Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sharky Hostel Oslob

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2018
4.6

Great location for whale shark watching. However, this hostel is pretty much a campground. No hot water, no security/locks, no toilet paper, no AC, no WiFi, etc. If you can rough it for one night, it is in the perfect location to catch the first boat out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2018
6.9

Cons: Wifi broken, shower broken, toilet broken, door broken. No AC either (though in fairness I believe that may be mentioned in the post). Pros: It's literally RIGHT by where the sharks are, so no having to wake up at 4:00AM to schlepp over and beat the line. Mama, the adorable older woman who I think runs the place, is helpful. Bottom line: if you're in Oslob to explore, stay closer. If you're there for the sharks, this is a solid option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jun 2018
9.4

Great place to stay to be first boat to see the whale sharks but because most people are only here for 1 night there isn’t much atmosphere. However, staff were lovely and the place was really good if you want to swim with the whale sharks. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
6.6

The only reason to come here is to be first out for the whale sharks at 5am, you stay out for maybe an hour and then you return to the hostel and get showered and dressed and leave again. From what I could tell there wasn’t much else there and no other real reason to stay longer than a night. For whale sharks perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2018
8.6

The Wi-Fi just doesn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2018
4.6

The huts were small and hot, the bed smelled horrible, no toilet paper in the bathroom, you have to lock your hut with your own padlock, and they had not paid the bill for the WiFi so it was unavailable . We ended up not staying here and found a room at one of the many, much nicer, hotels within walking distance

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th May 2018
3.4

If you want to do the whale sharks which I recommend you avoid them this hostel will do for the night but the beds are awful, there were bugs in the room, the toilet and sink did not work in the ensuite in the dorm, the staff I found very unhelpful, there is no working WiFi, and overall the atmosphere is just lacking. I wouldn’t bother with Oslob in general.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • chloebiddle
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th May 2018
7.7

Perfect location for whale sharks, walking distance & the first boat out in the morning, the staff are really friendly & helpful with different activities they offer. There are a few restaurants near but would only recommend staying here a night or 2. Dorms are spacious with fans and ensure bathroom

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ashleighwarren96385
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th May 2018
8.3

This hostel was perfect if you want to swim with the whale sharks. We were the first ones out there at 5.45am! The hostel is basic but clean - perfect for one night. The staff also offered to take us to see Tumalog falls for a small fee and helped us with all our ongoing bus/boat transportation. We stayed in a private room, and the only thing I would say is they are not very secure. The window and door didn’t shut properly so just be wary of that!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sharnpricetupper
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2018
4.6

It's a small bamboo hut with and bed and a fan. If you don't like bugs, Don't stay here!! We stayed for one night so we could do the whale sharks... to be honest wasn't that great either they are being fed so you don't get to see them in there natural state. Saw quite a few roaches. Yuk. Didn't speak to staff because half of the time they were nowhere to be seen. You have to lock the door yourself with your own padlock. But comfy bed for something made out of bamboo...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×