there was no Lift and nobody came down 3 floors to pull my luggage upstairs through stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Dec 2017
7.7

Really good location close to Clarke Quay subway station, hostel itself is a bit quiet and the kitchen is basically non existent so unable to cook food, but pretty decent overall considering the price we paid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Nov 2017
7.1

The woman checking me in on was extremely rude and unhelpful. Didn’t even say hello, and didn’t acknowledge that I had stood in a piece of glass on the floor! After speaking to another staff member we were offered a free night stay but as we wouldn’t use this we traded it in for a free wash which was handy. The location is excellent for getting around, 5 min walk to the MRT station. The place is very very clean and comfortable to stay at. Free breakfast is good and is available until 12 noon.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2017
8.6

The only setback is for those heavy bag travellers, taking 3 flights of stairs. No lift facility.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2017
6.6

It looks pretty different from what I expected based on pictures. It kinda just looks like you walked into someone's messy room that they cleaned up last minute. There was a line for the shower in the morning, like 4 people long. Plus it's on the 3rd floor. IDK just overall was disappointed. Especially because you pass a clean super chique looking hostel on the way up the stairs. ALSO the wifi SUCKED! When we got lucky, we could sneak onto the pw protected wifi for the chique/2nd floor hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bkoyuncu
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2017
9.7

Location was perfect, 5 min to chinatown. Includes everything you would expect from a hostel. Lovely staff. Peacefully and chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Nov 2017
8.6

Stayed here for 1 night as a layover with a friend. We stayed in the 12 dorm room. Very good location. Staff is welcoming, rooms are clean but abit small. There are also permanent residers on site that stays on the couch in their pjs. Breakfast was very basic with bread, spreads, instant coffee and tea. Wifi is only good in the living area and not in the room. Price is good but I probably won't stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2017
6.6

Reception was terrible..always complaining over stupid things. Wasn't helpful at all. they barley put the A/C on , no Wi-Fi in the dorms , hostel is right across from MRT that was great for traveling around town

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Upon receiving your feedback regarding the AC on the first night, we have sent for the AC serviceman and the AC problem was subsequently rectified. We have checked the Wi-Fi and it was working. Do let us know when it does not work and we can call the service provider on the spot.

  • vanessaabusada146495
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Nov 2017
7.4

The rooms where super hot no AC during the day. They turn on the AC at night and turn it off in the morning. The common area had AC during the day but to a minimum. No social atmosphere the place is small. The price is cheap for singapore so you pay for what you get. The location is perfect. 3 showers and 3 toilets for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×