Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

River City Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Nov 2017
7.1

Friendly helpful staff. Perfect location close to China town and Clarke quay. Next to no atmosphere though, definitely put a damper on things

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Yemen, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2017
8.3

Very central location. 5 minutes to MRT close to China town and little India. Clarke quay is also 5 minutes away. Staff are very helpful. There was not a good atmosphere but that's maybe the case with most hostels in Singapore

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Nov 2017
6.3

The main good thing is the location. It’s a 2 min walk to boat quay and the train station. Other than that, it felt like the orphanage from Annie. Bathrooms ok, security not amazing, 1 fan for a room of 20. You get what you pay for because Singapore is expensive. It was meh.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maijuhaara
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Oct 2017
9.1

Sänky oli vähä kleha

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Oct 2017
7.4

The hostel was very hot! The hostel says they don't put the air con (AC) on during the day but I thought the common area would at least have AC. It was miserably hot and I spent a lot of time in the common area late at night and it was still painfully hot. They turned the AC on in the room overnight but it was just barely on. The bathroom area didn't have anywhere to plug in a hair dryer. The common area was nice and it was great that the hostel provided water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Like you mention, the dorms are air-conditioned from 8pm to 9am daily, and are ventilated with fans in the day. The common area is air-conditioned during the day and ventilated with fans through the night when most (if not all) guests are sleeping in the room. Guest who choose to stay awake at night in the living area instead of sleeping will not enjoy AC in the living area. We do have a power point in the changing area which you have missed. Please check with our staff when in doubt during your stay with us.

17th Oct 2017
7.7

The location is by far the top feature. If you were like me and just used it as a place to sleep and store my stuff while spending the whole day out exploring, it's a great option!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2017
8.6

Only stayed 2 nights but was perfect for me. The location is great, super central. Breakfast goes til 12 which is awesome, pretty basic but good. The common room and kitchen area is super cozy and they have a bunch of books which I liked. Good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Oct 2017
8.6

Enjoyed my time at River City inn. Friendly staff and good atmosphere overall. Wifi not the best. Good breakfast provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2017
7.4

Annoying things like no bins/mirrors in rooms. Staff and breakfast okay. Nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2017
9.1

The hostel is nice and clean, nothing very special, but it's worth the money. It is located right in the centre and next to an MRT station, so it's very good to explore the city, by foot and by train. I stayed in a big dorm, but it was very quiet in the night, so that you could sleep well. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×