Hostelworld.com

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 900 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 900 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kbrunelle137313
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Nov 2018
8.0

I appreciated that there were no bunks just single beds. Everything was kind of messy but I think mostly comes from so many people staying here. The location is ideal if you are looking to be in Rotorua and not bad if you have a car to go elsewhere. You can book tours/activities from the hostel which is helpful. There is parking. I think the laundry was a little expensive. Plenty of bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2018
8.0

Comfortable beds, adequate security if you ask for bags to be stored, and not a party hostel. There seems to be a set routine, so generally everything was clean. Some of the showers had buggy ceilings, but I'm not sure it could be avoided unless screens were installed. There seem to be some longer term people staying. Sometimes that can be a bad thing, but it worked well in this instance. It's in city center, 5 minute walk from the main bus stop. Not tons to do, but the owners had suggestions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ehavlena9430
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
10.0

I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone looking for a laid back, small, comfortable place to stay. The owner of the hostel took time to know our names and help us as much as he could. Even after we had checked out of the hostel, he let us keep our backpacks in storage so that we could explore without lugging them around. 10/10 would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fieldmike474786
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
10.0

Really rather wonderful little backpackers! Comfy beds, super clean, great staff and a really awesome, practically secret geothermal pool out the back that I had to myself for hours! Don't tell anyone ;) Only minor criticism ( and it is minor) is they could be a bit more upfront about the $20 key deposit - that was a little surprise on check in! Thanks heaps for a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2018
9.7

Quiet hostel, not a party hostel so perfect to enjoy the town and its surroundings. No bunks in the rooms, great kitchen and good Wi-Fi. The staff is very helpful and everything is very clean. It only has a few spots for parking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • movearquitecto5954
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2018
10.0

Better than others, nice location, the staff very friendly, Si eres backpacker este es un buen hostal para quedarse, céntrico, limpio y el staff muy amigable te ayudan a encontrar tours y lugares, aparte tienen dos Supermercados cerca aparte la tienda para tomar el tour de Hobbiton esta a 1 cuadra.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • che_clarkson223637
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2018
10.0

Excellent family run hostel with a real homely and relaxing feel to it. Clean and tidy and no bunk beds which was great. The kitchen facilities were great and the hot spa pool was a nice treat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2018
10.0

Great place in the heart of Rotorua- home like feel. Great hosts. Sad to see them winding up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Sep 2018
9.7

Great place to stay. Awesome location, huge fully stocked kitchen, cosy atmosphere and a friendly environment. The hosts were very helpful and had great recommendations for activities to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2018
9.7

Staff were super friendly and remembered my name! Really nice not to have bunk beds. Everything was clean. Good central location. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×