Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Park Hotel and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • carmenrose27171
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
4.3

By far, the worst hotel I've ever been to. There were multiple roaches in my room, one dropped right over my son's head and another one bit my face. I never been more disgusted. I asked for my money back and the clerk said he couldn't do that, but took a photo of my face and said he would notify the manger, who apparently doesn't work weekends. I'm just disappointed with the outcome and not to be refunded was the icing on the cake! Worst stay. 😣🤢😤

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Dec 2017
4.0

Poor likeness on the website compared to reality, location wasn’t ideal, we weren’t supplied with towels (even when requested), room wasn’t cleaned between nights, hallway smelled musty, bathrooms were old and the hot water wasn’t good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2017
7.4

The staff were incredible and very helpful! The hotel was right near train stop which brought you to all the hotspots. This hotel is not for solo travelers trying to meet others, but great for groups and friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2017
3.7

The room we had was incredibly small with barely enough room for our cases as well as the double bed. It had absolutely nowhere to hang anything, not even a coat, as the only piece of furniture in the room other than the bed was a desk. This was incredibly annoying and meant for an at times uncomfortable stay having not been provided with as much as a coat hook on the back of the door. The room had several large cockroaches on our last day which put me off returning to the establishment again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2017
6.9

Low score for cleanliness and condition of the shared bathroom, but the room was well kept & staff are pleasantly helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Oct 2017
3.1

We paid way too much for what we got. Definitely not worth it. No facilities. Our level had two toilets and two showers and they weren’t clean. The room was way too hot! Had to sleep with the window open and people outside had access to the fire escape. Didn’t feel safe and secure. For the money paid I expected a lot more.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2017
10.0

Excellent location round the corner from subway. 2 stops to bus to transverse Central Park, 9 block easy walk to LaGuardia Airport bus, Walgreens at corner, food/fruit stand store in 2 blocks, and 3 blocks to Metro Diner. Cleaned daily with fresh bed linens and towels. Good showers. Staff honestly addressed all concerns, issues, requests, and questions. Great deal for NYC. Rooms bit small, but secure and everything worked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
7.7

The automatic soap dispenser in the bathroom didn't work, but other than that the stay there was very good. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2017
4.9

Room was dark and smelt like damp, the walls were very thin between rooms and we could hear a lady having a conversation on the phone in the next room. Location is good for Central Park but if we cam to NYC again we wouldn't stay in this area - most of the nightlife and things to do are downtown / brooklyn so we ended up spending an hour each way to get where we wanted to go. The staff were helpful but overall the hotel was a bit of a disappointment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2017
9.1

Absolutely perfect location - the Subway is just around the corner and it's just down the road from Central Park. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely the place to book if you want a chilled, relaxed atmosphere. Great price in the city that never sleeps!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×