Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saint James Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Apr 2018
6.6

The room we stayed in had dirty and torn curtains and was small. There were 2 adult men who were not backpackers, but were long-term-hostel-livers who had a lot of stuff everywhere. Closest bathroom was down the hall and down a flight of stairs, although clean. When they say breakfast ends at 10, it ends at 9:59:99 on the nose. The positive is that it was close to a subway line that ran all night, and breakfast was included. They offered a free dinner, didn't partake. Menu was chicken nuggets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2018
9.1

great atmosphere with a prime location. feels like home after the first night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you could enjoy your stay in thes hotel. We hope to welcome you again :)

  • ivanalorlovic7329
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Mar 2018
3.1

Rooms are DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY and showers/toilets are worse. NO ELEVATOR Rooms stink Staff constantly flustered and apologising for the state of things but provide no help

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily, unfortunately we can’t guarantee that our guests will always respect our facilities. We would have been more than happy to help and fix this if you came up with any complaint whilst here. We hope to welcome you back someday for a better exprience !

1st Mar 2018
9.1

This was such a worth it stay. The staff allowed my friend and I to room together even though we made the mistake of booking our rooms separately. Breakfast was great with a fully accessible kitchen and lots of variety. In a great location with lots of food options and very near the metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2018
5.1

Couple of problems. First the lock on the door was loose so you had to slam it shut or it would stay open. There appeared to be a lot of long term people staying in the hostel and would bicker about the TV in the common area. WiFi worked when it wanted to on the bottom floors, you'll be lucky if you got it in the upper floor rooms. The staff would clean the bathrooms in the morning around 7-9, when people are trying to take a shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lil_rob_yo7397
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
24th Feb 2018
6.9

Decent hostel but found there was little to no atmosphere and is some distance away from any of the sights although there is a tube station quite close by. The free dinner and breakfast makes the price very competitive for london

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • capozks1880
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Feb 2018
6.6

The rooms are a bit crowded but the hostel is easy to find and offers free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sarahannring7526
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2018
8.6

Although only stairs the guy at reception offered to bring up my (very heavy) bag. Friendly and casual and home-like atmosphere. Rooms are very cramped - the 8 person dorm is very small and was a hassle to have 8 peoples bags and suitcases filling the floor. Bathrooms were cleaned often, facilities are great. Downstairs female only bathroom was awful, so I didn't use it again. The mixed bathrooms were great. Tv in lounge has netflix, and everything you need can be found in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate that we get busy over the weekend and that the rooms get quite full. However, we are happy to hear that you spent a nice stay in our hostel. Thank you again for your honest feedback! We hope to welcome you back soon!

  • richardmullens2967
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
16th Feb 2018
10.0

St-James is good value and friendly. There were a number of issues though. The ground floor shower drain was blocked so the shower tray quickly filled to overflowing. I was assigned bunk 3B but was directed to the lower bunk 3A. In consequence, the following day I had to change to the upper bunk. The lock for bunk 3B didn't work. I did not have a photo ID and that made checking in difficult. I'm from the UK. Most of these issues were minor and I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We apologise for the showers’ issues and have proceeded to a deep clean of them all since. We replace lockers as soon as we are informed that they are defective so we will take your comment on board. We are sorry for not being able to make check-in easier for you as to ensure all of our guests’ safety we ask for everyone’s ID when coming in. However, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and would be glad to welcome you back! Thank you again for recommending us!

  • daynepoo4944
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2018
9.1

Such an awesome experience. The food was REALLY good, and the staff was incredibly accommodating. The facilities were some of the nicest hostel facilities I have stayed at. Will stay again if ever in London! Quick access to the underground made sight seeing a breeze!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! It is a huge pleasure to be aware about your great experience in our hostel and we would be really glad to welcome you back with us! Thank you again for the kind words!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×