Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2868 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2868 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • garethmiddleton3226
  • Sweden, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2018
10.0

Great staff, great location. Ticked all the right boxes. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2018
6.3

Not good for families. Short walk to Underground Station for easy access to central city tourist spots. We stayed when there were numerous school groups using the hostel. These teenagers who lacked basic common courtesy seemed to be unsupervised at night standing in corridors making a large amount of noise between 9pm till midnight making it difficult to sleep. Staff did not monitor what was going on in the corridor and did nothing to remove the problem allowing other guests to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. Our hostel caters for families, school groups, backpacker and basically anyone who is looking for cheap accommodation. Unfortunately the group that was here during your stay has resulted in your negative feedback and i have addressed this with the relevant Tour Operator. I do hope it has not put you and your family off your stay in Safestay and do encourage you to visit again to experience something different. Best Wishes Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • kamilepanther3144
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2018
8.0

Everything was well designed, nice atmosphere and warm environment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

2nd Apr 2018
8.9

Bring your own padlock! Would stay here again, super nice hostel with bar and restaurant

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

1st Apr 2018
8.9

Quality and safe place to spend a few nights! Great rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • MaggieCollett
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Mar 2018
8.3

I had a great experience - beds were comfy (also loved that you're assigned a specific bed so there's no fighting over top vs bottom bunk), bathrooms were clean, staff was lovely and friendly, and the atmosphere of the hostel was good. My only complaint is that being on the top bunk and heat rising, I was boiling hot but the lower bunks were cold so I slept on top of my duvet and was still sweating. Otherwise, though, had a lovely time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • sgertz1407006
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2018
4.9

First there was a mix up with my room. They gave me the wrong room number and so my key card wasn’t working. I went downstairs three times (the lifts were broken) and finally tried every room in the hall until one worked. The bathrooms were clearly not cleaned, as the exact mess I saw one morning was there the FOLLOWING day’s evening. The WiFi was slow and awful quality. The location was in a very strange and unsafe area as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. The issues with the lifts, bathrooms and wifi are being addressed. I can't give you a time when it will be fixed, but i hope before you next visit. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

30th Mar 2018
6.0

This hostel’s all right – beds are comfortable, showers are fine, lockers under (most) of the beds, etc. – but if you’re looking for a fun night out in London, this place has got ZERO vibes. The bar downstairs is quite sad, and the surrounding area’s got nothing going on. If you need a towel you’ll have to buy it for £4. Check-out’s at 10 AM and they’ll charge you £10 if you’re late. They seem to charge for most things. I’d recommend St. Christopher’s Inn Village, way better!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you for your recent review. Glad you liked it. I certainly empathise regarding the points you have mentioned in your review and have addressed these issues with the relevant department to ensure these do not happen again. We are not a party party hostel like St Christophers but we are looking at creating a better atmosphere in the near future and with the creation of our new bar. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

23rd Mar 2018
8.6

I had a bit of trouble finding the hostel the first time. Once I was in the hostel it was nice and the staff was very helpful and friendly! I stayed in a six bed ensuite. There were no plugs next to my bunk which was a bit frustrating, but it worked out fine. The hostel was clean and I liked its proximity to the tube. It was very easy to get to the other side of the river!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Martina Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2018
8.9

Clean, comfortable, very good location in Elephant & Castle. Decent little bar downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guest Loved your review. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Jose Safestay Elephant & Castle

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×