Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Place Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Jan 2018
8.0

Rooms are relatively crowded but are warm and are very quiet, especially considering the location. Staff are more than happy for you to leave your bags if you arrive early/leave late which was really welcome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2017
10.0

Central clean convenient affordable .great staff. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments! Warm Regards, The Smart Place Team

  • julie_fs1921
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Nov 2017
5.4

I would not stay here again and did not enjoy my stay (There is nothing special about it). Our room was very small and cramped and without enough outlets. Also, the bathroom is also an issue since there is only one in the room and if it's busy you have to go outside to another one. I was really disappointed to see that when we got to our rooms my bed had dirty and used sheets and apparently it was an issue to find clean ones, the staff member asked me if I had a problem using the same cover.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2017
6.6

I was super disappointed w/ this stay. Good for location & the staff was nice but I woke up the first morning w/ 5 SPIDER BITES on my shoulder/arm. My arm ended up swelling & had a burning feeling constantly. It was awful. The next morning, I woke up w/ 4 MORE bites on my other arm. I tried asking for a refund that morning, but they 'didn't do refunds'. Clearly, I did not have a good stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay in our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize for the different inconveniences you have met during your stay with us. We already have considered and analyzed your esteemed feedback and have noticed with concern your comments. In this respect and in order to improve, I will shortly contact you directly. Let’s hope that we will regain your trust and welcome you back for a more pleasurable expérience at Smart Place Paris. With my best regards, Valerie E Manager

2nd Nov 2017
5.7

Location is just okay. Its pretty clean and organized. But wifi is horrible. Lockers in the rooms are too small and need a .50euro coin. The rooms don't have enough outlets. Neither does the common room. Pretty average, and I'm sure for the price you can find much better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the maintenance and service issues that you experienced during your stay. Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well maintained and comfortable atmosphere. Elsewhere, we are glad that you enjoyed our location. If you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around; it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our improved hotel. Warm regards Valérie E Manager

31st Oct 2017
10.0

After spending the majority of my trip in really cheap places, this was such a luxury. The rooms have their own bathroom and the kitchen is well equipped. I loved the location because it located in an area populated more by local than by tourists. It is really like staying in a cool hotel full of travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for sharing with us your positive impressions. We are glad that you enjoyed the hostel as a whole and look forward to seeing you again soon. The Smart Place Hostel team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Oct 2017
8.9

Room was a little small, but that was ok! The bathrooms were clean, staff were friendly. Wifi was patchy, dropped out all the time! I met some really interesting people there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thedishfromlish8562
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Oct 2017
9.4

More of a hotel feel. Staff were great. Location was close to a major train & metro station. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for sharing with us your positive impressions. We are glad that you enjoyed the hostel as a whole and look forward to seeing you again soon. The Smart Place Hostel team

27th Oct 2017
6.6

Good location but nothing special about this hostel. Maybe it’s good by European standards. Clean but spartan. No real social space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well maintained and comfortable atmosphere. Elsewhere, we are glad that you enjoyed our location. If you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around; it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our improved hotel. Warm regards Valérie E

  • emmahurley
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Oct 2017
7.1

This hostel was fine (nice staff, good kitchen area) but it is not in a very safe area. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are a solo female traveller. However, it's close to the train station so if you do it's easy to just get a train to a nicer area with more tourists. Also there were no charging points by the beds so you had to leave your phone charging away from your bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments! Warm Regards, The Smart Place Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×