Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Skye Basecamp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2018
9.7

Great hostel at the entrance to Skye. If you're arriving to Skye late it's a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2018
10.0

I had a wonderful stay at Skye Basecamp. Our room had an incredible view overlooking the water and was clean and spacious. The large kitchen was great for all of our meals and the co-op was walking distance to get all of our groceries. We were able to get lots of information about where to go and what to see on Skye from the staff. Since it is a smaller hostel, we were able to meet most guests and felt right at home. I would highly recommend this hostel for anyone visiting the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2018
9.7

Skye Basecamp was an ideal location as a starting point for exploring the beautiful Isle of Skye. The facility was clean and spacious. The kitchen is quite large with a lot of room for personal food items to be stored (labels provided). There are lock pads on the bedroom doors, as well as on the front door after hours which made everything feel secure. Great amenities in the lounge area that allowed a chance to relax and meet new people. I would recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CREID398573
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
10.0

Handy location, had everything I needed and the staff were friendly and really helpful! Thanks so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ellenjahr8632
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
9.7

The atmosphere in the Skye Basecamp was super nice from the beginning! We only stayed one night but we would have loved to stay for longer!! The house itself was beautiful, with a wunderfully stocked kitchen and a very comfortable common room to sit in. The staff and other visitors were super nice and i’m definitely visiting again! It’s worth the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2018
8.9

Pretty nice, no complaints. Location is really only useful if you go climbing Cuillin Ridge, otherwise it's too far a drive to everywhere else on Skye

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sawiser5683
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2018
9.7

We loved our stay at Skye Basecamp! The staff is super friendly, they treat you like old friends. The beds were comfy, though they could get nicer pillows- a bit flat! The showers were clean and modern, and the location is a great 'basecamp' for exploring Skye. Could be a bit humid and warm, but you're on an island, what can you expect? Full kitchen and walking distance to cafes and co-op grocery stores. For the price, can't be beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gabriellerdemers8364
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2018
7.7

A little pricy but everything on Skye is. Good kitchen. Good access to the island

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bouglontiphaine5598
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2018
10.0

AMAZING stay here! Everything was perfect: the friendly staff, the cleanliness of the place, the comfortable and modern facilities - special mentions to the great kitchen and living room, there’s plenty of space to cook and then eat. Everybody is keen on talking and sharing experiences, the atmosphere almost makes you want to stay all day! I would definitely come back here if I’m lucky enough to see Skye again soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2018
8.3

Good hostel, but some of the facilities a bit worn. Main issue: The person who checked me in has trouble with my room lock and couldn’t get me in until the person in my room unlocked the door. I was then left to figure out the trick to opening the door on my own later (it’s a manual push keypad you then have to turn right to open. Left appears to work but doesn’t actually open). This resulted in people using the doorstop to keep the door open sometimes so not the most secure. I’d stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×