Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 9188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 9188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jganns5327
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
7.7

The beds are really small for tall people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2018
3.1

One of the most hilariously terrible hostels I've ever stayed at. I wasn't even mad, I just found it surreal. Cramped, humid and filthy. Three-layered bunk beds made of metal that are arguably dangerous to climb up if you're on the top. Squeezed together in 18 bed rooms. Photos are misleading to say the least. Seems to be a lot of a homeless practically living in these beds as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • bluenosearmy999423
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Sep 2018
7.4

It's ok apart from noise from shower pipes and not very sound proof walls and floors . Apart from that good location friendly staff and clean sheets .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • meggtbanks757
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Sep 2018
8.3

It was a great place to stay for one night and just have a quite evening. Great location, just down from russel square park, but wouldn’t stay for more than one or two nights if you’re looking for a social atmosphere. Brand new bathroom in my six bed room was very nice to enjoy!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2018
8.3

Nice and very helpful staff. But not easy to talk with the guests like most of the hostels and. Sometimes guest were even rude and especially inside the little kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robk8909991
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
6.0

If you're 6ft or over, you won't fit in these beds - I'm 6'1" and had to sleep with my feet outside of the bed just so that I could fit! But apart from that, the place was well located, had a generally friendly atmosphere and powerful (although not always reliable) showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • dennisjustinm2556
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2018
10.0

They are very organized here! The facilities were great even for 8 people to a room. There are plenty of public bathrooms around if you private one is busy. The location is perfect! I would come back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2018
5.4

Me and a friend spend one night in this hostel. The location is very good. The room had firmly inlaid carpet which saw already a few years of hostel life, and was thus not the cleanest. The size of the beds were very small. My friend couldn't lie straight (1.85m) on the back and since on both ends of the bed were wall, he couldn't stretch his leg outside either. Thus he had not the best night there and could barely sleep. The breakfast were the minimum you can think of.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2018
6.6

Very small, stuffy room. The room gets very hot and smells quite bad. They also charge you £2.5 for a towel and £1 a night for an small drawer for you're things. Overall, the place was okay but I wont be staying there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2018
6.3

Great location and value for money, but I would not recommend this hostel. I stayed in a room in the basement which is scary as almost no sunlight reach in the room. Some rooms I walked pass were really smelly. Every tap on sink and shower is like a 2-second running tap and you will have to keep pressing. Cheap price stay for cheapest material possible. It was very hot in summer night with no air con and crowded room too. Invest a little bit more for a better accommodation!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×