Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samesun Venice Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Oct 2018
7.1

The hostel is right on Venice beach which is fantastic in the day but a bit dodgy and weird at night - but still a good spot. Free Breakfast was good by hostel standards. The rooms were basic and look slightly less polished as they do in the pictures but are still solid, clean, and do the job nicely. Hostels in the US are generally pricey so considering that the price was understandable. Staff were very helpful with an array of questions. Atmosphere is quiet but near fun areas if needed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • xavieresperon611
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2018
7.4

Everything good except for bathrooms were dirty

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Oct 2018
8.9

Great location - right on Venice beach and about 40 minutes walk from Santa Monica. Staff are all SO lovely, friendly and accommodating and the hostel has a really nice atmosphere in part due to this. Breakfast is great - oats, various bagels/bread, coffee, tea & juice although the kitchen is very, very small so breakfast is a bit hectic and crowded. There's also only about four bathrooms in the whole hostel and the loos are in with the showers so there's queues in the morning. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
2nd Oct 2018
7.4

Good hostel, only stayed for a stop over. More bathrooms would be appreciated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing us as we know there are many options when it comes to stop overs! Safe travels, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Sep 2018
8.9

Great place to stay, yes if you stay in a shared bathroom dorm there are two bathrooms per floor, but to be honest between the four bathrooms over both floors I never found myself waiting for more than 5 minutes. The hostel is clean and you get a free breakfast (would have loved some PB though ;)), staff are friendly and they let you store your bag and hang out after checking out whilst waiting for your flight. The main point of this hostel is the location right on Venice beach !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Sep 2018
9.7

Great hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2018
8.6

Overall good spot. The staff was friendly, breakfast was decent, and the bar downstairs is legit. I would definitely stay here next time I come in town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you had a good time. Surfside Bar and Grill's special VIP Happy Hour all day every day to our guests cannot be beat. Glad you partook. Safe travel and see you next time. Cheers, Sara

  • serenap138663
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2018
8.6

The staff here is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Each and every single staff member I interacted with was very helpful and cheerful. They gave me good recommendations and were always ready to chat with me and find out how my day was going. The surfing lessons with Dustin was fantastic. The bathrooms smelled a little weird and could use a little TLC but overall the room was clean and it was at a great location. Good breakfast and nice bar downstairs! Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much! Glad you had an amazing time. This fall we will be given some TLC to the bathrooms - hopefully next time you are in Venice you can see the upgrades! Safe travels, Sara- GM

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2018
4.0

The hostel inside looks terrible... the room was dirty and very old not like the photos. The only good thing there was the location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I'm not sure what you are referring to with the photos as all our photos online are of us. I'm glad you liked Venice though. Cheers and safe travels.

18th Sep 2018
10.0

I was in and out quickly, and just needed a bed, shower, and place to keep my stuff. This didn’t disappoint. Location was fantastic, right on the beach, and staff were really helpful. Good visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to hear you had such a good visit- we look forward to your return! Safe travels! -Sara GM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×