Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rome City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jan 2018
9.4

I just needed a place to sleep for the night and Rome City Hostel was perfect. As others commented, there are long stay residents at the hostel, but they were friendly and I didn't experience any problems. Hostel staff were friendly and helpful. The location is about 20 minutes walking from the Termini station, which is maybe not ideal for some people but it was fine for me. It's located in a quiet residential area. I got a good night's sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • christophersantos1280
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2017
8.6

Don’t really respect privacy. But overall great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Dec 2017
6.0

The hostel is a good 35 minute walk from the center. Otherwise you have the public transportation :) I would advise the place for 1 or 2 days stay. Otherwise I didn't feel like I was with travellers but more with people who stay there to live which was a bit weird as atmosphere. Cheap solution for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2017
9.4

The staff at this Hostel is great, this is why I gave such a high score. The hostel common area is quite small, and there are 4-5 staff living and working there at all times. There are a few long term residents there who make it uncomfortable for travelers, as they act like they live there. There are some odd rules about being able to cook only during certain hours, and with a small kitchen and 5 permanent staff, the refrigerator and kitchen get packed up quick. Good location to metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2017
8.3

They only let you pay cash if it's only one night or if you don't have a reservation, but I had a problem with ATMs and they helped me out. They were in cleaning time when I arrived so I had to leave but they even let me take a shower first. Breakfast was really good. Staff sleeps in the room with you, which is a bit weird. It's a small hostel, I think something like 3 rooms, it feels like the staff is always with you because of how small it is, but it was alright.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Nov 2017
7.4

I stayed with my friends which made the stay great but otherwise it's a bit of an odd hostel. Very small, only two shower/bathrooms so sometimes you're waiting to use one, and staff are a bit weird but nothing too bizarre. Not super close to city center, you have to take public transport which is not so great in Rome. A perfectly okay place to stay. There is also a kitchen which is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2017
9.4

Good service and the staff make you feel like home! Must try this hostel in Rome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Oct 2017
7.1

You would be slightly further away from the attractions of the city, which personally I think is a good thing as it allows you to see a different part of the city before you visit the various sights. The hostel is quite small.The bedrooms aren't locked so while the staff can see the rooms and people leaving I still wouldn't leave any valuables there. The free breakfast was good, and I really like that they have a percolator to make your own coffee (as oppose to a canister of pre-made coffee)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2017
5.1

It's definitely not even close to what it is rated. The hostel is very small and no laundry and quite a long way from everywhere. The biggest disappointment is that it really has no breakfast so please don't expect anything unless you like multiple forms of white bread, old jam, and cheap cookies. No coffee either was disappointing as well. Ok if you just need a bed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.9

Not a great location a bit out but a great place to stay nonetheless if you want a quieter nights sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×