Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer House Backpackers Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Oct 2018
6.0

Was treated unfairly by hostel manager, kicked out after bringing one bottle of beer to the roof and not even opening it or drinking it, not knowing it was forbidden. Was accused of supplying alcohol to other people on the roof even though I didn't! She would not give me my keycard back until they checked CCTV to see if I had been drinking outside alcohol during my stay.A warning could have been enough as I saw people doing worse things on the roof and getting away with it. :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2018
9.4

Booked for private room as need left in early morning, they gave me the room with great view!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2018
7.4

Lots of long term stay, when came in the room. Can smell the filthy, unfortunately one of the issues for long term stay. Initial, not spend much of time in there as provided only thing I need, an bed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • deanbosworth19852
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2018
9.4

Brilliant stay at summer house great location 2 minutes walk to the beach. staff at the hostel and the bar were more than accommodating and really friendly from the get go. Beds were comfy and roomates lovely long stayers. Netflix area on the rooftop was a good area to socialise and there was a event / mini event every evening. Definitely will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Jun 2018
4.0

overall the hostel was filthy. Theres a lot of long-stay residents which would usually be fine, but at least in our room they kept the room an absolute state- looked like they had been there for a while because they had spread their stuff everywhere including the bathroom and left mouldy food/drink about so it stank. the kitchen also felt like it had never been cleaned, however the free breakfast was a bonus (although lacking in cutlery/bowls?). not a very nice atmosphere for travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jjkainth46462
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2018
10.0

Absolutely amazing place to stay, the location is perfect. I’ve been traveling for about 6/7 weeks now and this was by far the best hostel I have stayed in. The staff were exceptionally friendly, the beds very comfy the bar downstairs was awesome as well. Would deffernatly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mr-hatton3516
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2018
9.7

Great hostel! Arrived early hours in the morning, 4am l and was greeted by the lovely Will at reception. Somehow at 4 am he was still wide awake and very chatty. 10/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2018
9.1

Private rooms are great and spacious with very modern bathroom facilities. Although the communal kitchen was very messy ! Great location and friendly staff you are happy to help and answer questions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2018
6.9

The kitchen was really dirty with lots of dishes lying around. And it was hard walking through the room with everyone’s thing lying around. I checked out early. The staff were friendly they just need to up the hygiene and cleanliness standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2018
9.7

Really nice Hostel with a bar downstairs, you also get a free drink upon arrival! Rooms are clean and staff is amazing. Also great rooftop to hang out, would highly recommend and will be back soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×