Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 13579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 13579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • richardarcher4846
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2018
9.7

Lovely oasis in a busy city and a welcome relief from the surrounding red light area. Friendly staff. 4 person rooms quite cramped though bedding all fresh. Need to bring your own towel though which I hadn’t. Takeaway breakfast pretty basic. Also need your own combination padlock for lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bagspact4715
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2018
8.3

A good basic hostel for folk who want a haven away from the frenetic atmosphere of Amsterdam. We chose this hostel so we could have quiet sleep without parties etc and it delivered. There are plenty of places nearby to eat and drink and the hostel has a nice café open until midnight which was a good place to catch up on emails etc. 16 bed gender specific dorms. Basic bathroom facilities were fine. The only thing I would improve is ventilation in the bedrooms, they were very hot and airless.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • zivkovicstar2178
  • Serbia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2018
8.3

We liked the hostel very much. The facilities are a bit old, which affects the cleanliness of the place. We stayed in a 6-bed male dorm, and they are pretty tiny. Other than that, the staff is super friendly, the location is more than amazing, and the free breakfast is really nice. I would reccommend this place for other people who are looking for a short stay in Amsterdam at an affordable rate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2018
8.3

Central Location and Space, Not enough toilets and showers. They are old and dirty. It needs a kettle & a working microwave in the common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Apr 2018
8.6

Nice hostel in central Amsterdam with metro station within 5minutes walk. The security of the hostel is absolutely amazing as every guest will be asked to present their room card before heading into the hostel, despite its location next to the red light district. However they dont seems to have self-catering facilities (only a microwave available) And the bed is quite narrow and short (height), if you are sleeping in the lower bed you cant fully seat on the bed. Others faci. are quite good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bchergott3777
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2018
9.1

Solid hotel, no major complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juliametry5252
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
8.9

The staff was wonderful, it's a clean and decent facility, we felt very safe inside but not as safe outside when coming in late (in the middle of the redlight district) and breakfast provided was delicious!! It was less of a social hostel; we didn't meet anyone while staying there (but unable to attend preplanned activities). There's not enough outlets for everyone (stayed in the 16 bedroom female dorm) but they will charge your phone at the front. Bring a lock for your locker. No hairdryers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2018
8.9

It is an old building but close to the central station and staffs are very nice. They have movie night, karaoke night etc.. It is good for solo travelerl.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sjcamastro3884
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2018
8.6

Great place for a quick stay(one two nights max). I’m also not religious so it was an it odd.. it just depends what You’re looking for

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2018
9.1

Just to say thanks to Shelter City Hostel! Specially many thanks to Vanessa who was the best person I knew when I was in Amsterdam. Vanessa I would like to keep in touch with you, if you could contact me would great. Thanks so much guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×