Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Southern Laughter Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 984 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 984 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • urbinatialice1771
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jan 2018
6.9

The hostel is not bad. Cleaning could be better. My 6 beds room wasn't big but ok with a bathroom in. It is located just 5 minute walking to the centre. Lots potential..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hagarc111421
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2018
10.0

Perfect place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Jan 2018
7.7

Hostel generally was aged and a bit smelly but plenty of space and atmosphere was friendly with nice staff. Could of have more shower and toilet facilities as the area we stayed they were in the middle of the Lounge/kitchen which is weird otherwise you had to walk to a separate building for more. Overall fine, did the job!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kelceybrainedesign2481
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2018
8.3

Really good location, slightly away from the main road through Queenstown which meant that it was pretty quiet. Slight downside: Although there are room keys, I never actually used it to access the room… I wasn't travelling with anything of value really, but it was slightly disconcerting. Really enjoyed that we could meet and chat with other roommates in the kitchenette/lounge area – a nice change from it being one huge facility area for the hostel, to something a bit smaller scale & friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • felipealbaladejo345
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2018
8.9

Southern Laughter is very well located! It stays just 2 quarters from the Queenstown centre, wicht is very nice! The double room we have booked is good and. There are almost a private kitchen and badrooms facilities! The shower was the challenge, because the variation of the waters temperature.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robinreeve42984
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2018
9.4

Excellent stay at Southern Laughter, definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
4.9

The room I stayed in was real average, with super thin walls making it nearly impossible to sleep at night with all the noise in other rooms and outside. I could hear about 3 different conversations clearly! I came back one day to our door wide open and my belongs had been moved - I did not feel very safe after that. The door connecting to the bathroom and the room next door didn’t lock meaning travellers in that room could easily enter our room at any stage. Wouldn’t stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • saddamawan7868155
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2018
8.6

It was ok but just bit noisy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • racheltorbitzky2059
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2018
8.6

Hostel was overall great - walkable to downtown, street parking can be found (with a little work), and staff was very nice / helpful. The pillows and sheets have seen some use / wear and could stand to be given an extra clean or replaced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • helenstubbs
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jan 2018
10.0

Loved this place. Really chill, great staff, you’re treated like a human not a number!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×