Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 729 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 729 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lkoster846291
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
14th Dec 2017
9.1

I was really impressed, usually you don't tick all the boxes with an older hostel, cleanliness and quality. But not having bunk beds was awesome and the mattress was very comfy. The whole place was super clean, and there was loads of space to chill (hot tub, backyard, huge and well stocked kitchen, movie room, and a reading room. No place to lock a bunch of things, but option to lock up a few with the owners. Great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • teghtfamily6579
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
9.1

Very clean accommodations in a great location to downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dclark8901
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Nov 2017
9.1

Stayed for two nights travelling in my own. The hostel is in a very good location with loads of bars/restaurants a 5 min walk away. Staff were helpful and gave me great tips for places to visit and walks to go on. Room was clean and a decent size. All facilities provided were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • miatravels
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
19th Nov 2017
9.4

loved my stay here! the location is great and if you fancy a walk/run at Rotorua lake it's only 2 mins away. The beds are really comfy and they are comitted on keeping the place really clean. Supermarket is a 15min walk away and cafes/restaurants just around the corner. Only thing would be that there are no lockers, (you can store stuff at reception though) but it still felt really safe :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
18th Nov 2017
5.7

Would never come again in this hostel! Die Sauberkeit des Hostels war ok, die Betten waren bequem und das Wlan hat gut funktioniert. Allerdings habe ich so eine Gastfreundlichkeit (Feindlichkeit) wie hier in noch keinem Hostel erlebt. Mein Bus ist erst spät abends gefahren und trotz meiner freundlichen Bitte, mich ein paar Stunden (Abends) im Aufenthaltsraum befinden zu dürfen, musste ich mein Gepäck abholen und durfte draussen in der Kälte auf meinen Bus warten. Andere Hostels waren kulanter!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, You forget to mention that your bus was at 1am. That is 15 hours after check-out. We stored your baggage until 5pm - to let you use the hostel any longer take the facilities away from guests who have paid for that night. We told you where the cafe you could go to that is 24hr - to say you were made to sit out in the cold is disingenuous! Neil Manager

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2017
6.3

Cleanliness is a very important issue to me but this backpacker is not. The room is dusty and the kitchen is a bit messy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2017
9.1

More like staying in someone's home than a traditional hostel. Very comfortable; best night's sleep that I've had on the road in a while. Atmosphere is quiet and chill. Owners are excellent, location is perfect, everything's clean. Only request would be lockers in the shared rooms. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2017
9.1

Apart from being pretty empty and quiet this hostel was amazing! They give you your 7th day for free!!! Best wifi imaginable, free, all day good speed and in all rooms. Clean, nice couple who run it, right in the heart of Rotorua. Amazing spa pool, that was clean and super hot, I miss it already. Kitchen is incredibly well stocked with blender, rice cookers, spices (no salt or oil when I was there though) and laundry was cheap and give you 3 loads worth of powder for 2$.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yansingyeo2864
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2017
6.9

The location of the hostel was excellent, 2 mins walk from iSite and bus station. The facilities were good and well maintained as well. The bed was comfortable, unlike the usual bunk beds, this place offers individual spring mattresses.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sarahj93
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Nov 2017
9.7

Great hostel central to everything, small enough to meet people easily with small (but large enough) kitchen and sitting areas. Kept very clean in all communal spaces. No bunk beds- single only which was great! Staff helpful too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×