Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • killkisalazar1588
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Oct 2018
7.4

Great location on the royal mile. 15mins walking to edinburgh castle or holyrood palace. Friendly staff. Some interesting characters in mixed dorms but that is to be expected. Bathrooms were a very tight squeeze and often felt unclean. Good value for money. Cooking facilities good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • tas_aries977
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Oct 2018
10.0

You feel like you are at home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cindakingslaide7999
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2018
9.1

Really loved this hostel! My friend and I stayed for two nights. It's right in town, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the living spaces - though somewhat small - were warm and lively, but quiet enough come late evening. AND, there was an actual FIREPLACE in the common room! In terms of value for money, it's top notch; in contrast, we payed far more in Newcastle for a place far worse (where the actually manager was arrested on our last night....). I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lorianeb14129
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2018
9.1

perfect location, a nice spot to explore the city from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jamescshore7189
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2018
9.7

Great place in the heart of it all with friendly staff and good amenities to make a good stay for a great price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Oct 2018
7.4

A good choice in excellent location. It's a small hostel, it has a well equipped kitchen with two tables. The breakfast is a value for money. It costs 2 pounds and consists of one fruit, coffee, corn flakes, 2 slices of bread with jam and honey and a cup of juice. In the other side, although you pay deposit for keys, many safes don't have keys because they have been lost. In addition, some employees should improve their politeness. Generally a very good choice in the heart of old Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for writing a few words about your stay at our wee hostel. Sorry your safe didn't have a key. You're right - not many of the lockers have safes anymore - sorry about that. Unfortunately guests sometimes lose keys and we haven't found a shop that can make spares for our safe keys. This is why we're slowly getting rid of the safes. We have a big safe behind reception and our guests are welcome to leave their valuables there for their stay. The deposit is also for the room key and the key for the locker next to each bed. Usually our guests find our staff friendly and helpful - sorry to hear you had a different experience with some of them. I'm glad you had an overall great experience at our hostel!

13th Oct 2018
8.3

Great location! However that also implies noise late at night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • valpopov5060
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Oct 2018
9.1

One of the best hostels in Edinburgh. Especially if you are just looking for a place to sleep. The staff is very friendly. The location cannot be better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2018
8.0

Overall stay was good. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean and I'm glad they have a coed one in addition to the females only bathroom because the female only washroom was full each morning I was there. Bed was quite comfortable however the room gets stuffy and very warm with 8 people in it making it hard to sleep. Loved having a light and outlet in my bunk area. Very quiet atmosphere, would recommend if that's what you're looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2018
9.4

GOOD: Cheap, small & cosy, nice staff, good brekkie for £2, good bunks that don't make any noise. BAD: Bedroom doors make a lot of noise when closing, kitchen & common area are small. TIP: You can use the big common areas & kitchen at their sister hostel next door High Street Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for the great rating - we're glad you liked your stay with us. It is a small hostel and usually our common areas are enough for the small number of guests at a time but we are very happy that we can use the facilities of our sister hostel across the street. Sorry about the loud door - I will get our maintenance team to have a look at it. Hope to see you here again some time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×