Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saint James Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jul 2018
7.1

Great location 5min walk from a main line (Picadilly) that takes you directly to LHR. Nice/safe neighborhood. Didn't spend time in common area so can't speak to atmosphere, but nice backyard and spacious sitting room w/ TV. // Doesn't take any CC that requires signatures so bring cash (couldn't even use my debit). No AC- very warm room at night. Locker was super small, no way luggage/backpackers backpack would fit (used a lock on my luggage as it was left out). Staff isn't extremely friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • julia6678
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
9.4

We only stayed for one night but I wanted to stay longer because everyone we met there was so kind and welcoming!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thaisvaldizan116
  • Peru, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
7.7

I arrived in the evening and only had to stay for 1 night, and had made a reservation for an all-female room (8 bunk beds). When I got to the room, none of my roommates were there. I went to bed and as the night progressed, people started coming back after going out... but they were all men!!! It was already late and I didn’t want to get up in the middle of the night so I just tried to fall asleep as fast as possible. Next morning ppl at reception told me they had made a mistake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thais! We apologize again for this and we have already taken measures to counter future mistakes. We hope that this accident doesn’t impede you from staying with us again! Thank you very much for your feedback 😊

  • tylerjkoenig9859
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
4.9

Not very good. Paid a lot of money and was pretty underwhelmed by almost everything. No A/C, not even any fans in the rooms. A friend had a security issue that wasn't handled very professionally. Nice big TV and two comfy couches is the best part. Nice outdoor patio, but pretty dead. Would definitely look elsewhere next time I come to London.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we apologize for that. We are managing to get some fans, given that is getting hotter. We are happy to receive feedback, so we can improve ourselves. Many thanks for your review!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
7.7

It was ridiculously hot the two nights I stayed there. I understand the weather can get quite muggy over the summer, but some sort of AC or even just a fan would have been greatly appreciated in the room. The lockers were also fairly small. Not enough room to fit a full backpack in, so that just ended up taking space on the floor, along with everyone else's luggage and belongings. Made the room feel crowded and small. Other than that our experience was fairly average for a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
6.6

Average hostel but pretty cheap for London. Good location. All female dorm could use some air fresheners or increased ventilation as it smelled terrible when we first entered the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for your sincere review, this sort of comments are our base to improve each time the hostel, and we will. We hope to see you again at Saint James. Regards, Saint James staff

1st Jul 2018
8.3

The staff and other travelers were all extremely friendly, and the backyard patio was a great place to hang out after a long day of exploring London. The Earl's Court tube station is a five minute walk from the hostel, and there are also a lot of restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The only downside was that our room was extremely hot, especially at night, and there was no fan in the room, so just be aware of that if you're visiting in the summer. Overall, it's a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that you found here a friendly atmosphere! We know that is getting hotter, we are managing to get some fans for the summer. However, we hope to enjoy more moments together in the future. See you soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2018
9.7

Really good accommodation for a budget hostel. The communal spaces are amazing, indoor and out with lots of options to hang out. Great staff who kept the whole place very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We keep organizing new things to hang out, so we wait for you to come back sometimes. Hope to see you soon!

29th Jun 2018
4.9

This is the worst hostel I’ve stayed in, especially given the price. It started when they couldn’t accept my credit card so I had to go to the ATM to get cash (yay fees). The rooms themselves were awful - no space, dirty, and uncomfortable (thinnest pillows ever). The lockers are small (under bed) and the flimsiest of doors feel like they could easily be broken open. For the price you can find better hostels in London.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We appreciate your personal and sincere review, and let me tell you that we'll take it on board seriously, as our priority is always that our guests feel comfortable at SJ. We are always working to improve the hostel and for your stay with us will be better each day. Best Regards, Saint James staff

  • tylersfoote9589
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2018
8.9

Overall, St. James is a great hostel for a budget traveler. The free breakfast and dinner's are AMAZING and really let you save money to see/do more things in London. The bathroom facilities are often cleaned and the bedrooms have nice big windows that allow for air movement. The staff is made up of young adults from different countries that come to London to work in a hostel setting. They're learning -- so just remember to be patient with them! Great choice for a great trip in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×