Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saint James Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Oct 2018
9.4

This was s great place to stay! The staff were super helpful and very knowledgeable. They offer breakfast and dinner, so it makes London very affordable. The location was the best. I will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, It's satisfactory for us to know that you've enjoyed our massive breakfast and our delicious dinner. Cheers to let us know how was your staying. We hope to see you soon again.

6th Oct 2018
5.4

We booked 7 beds in the same room. When we arrived there, the receptionist said we wouldn't stay together as we have booked just 7 beds; so we would be divided in 2 bedrooms. However, they did have an available room for everyone. One of us had to sleep with sheets with some blood spots and the toilets weren't that clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, if you didn't enjoy your stay with us to the fullest. However, we did not have one room available in which we could put you. For this reason, we tried our best to accommodate you in a way that would allow you to always stay together with someone from the group. As for the sheets, I deeply apologise for this situation as it should not have happened. However, next time, you can always let the reception know about the issue and we will be more than happy to change the bedding, as well as make sure the bathrooms are cleaner, etc.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
5.4

I have been disappointed by the absence of any support in the toilets and showers. Water was extremely hot, making having a shower pretty tough. Room was quite big but without any air circulation system

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • hutsa148
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2018
6.9

Can't fault on location - very close to tube station, laundromat, and food options. I didn't partake, but the free breakfast and £3 dinner seemed good value. Cleanliness is an issue though. The showers are poorly designed and you cannot open the door while the water is on (including to get in). The bathroom floor is ALWAYS wet. Staff seem disorganised. I arrived late afternoon and the room hadn't been cleaned. The staff member didn't seem to care, and I had to remove dirty linen from my bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we are kind of disappointed about your review on the bathrooms, as our cleaners always dedicate time cleaning them until 22:30hrs., so it’s really strange that you found the place dirty. Anyway, we’ll wait you here for the next time (contact us for a discount).

  • altoase7671
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Sep 2018
6.0

The showers have fixed heads that spray outside the stall, swamping the floor. The water gets tracked all through the bathrooms. Once you've noticed that, it's harder not to notice the other shabby touches, such as the tired couches monopolized by footie fans in the TV room and patchy overlapping wifi networks instead of one network with repeaters. Nickel and diming for towels, luggage storage, etc. Limited kitchen access while the staff makes the £3 dinner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, It's important to know that our staff is always happy to solve any problem you have, please, the next time don’t hesitate it and let us know for help you. We really hope to see you soon again and please contact us to get a discount.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2018
8.3

This hostel feels like home, and is especially nice as a getaway when London feels big and overwhelming. It felt social and comfortable. I appreciated breakfast. My only negative comment concerns the showers which flooded the bathroom area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, It's amazing to hear your great experience at SJ, and your feedback at the same time. You can be sure that we are working hard to improve every day. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.

  • hunterlusk5844
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2018
9.1

It was a fantastic experience! Spent a few days here with my brother and we had a great time! We spent most of our time sight seeing, and didn’t participate in many of the fun activities going on at the hostel, but the option was always there! Would definitely stay there again, mainly because of the friendly staff! They helped us receive tickets for an event!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are gonna wait for you the next time, mate. We are everyday sharing great moments, so see you soon to have fun!!

  • bradminster4247
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2018
6.9

Great location. Private bathroom was pretty rough and cramped, convenient if your short on time and want do a number 2 and shower at the same time as the shower was on top of the toilet. The sink was likely to fall off the wall if you leant on it at all, glad there was a warning notice to not lean on it. The string operated light in the bathroom was 2 strands from snapping so overall pretty poorly maintained. Finding the light switches took 2 days as they were hidden in a narrow opening beside

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We’re sorry if our hostel wasn’t as good as you expected. Our staff always work hard to satisfy every guest, and if you ask them, they can solve every problem you have in here. Hope to see you soon.

21st Sep 2018
8.9

This is in a perfect location, so close to an Underground station and in a lovely area! The desk attendants were nice and helpful, answering any questions I had. The rooms were big and clean, with a lockbox provided for each person. The bathrooms got pretty crowded and sometimes wet but with a busy hostel that's unavoidable. Very good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks a lot to take your time to write us. It's really satisfactory to know that you really have enjoyed your stay at SJ, we hope to see you soon to enjoy more moments together.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2018
8.0

Friendly staff. The 8 bed room = 4 bunk beds. Very small space between the 4 beds. Once you have 2-3 large luggages, you will occupy much of that space. Storage is available but it can only fit small size bag. Otherwise, I love the garden area, and the living room. Very cozy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your sincere review. We apologize if something wasn't as goos as you expected, we try to do our best every day. Hope to see you again :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×