Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sharky Hostel Oslob

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Sep 2018
9.4

Loving this place- super cosy and you won’t feel you’re staying at a hostel. Owner was super helpful with everything, it felt more like a home stay! Just 1 sec away from the beach- had so much fun catching sunrise. Highly recommend the place! You do get wake up calls (chickens...)in the morning but it wasn’t a big deal since I woke up anyway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stewartchalmers313027
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
8.3

Great hostel right on the beach,first in line for whale sharks,staff very friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2018
7.7

Pretty basic rooms with fan and cold shower but perfect location for whale shark watching so would recommend for one night. Staff were lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • carlsbrown4107
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2018
8.9

Most enjoyable stay, one very helpful lady owner, always willing to help with any questions and destinations to be visited and to help find the cheapest transport to those destinations

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2018
4.6

Great location for whale shark watching. However, this hostel is pretty much a campground. No hot water, no security/locks, no toilet paper, no AC, no WiFi, etc. If you can rough it for one night, it is in the perfect location to catch the first boat out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • benf9900694
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Jul 2018
8.3

Stayed for a couple of nights, mainly for whale sharks - best location for this. Stayed in a private room, no lock but we had our own padlock so could keep everything safe, unsure about the dorms... Run by a lovely couple who helped us with the whale sharks and booking bus to pier for getting to Dumaguete. Bed comfy, facilities decent - shower, toilet paper, no a/c but fan did us fine, and we had a mosquito net free too. No atmosphere if you're thinking in party terms but very peaceful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2018
6.9

Cons: Wifi broken, shower broken, toilet broken, door broken. No AC either (though in fairness I believe that may be mentioned in the post). Pros: It's literally RIGHT by where the sharks are, so no having to wake up at 4:00AM to schlepp over and beat the line. Mama, the adorable older woman who I think runs the place, is helpful. Bottom line: if you're in Oslob to explore, stay closer. If you're there for the sharks, this is a solid option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jun 2018
9.4

Great place to stay to be first boat to see the whale sharks but because most people are only here for 1 night there isn’t much atmosphere. However, staff were lovely and the place was really good if you want to swim with the whale sharks. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
6.6

The only reason to come here is to be first out for the whale sharks at 5am, you stay out for maybe an hour and then you return to the hostel and get showered and dressed and leave again. From what I could tell there wasn’t much else there and no other real reason to stay longer than a night. For whale sharks perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th May 2018
4.6

Fab if you're only wanting to stay a night and see the sharks !! - I wouldn't recommend staying any longer! Average atmosphere, one fan per room, toilet didn't flush..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×