Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 6418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 6418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2018
6.6

18 to a room that size with luggage could barely walk around. !! Once a day clean up in bathroom not enough

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2018
6.3

The hostel is very cramped, it's as though they just squeezed the hostel into this tiny spaced gap between two buildings. The common area is small, windowless and depressing. It is located on a very busy road so it was difficult to get to sleep. There is also a shortage of bathrooms. The reception is a tiny nook on the ground floor that needs to be manned by more than one person at a time and the breakfast area there isn't room to swing a cat. The hostel is very clean and tidy, but very small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. Regardless we hope that you've still had an amazing time exploring the city. Take care!

17th Jun 2018
9.4

St. Christopher’s is the perfect backpacking hostel. Right next to the train station with access to everything you could want to see. The free walking tour at 10:40 every day is awesome; highly reccommend it. Free laundry. The breakfast is cool (free if you book directly). Staff is great. The 18 person dorm is a tight fit but that’s kinda what you’d expect. Would deffinitely stay here again when we come back to Scotland. Darby (& Chris)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2018
8.3

Breakfast was a bit bleak considering it was £3 but a good location and nice staff. Probably needs more showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We wish you the best on your future travels. Take care!

  • mattscheel19911674
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2018
7.1

Good atmosphere. Good events run by the hostel. Very good location. Right across from waverly Station, short walk to the castle. Friendly staff. Only bad thing we're the bathrooms. For wouldn't open all the way and it was A VERY tight squeeze. And when I say that I mean I am a skinny guy and I was struggling to fit through

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • smallfry_052540
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2018
10.0

Excellent place to stay! Great rooms, comfortable beds with privacy curtains, easy luggage storage, and an in house bar with good atmosphere. Very convenient location! .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • louise-ryan1231297
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
8.6

Room to small for 18 beds. Plastic . Cups , plates etc in kitchen horrible. Space for breakfast to small. But cooked breakfast next door was good with discount. Handy for train station. Won't stay again but will come back to Endinburgh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • antoniadiener803
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2018
8.3

Really enjoyed staying here! This was my first hostel stay in Europe and I'm very happy with it. I was in a 12 person dorm (4 sets of 3 story bunk beds) -- as with most bunk beds, there's not a lot of room on the lower bunks so you need to be careful not to hit your head. Lockers were a great size and the view from the room was unbeatable. Breakfast was 3 pounds a day if you don't book directly (ie if you book using HostelWorld) which is expensive for a continental breakfast. Friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the great review and feedback. We're happy you've enjoyed your time here with us and we hope to see you back again sometime soon.

4th Jun 2018
6.9

Over all didn't really injoy my stay here, they need to work out a way to get better air circulatoon into the rooma( or at least room 401 ). For how cold it 2 was outside the room should not have been so hot! Um they could also use better pillows. Other then that the location was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you're stay wasn't as pleasant as it could have been. We are currently looking into your concerns. We hope you've still had an amazing time exploring the city and wish you the best of during the rest of your travels. Take care!

  • daisylake9388
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2018
7.7

Overall it was great. But those mattresses, have had their expiration date a long time ago... Also staff was running very loud up and down the steps in front of our door early in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback plays a major role in this. Nevertheless we wish you the best of luck on your future travels, take care!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×