Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sanlitun Youth Hostel

  • No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 3149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 3149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2018
4.9

The location of this property was the only plus. We decided to stay because we happened to have the room to ourselves, but overall we don’t recommend this hostel. Pros- closest hostel to the airport Cons- AC didn’t work in room, TV didn’t work in room, most of the employees just sat on their phones and didn’t really seem to acknowledge us. There was NO toilet paper for 3 days even after they had been just cleaned. There was SMOKING in the room across from us even through it said no smoking.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jonagraham4280
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Sep 2018
2.3

From the moment I walked through the door the staff were very unaccommodating and were very unhelpful. I stayed at the property for 10 days and not once were the staff able to assist with any of my queries. The toilets were always blocked, the showers were never clean and the lighting in the bathroom was terrible. The guy with the glasses in the bar was rude and I don't think I saw him smile once. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • TPOWELL8268960
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2018
2.3

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff were not helpful at all, the guy with glasses who works in the cafe was very rude and unwilling to help at all times. Stayed 10 days and not once they cleaned my private room or changed the sheets!! Would not recommend staying here!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • akrushen1057
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2018
3.4

Can't say I'm thrilled. Wi-Fi was on the main floor only. The washrooms were filthy and uncleaned for our 2 day stay, and I imagine longer before that as well.. The room had an EXTREMELY pungent smell for the 2 day duration of our stay. I want to say chemical based? Not sure. Staff were unhelpful with transit or any local information.. and just all around unwilling to communicate whatsoever. Quite an unpleasant stay. I will not return & will refer people elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • finnmolloy
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2018
6.0

As a whole, for £10 in Beijing it’s decent. If you can afford to spare the extra £2 I’d go to 365inn. The place was not clean at all, sheets were stained, in the pool table rumour there is loads of cockroaches and I saw a rat . There is no WiFi in the room which is annoying. Location was decent, not too far from a metro stop and near the nightlife part of Beijing. Cheapest in Beijing so couldn’t expect much better. Was very secure at nighttime you need a room key to enter. Good social there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • henryawatkins
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Sep 2018
4.0

My room was a disaster. Extremely strong mildew. Avoid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2018
4.3

if you can afford to go somewhere else, i would recommend it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2018
6.0

I didn’t like it, the bar was cool and the room had air con. They were the only positives for me. Beijing is overpriced for hostels and this is no exception. The lock on our door didn’t work properly, sometimes needing to spend 5mins retrying the lock, in the heat after a long day etc. The room is a bed and a table, which is fine for me. We were on the fourth floor, no lift. It isn’t super clean, despite live in cleaners. Communal toilets and showers for the whole floor of a hotel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2018
7.7

No wifi in the rooms, and the location for the wifi closes at 11pm which is not practical at all. It is really pricy for the place, but it is not that bad as well. I guess the price comes from the fact that it is Beijing. Don't expect the personal to fully talk in english.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2018
2.9

TO AVOID !! Probably the worst guesthouse I have ever stayed at in China. Staff can barely speak any word of English. Wi-Fi only available downstairs, not in the rooms (when it is working). We stayed in a private room which was super smelly and dirty. Toilet was plugged and we were even asked to unplug it ourselves! Definitely a place to avoid: it is the cheapest in Beijing, but you know why! Last thing: it was impossible to get an invoice from reception, very unprofessional.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×