Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 6289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 6289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • christinegranskog1015
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2018
7.4

Aside from the Bachelor party that crashed our room at 3am, our stay at St. Christopher's was fine. The obnoxious, rude imbeciles of "men" were told to leave the next morning. The facilities were fine, a little sticky but worth the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. We apologize on behalf of the loud group in your room. As you mentioned we removed them first thing in the morning. Regardless we hope you've had a great time exploring the city. Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2018
10.0

Very nice place. Easy access. Old building but clean. Love it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review. We're happy to hear that you've had such a good time staying with us. We hope to see you again next time you're in town. Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Apr 2018
8.0

Monacal calm in the dormitory at night means anyone there or even in the corridor could disturb one's sleep. Had to get out of room to ask someone phoning loudly to lower down and was annoyed by a group of girls digging for ever in the dark in wild plastic bags.Had to take morning flight. Did not sleep at all and had to move like a reptile not to break everyone's sleep. Not the best plan for me. Good location, price and some nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dinasaleh7429
  • Egypt, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2018
9.1

The beds were comfortable and clean. The location is great right infront of the station. The room has triple dunk beds and it was abit small and there was no kitchen only a microwave and a small fridge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, delighted you enjoyed your time with us and had a great experience in Edinburgh. Not having a kitchen isn't ideal for everyone but we do have a discount on any food from our restaurant to help bring down food costs. Happy adventures.

2nd Apr 2018
8.9

Cheap, great location and friendly staff. Rooms were very small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the great feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope we'll see you again sometime soon in one of our hostels across Europe. Happy adventures

2nd Apr 2018
8.9

Highly recommended for backpackers! The check out time is a little bit earlier(10am) than others. But they provide luggage room(0.5£/h, 2.5£/d). Ideal location, clean and comfortable shower room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the great review. I'm glad we could help make your stay an enjoyable one. The check out is a bit early unfortunately, Edinburgh is a city where people can arrive really early and ask to check in early. Everyone wants to check in early but nobody wants to check out early. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again in one of our hostels across Europe.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2018
7.1

The lockers weren’t big enough for my travel pack - seems like a pretty big issue given it’s a backpackers hostel - otherwise really good experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2018
8.0

Great location, great WiFi, and great bars downstairs! Not the best hostel to pick for a good nights sleep as it is noisy with the bars right downstairs. I didn’t like the triple decker bunk beds in the 6 bed dorm we stayed in. The room was very tiny. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm another night and it was better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear you've made good use of our 2 inhouse bars with tons of discounts for our guests. We wish you the best during the rest of your travels.Take care!

30th Mar 2018
7.1

Great location but the triple bunk beds (bunks that are 3 beds high) were a bit annoying. Rooms were really cramped with not a lot of space for your luggage but the staff was friendly and the bar downstairs is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lobbtegan2281
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
9.4

Really great hostel in perfect location. Friendly staff. The room would benefit from having another mirror outside the bathroom and slightly more height between bunks so you can sit up as there were no seats in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review. We're happy to hear you've had such a good time while staying with us. We hope to see you again during your future travels. Take care mate!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×