Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer Hostel Koh Tao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Aug 2018
10.0

Fantastic hostel. Great to chill and meet people in the common area, rooms were fine and the location was good, 10 minutes to swim/snorkel, 10 minutes to town, fabulous food just next door and shop across the street. Loved the staff who were knowledgable about the island and very accomodating. Extended my stay multiple times and was very sad to leave. Overall amazing hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kasiamieszczak942913
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Aug 2018
10.0

Great hostel with awesome staff. Having a kitchen helps a lot especially if you're staying on the island a while. It is about 10min walk from Sairee junction but it's not a difficult walk. It is a chill hostel, not party party but still a good atmosphere. The common area has a table and bean bags. The AC rooms are small but adequate. Hot water and good pressure in the bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is always someone around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2018
10.0

Loved this hostel! Ideally located, short walk to the beach, but away from noisy parties and yelling lads (sorry, yelling lads). The staff, especially the German girl, were super awesome and helpful. When my bf got sick during our stay they constantly asked if he was ok and if we needed anything. The hostel has a friendly atmosphere and there is always someone to grab a beer with, yet people respect the “bedtime” at 11PM and head to bars, which is great if you have to wake up early the next day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kdelfoss7744
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2018
9.1

Staff was so kind and helpful and all areas were constantly being cleaned. The staff made sure the atmosphere was fun and inclusive and would also help you book any excursions you wanted. Good location having a grocery store across the street and a ten minute walk to the beach (close but not so close you hear the clubs).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review :)

  • brycematthews14029
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2018
8.6

Loved staying here, more of a chill hostel, the receptionist is an absolute legend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • arrrbee
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jul 2018
7.7

The good: Well kept and clean. Decent location away from town but across from a 24hr supermarket. Friendly, helpful staff. Good atmosphere with social vibes. The bad: Overlooked the fine print and didn’t realize that the 8-bed dorm has no AC. Not enough fans for the number of beds. Lockers are outside which doesn’t feel secure. Doors don’t automatically lock or close so keys were pointless. 10 baht charge for bottle refill is silly. Put the rates up $1 and include free water if necessary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. It's a really annoying fault with the site app that it doesn't specify fan only dorm when booking unless you click the more information icon. This is why we always email all guests welcoming them to Summer and offering them an upgrade to AC if they have booked the fan dorm. Unfortunately it ends up in some peoples junk/spam folder. There are 7 fans in the dorm and providing guests don't close the windows and limit airflow the dorm stays reasonably cool. The dorm door to that room does not lock automatically but it definitely closes. Both the dorm entrance and lockers are covered by 24 hour HD CCTV. We are looking into keycard entrance systems for the dorms so watch this space :) Regarding the water, there's just an honesty box on top and it's only if you're refilling water to take out from the hostel with you. Have taken your comments on board and we'll look into it. Thank you again

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Jul 2018
10.0

I loved my stay at Summer! The hostel had such a nice vibe for meeting people but isn't a party hostel. Very clean and the staff were kind and helpful. Across the road from a 24 hr supermarket which is very handy! Would absolutely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we cannot wait to have you back :)

  • dj_grant21
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2018
7.7

Really relaxed atmosphere, sociable but not party so perfect balance. Short walk down the hill into town. 24 store opposite is super convenient. Beds are close together but are comfortable. Stayed 6 nights and have no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And next time you'll just have to stay longer

9th Jul 2018
9.4

Loved my stay at Summer it’s in a good location so you are far enough from the bars to get a good night sleep but close enough that you can easily walk to the main streets in 10 minutes. Supermarket across the road and chilled atmosphere at night. The staff helped organise day trips and were really welcoming. Will stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we can't wait to have you come back and stay. Thank you for your lovely comments, it really is appreciated

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2018
9.4

Really great hostel! They staff were so lovely and helpful, and the atmosphere was very sociable. The kitchen was super handy and the hostel is in a great location, a 5 minute walk from all the shops, restaurants, bars and it’s near the beach. Cute dogs too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Buddy and Sigi are missing you - definitely enjoyed their cuddles

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×