Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Submarino Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • vanderoots3630
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2018
10.0

Estadia maravilhosa no submarino, me senti muito em casa, sem falar nos detalhes do hostel, tudo muito organizado, muito limpo. O staff é maravilhoso, a Pia, a Paola, a Simona, a Anabel, e o Giulio, maravilhosas pessoas. Retornarei muito em breve e com toda certeza me hospedarei no submarino novamente. Foi muito confortável passar esses dias por lá. Muito obrigado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • loz_2152555
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2018
6.0

Our room smelt of cats wee and the general cleanliness of the hostel wasn’t great. Rooms are also small so limited storage space. Good cooking facilities. Location is a 15 min walk from main town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Mar 2018
9.1

One of the most organised hostels I've been too. They've thought about everything from heaps of electrical sockets to little baskets next to all the beds for your belongings. Only thing is that they don't offer free breakfast but that wasn't a big deal for us. Staff and owners were friendly and really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Mar 2018
9.7

Super cozy hostel in a very nice town :) Stayed at various places on the island near beaches and I was grateful to stay a night near the lake and to have the chance to explore the town. Met some cool people and the home felt very comfortable. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dantailor1
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Mar 2018
9.1

Julio and the staff are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
20th Mar 2018
10.0

Staff are amazing and give loads of information. Super clean hostel, female dorm really nice and single beds. Great nights sleep. Can use paddle boards for free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Mar 2018
10.0

A really amazing place to stay. The whole place was spotless, the staff were very friendly and the location wasnt far from the bus terminal and right near the lagoon. In the morning the boss even woke up at 5:30 for me so i could go paddle boarding and watch the sunrise. Very amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2018
9.1

A relaxing place to stay, next to the lake. We ended up spending more time in the hostel than normal as it was just so chilled. Everything was well kept- they emptied the bins in the bathroom several times a day! Only issue was the aircon-8 hours a day and only by request is a bit tight...It means everyone in the dorm has to go to bed and get up at the same time to really benefit. 12 Hours at set time would be way better. However would still recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Feb 2018
9.1

I enjoyed my stay there, was my second time visiting the hostel. The staff always helping and smiling. Missed the excellent breakfast they had before. The price is not so cheap but worth it. Also they facilitate excursions on the island and nigth activities. Thanks guys for the good times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2018
6.6

Secluded, quiet, peaceful, it's a very good place for resting. Paid 70 USD a night for a private room, but still had to pay deposits for towels, keys... Keeping it classy. Events promoted by staff are mostly affiliate sales for clubs/parties/trips (it's just another revenue stream), I wish it had more free events, local parties or dinners. Rental bikes are bad, really bad. I picked up the best one out of the available four, had flat tires and loose handlebar, felt very alive riding it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You had many other cheaper options but you prefer to book the most expensive one, our private room, with private bathroom, balcony, tv, couple bed and AC, and yes, we ask a deposit for towels(many other places charge for it) and keys. Sorry for that but we just start to ask a deposit because many people just ''take" the towels when they leave, by the way this kind of deposits is normal in hostels and hotels all around the world. We offer every day tours and parties, most of then with a very good deal for our guests and many free options as well, and for all the tours we also explain how to do by yourself if you don't want to pay for it. We have bikes to rental for only R$ 2 per hour or R$ 10 for all day long, and using for less then one hour we don't even charge, we have every week some maintenance on the bikes, a service that we just spend to keep offering, you probably choose one of the bikes the was waiting for the maintenance. To finish you should take a cheaper dorm and save some money to eat instead to take the other guests food.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×