Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3077 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3077 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • emilyharari8628
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
8.6

room was hot and a little stuffy, but bathrooms were clean and sheets were clean. Absolutely excellent service-- woman at the desk went above and beyond to accommodate us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2018
7.7

Rooms were clean/in good condition. Very hot and poorly ventilated, however. Wifi is spotty. The thing that makes me not want to come back was that the staff walked in our rooms probably 3-4 times a day, late in the day (4-5 PM), without knocking or asking to come in and when they did come in, they didn't even say what they were in there for or asked if it was okay and continued to do what they needed. It made everyone in our room extremely uncomfortable and was hugely intrusive to privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. However, rest assured that I will share all of your feedback with the team so we can investigate the issues that you have raised and hopefully make it more enjoyable for your next visit to Safestay. Best Wishes Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2018
10.0

Organised a get together weekend with friends, didn't know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. Staff were fantastic and a really nice location with good transport links. Recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate any feedback from our guests at SafeStay Elephant and Castle. We hope to have you soon. Angie, SafeStay Elephant & Castle

  • egainor339481
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2018
9.1

The staff were great and really accommodating, it was clean and super cute and the beds were nice. Only complaint is lack of AC and the windows in my room were not allowed to be opened, so it was extremely hot in the room. Otherwise great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. This London heatwave is something we are not used to. We have now ordered more fans to hand out to more rooms. We still hope to see you soon. Angie, Safestay Elephant and Castle

  • liangmah1443
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2018
4.0

Whole building lacks ventilation so sleeping was extremely hot and humid. Made it impossible to sleep. Instead of lockers they give you a cage to lock your stuff, made it annoying to grab stuff on the go. Showers had no water pressure and WC floors were gross. No towels provided. Location is ok, bit of a walk to major places so you have to take the tube. Hostel is noisy, during my stay there were a lot of kids who made a lot of noise. Fire alarm was pulled twice in the night. Not coming back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you for your email and providing us with feedback from your stay. First and foremost, I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience here at Safestay Elephant & Castle. We take all complaints very seriously, and I want to assure you that we have procedures and standards in place to ensure the comfort and safety of all our guests. These last couple of months have been peak season for us with groups and individuals, as well as the best heatwave in London for ages, however this should not have stopped you from having a great experience. I would be happy to discuss this further with you, so feel free to call or email me at any time. I’d love to welcome you back to Safestay Elephant & Castle with our compliments for a one-night stay in one of our private rooms. Please let me know if I can help you book this. Thanks again for reaching out. Best regards. Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2018
6.0

NOT solo backpacker friendly. Caters to LARGE groups of young kids. Rude bar staff in basement. When I asked to extend my stay at reception, I was immediately told 'no more availability.' Inquired about the availability showing on Hostelworld. Was told I'd have to check out tomorrow morning at 10am and return at 2pm if I extended with the website. Outdated system? Pros - AMAZING facilities and plenty of space. Privacy curtains. Close to tube. Facilities are very clean. Spacious.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. Rest assured that I will share all of your feedback with the team so we can investigate the issues that you have raised and hopefully make it more enjoyable for your next visit to Safestay. Best Wishes Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

8th Jul 2018
4.6

Worst staff, bad administration

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear I am Jose Huet the General Manager for Safestay Elephant & Castle Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay at Safestay Elephant & Castle. I would like to know in more details the reason for your negative review, as only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. If you can contact me and I will do everything that I can to resolve the problem for future guests and yourself. I do hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay with us again. Kind regards Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • riceball4063424
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2018
9.1

I got in so around 11 pm and left by 5:30 am so I can't give much a review. Staff was helpful as I was confused about what tube lines I could access with closures for my trip the next morning. Had an ATM in the lobby. This place probably feels closet to the hotel that you can get with a hostel. Wifi is good, private bathrooms with a shower. Closer to elephant and castle station which makes it very easy transfer if you use Gatwick Airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisa-marie_long9289
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2018
9.1

Super tidy and well kept hostel. A couple of the staff were absolutely AMAZING and took the time out to help with recommendations and any queries, whereas others were rude and abrupt. Great facilities, good location, other customers during my stay were also very respectful. This is not a ‘party’ hostel, there are a lot of school groups and older travellers that come and go, so if you’re looking for somewhere quiet and safe, this is a great option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Thank you staying at SafeStay Elephant & Castle. We really appreciate your review. I have informed the manager and he will investigate about the rude members of staff. We hope to see you soon. Angie, Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • samuelinglis
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
6.3

This hostel hosts many school camps and therefore is over run by young kids. Room was uncomfortably hot and had to get a fan in the room. Staff were helpful but rude especially in the bar, sometimes waiting up to 15 minutes for a glass of water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. We do currently have more groups than normal but this should not have put a dampener on your stay. Also this heatwave is not what London has seen in a while. We have brought more fans to help in the meantime. I will investigate the issues that you have raised about staff as this is concerning and will be dealt with accordingly. Hopefully on your next visit it will be more enjoyable at Safestay. Best Wishes Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×