Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Silverfern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 903 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 903 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Dec 2017
4.0

This gets an honest 4.0 rating. I've visited a lot of hostels and this takes the price as the worst. Quality indicator: you need to buy a mug$2; they aren't provided in the kitchen. Toilets weren't working in the basement by the dorms so we had to up one or two floors. Quite bad hygiene and worn down place. Staff would rather point to signs than explain when e.g. I enquired why an extend would be $30 and not the $23 I paid per night on hostelworld. Would never ever visit again. Serious review!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • rickgrant7q3270
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2017
8.9

I was lucky to get one of the last beds here. Overall it is an ok sort of hostel. Lots of guests seem to stay a long time here, which shows its popular. Common area are kept very clean, however my room mates could of been tidier. Wifi was fast and free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • next44276396
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2017
9.4

Good and close to bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nv93393
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2017
9.7

It's so nice to find a good hostel, I have stayed before in Nomads and Base before which were both awful lifts hadn't worked and were dirty. Silverfern is in a good quite location with nice staff and clean facilities. Unlimitedf free wifi is also a good thing to get here as well as free tea and coffee. You can also check in from 11am unlike the other hostels which only allow you after 2pm,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Dec 2017
6.9

Perfect location for backpacker to access city, cheaper than other backpacker

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sim666f2904
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2017
8.9

I have stayed in a few of Auckland's other hostels and this is one of the better ones. Good facilities and clean, I can see why a lot of long term travelers want to stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dg99236
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2017
9.1

Above average hostel in good location in Auckland CBD. Close to all bus terminals and good cafes. Carpark is also a positive plus. Wifi was good and free but does slow down if everyone is on it. Clean rooms and bathrooms, nice pool table and outside bbq area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2017
6.0

Too many party. They didn’t clean the bathroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jacob90crown661
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2017
9.1

Its a very busy hostel, good overall, very good location, plus good free wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • m66stine257
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2017
9.4

Its great that the hostel has its own carpark as its impossible to find somewhere safe to park in Auckland, a fun hostel lots of nice and interesting people staying here. Must be very good as a lot of longterm backpackers are staying here, they know best clubs to go to at night. Clean and tidy but it normally depends upon how tidy your room mates are. Lucky no snorers in my dorm, had a great time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×