Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 13324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 13324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Jan 2018
8.3

Why do all the common areas smell bad??? The food is nasty but tbh I felt that way about even most restaurants in Amsterdam. Kinda gross and uncomfortable hanging out in common areas but the staff is super friendly and overall a great atmosphere for making friends

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • robbieleahy
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2018
9.7

The staff was really nice, the location is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2018
10.0

My stay in the Shelter City was enjoyable, the staff is lovely and make you feel like a home full of friends. I love the idea of the breakfast included and changing everyday !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • isidroi74c9447
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2018
8.6

It's not necessary to be Christan, the people will receive you nice, I have to says that I didn't expect that in the last day (not the last night) we have to leave our rooms because others guest will come, but it was my first hostel so I really don't know, just for the record is a nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vryonimaira6609
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels I’ve ever been! Everyone was so helpful and kind, everything was clean!! I would definitely recomend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • acicci281453
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
8.0

Great location! It was close to the red light district but you felt safe and you could easily walk to main attractions (Anne Frank House, museums etc.). The staff were super friendly and the free breakfast was a plus. Totally good if you're not Christian, they have Bible studies and other things but you don't have to participate in anything. The only downside was that the wifi wasn't the fastest and there aren't plugs beside every bed but there were lots outside of the bedrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
9.1

Staff were cheerful and willing to help. Great location, very central. Awesome that breakfast was included!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jonathan_exa6032
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
10.0

Nice hostel.. A lot of stuff.. Very kind people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2018
10.0

The personal of the hostel was very helpful and friendly all the time. It was impressing and nice. The rooms have lockers which I couldn't use because my backpack was too big but I put inside all my important stuff and left the rest on my bunk bed and there was no problem at all. It was perfectly clean, the toilets, the cafeteria and rooms. The breakfast was good, they had different options. About the luggage, it was so helpful that we could leave it there before the check in and after check out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Jordan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2018
7.7

So many rooms and beds and few bathrooms and they are so far from some rooms. The staff is amazing, close to the red square in city center, and free breakfast (not real breakfast).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×