Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Place Paris Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
6.0

Decent but super hot. No AC or air flow on a hot summer day in Paris

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
6.9

A good practical hostel to stay in. It felt secure and a good location beside the train station, however the room had no air conditioning so we had to sleep with the window open with sounds of sirens and motorbikes all night, so not great for any light sleepers like myself!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarah_schilling6141
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2018
2.0

While the location of the hostel was conveniently close to the north train station, it did not have basic amenities. There was no shower curtain and the shower was in view of many neighbors, the laundry service was down so we were unable to rent towels and the hostel was unbelievably hot during the entire stay. The bathroom showed obvious signs of a lack of proper cleaning, for example we found bugs in the bathtub and lots of hair on the floor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2018
7.1

building was definitely secure. It was incredibly hot, no air conditioning. Location was very good, close to multiple metro stations and the central train station. Staff were friendly. Foosball table was dope. Bathroom was very small and lots of mold on the ceiling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jessicabruckner2067
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
5.7

WiFi could barely be used, which many international travelers rely on. Facilities need an upgrade as the shower water would rocket from ice cold to scalding hot without prompt and there was no way to avoid this water as the shower is so confined (shower space was less than 1m x 1m or 1yd x 1yd). Rooms were cramped with little storage space and incredibly hot in the summer months. Despite this, the staff was excellent. Very friendly and happy to help! The location also could not be beat!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thenk you very much for taking the time to write your kind review, your feedback is extremely important to us because we try to improve at every stay. Hope to host you again at our property. Best Regards The Smart place Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2018
6.9

The staff were excellent, the rooms average. The bathrooms in particular very poor, I couldn't even put the shower head back in its stand it wouldn't fit, the shower glass partition is a safety hazard. It would have been nice if we had a fan as it was so study, with the only ventilation the windows. The windows we needed to close at night due to the noise. The staff and the downstairs area was the best part of the hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dera guest, Thank you very much fortaking the tiome to write your review, your feedback is extremely important for us because we try to improve at every stay. We hope to have the chance to host you again at our improved property. Best Regards The Smart place Team

23rd Jun 2018
9.4

The sta was excellent. Location is the biggest plus as its 5 minutes walk from Gare du Nord station, and the staion has well cnnctivity across paris. It has round the clock reception and secure card entry to the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write yourt kind review. We hope to host you again at our property. Best Regards

17th Jun 2018
9.1

Great place. The wifi is hard to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, It was a pleasure to host you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review. Hope to see you again at The Smart Place. Best Regards The Smart Place Team

  • kovacsfru9259
  • Hungary, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2018
8.6

The hostel is in good location, close to main public transport lines, also close to Montmartre! The room was clean as well as the bathroom. All in all a very good experience, especially for this price in Paris. :) I would definitely go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, It was a real pleasure to host you at The Smart place during your recent stay in Paris and we are really glad that you appreciated our location , rooms and the cleanliness of our hostel. We hope to have the chance to host you again at our property. Best Regards The Smart Place Team

  • coltonkray2106
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2018
2.0

There was back mold in my shower, the staff was not friendly, and the location made me feel very unsafe. For example the tenant of a convenience store was looking into my room the entire night. This hostel needs some serious work.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, it is very important for us, I am not sure to understand your issues with the tenant of a convenience store because all the shops are closed at night, they are at the level of the street while the rooms are on the 1st 2nd 3rd floor and so on, moreover there are courtains to guarantee your privacy. Regarding the location we are in the hearth of Paris, closed to the North Station, one of the most important and biggest in Paris, the area is absolutely safe. Actually all the guests have to ring the bell to access our Hotel and we do have an interphone. We do thanks for your feedback because it helps us improve every day. Best Regards Viviana FEBO Front Office Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×