Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Sep 2018
9.7

Staff were super friendly and remembered my name! Really nice not to have bunk beds. Everything was clean. Good central location. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2018
8.9

Cool place! Rooms were spacious, and the hostel is in a great location. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccalpeet9689
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2018
9.1

A traditional backpackers hostel. On first appearances it looks a bit dated but I felt really at home here. It has everything you need and is nice and clean and comfy. Also they have proper heating, unlike other hostels, which is needed in the colder months. My only suggestions would be to add some lockers for valuables and to replace/secure the downstairs windows - I was always slightly conscious that it wouldn’t take much effort to open the window to my downstairs room from the outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2018
9.7

clean and cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jonathanaquilina8517
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2018
10.0

Excellent value for money and a superb central (as the name suggests!) and secure location (right opposite the main Police station).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jimmydeane42408
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2018
8.0

Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jun 2018
8.6

Bed bugs :-( But the staff was super super nice and location is great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mexe7735
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2018
10.0

Probably the best nights sleep we have had in our lives. After travelling for a solid two days without sleep, we were so thankful to be greeted by such friendly staff and the nicest hostel. The fascilities are great and clean and we wished we could have stayed longer. 10/10 would recommend! Plus side, the owner is a patriots fan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2018
8.9

Good Hostel. Private rooms sizeable with comfortable bed. Great kitchen, heaps of space and cutlery/utensils. Very quiet atmosphere, appears to be mostly long term guests but they are friendly. Toilet/shower area is a little bit dated but is overall clean enough. Bed linen clean but towel did have minor stain. The area is a bit smelly cause of the geothermal sulfur pools nearby but you get used to it quickly. Staff are nice and helpful. Very cozy and safe hostel, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • llae_caribe8745
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2018
8.9

Very good Hostel. The private room was very spacious and the bed super comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. Toilets were cleaner than we'd expected, which was fantastic. It was our first time in a hostel and we loved the experience. We would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×