Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 9120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 9120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amandasborgi
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2018
4.6

Hostel is pretty old and the staff is not helpfull at all. Shared rooms are to small and really dirty! The ensuit dorm has even a smaller bathroom: when you take a shower the whole bathroom gets wet. The worst part was that was a hot night and they don’t have any kind of air conditioning. The hostel has many floors and they don’t have a lift, so you have to carry on your bags through a narrow stair.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • supermil_879915
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2018
8.9

The stay was pretty good but I had cancelled 2 of my beds through emailing the hostel but they hadn't communicated this to the website so I was still charged for the extra deposits. The staff went that helpful and told me to just contact the website to sort it out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2018
6.3

The location is great and the place is very clean with enough toilet facilities that you don't have to wait. Though like a lot of hostels the staff look like they'd rather be anywhere else and the breakfast is a miserable cop out of nothing more than toast, cereal and some dirty diah water they labled as 'coffee'. The key card lockers in the room also did not work.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cstokeshome1739
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
8.6

Very nice place to stay, good transport access, only issues were heat, which I can't blame on the hostel and cleanliness of the communal shower block. That being said the ensuite shower was spotless and worked fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
6.0

The staff were rude or at best surly - overall the hostel was fine - clean as it could be but not a lot of atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2018
5.7

Worst stay I've had at a hostel. The bunk beds are crammed into the rooms 3 high. It was so hot on the top level that I literally couldn't sleep and had to go outside for air. Only stayed one night. Got my money back and checked out. No atmosphere whatsoever. Hundreds of people staying here and no place to associate except for a sterile common room where everyone sits at different tables on their phones. Staff don't care. It's just a job to them. Don't stay here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pat123gomez3140
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2018
6.9

Packed with people. My room was filled with a like of partying 20-somethings. The bed, blanket, and pillow were good with a privacy curtain. The bathroom and showers were clean. There were also a field trip of kids there, which surprised me. They have a key card that also was paired with your in room locker, which was a nice add-on. All in all, it was cheap and what I expected.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marlynsc9205
  • Dominican Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2018
3.1

The person that checked me in was not very agile and I had little time. I asked for a locker and besides having to pay for it, when I went to the room the locker I was given didn't open with the key, then I was given another one, and it was broken, then I was given another one in a common area and the password was wrong. In the end, I had to leave my stuff in the broken locker and pray nothing happened. Furthermore, the room smelled awful, not enough air flow, bathroom uncomfortable and dirty

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kinseychurch7989
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2018
8.0

Awesome location, typical hostel experience in the heart of London. In the mixed dorm room the beds are 3 high so it can be a bit of a climb. The showers are also incredibly tiny so if you are a taller or larger person it may be hard to shower. Otherwise it was fine, we really enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • roannagrace8178
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
7.4

The under bed locker could be opened without a key but there was security on the door at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×