Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfers Dorm House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2017
5.4

Pretty dirty. No AC. So cheap so I guess that’s why.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi please read the description before making a booking. We have tried our best to notify customer that the 8 bed dorms is fan only dorm without AC (it is written under the description of 8 dorm bed as well as welcome email). I think many guests misunderstood the whole point, that we offer less price because we want to help guests, if later are affected by volcanic ash, and cannot go back to their home country immediately, so they can stay longer in our place without having to break their wallet. We honestly lose money by selling the bed for $3/night and you are still complaining that the place is not value for money. Thank you

13th Nov 2017
10.0

Always good !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ferrerachell
  • British Indian Ocean Territory, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Nov 2017
5.1

No lock on the door we had to ask for the only key very out the way. And stairs were dangerous.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • hannalexandria7553
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2017
9.4

Amazing place to stay! As other people have said, it feels more like a friendly shared house than a hostel. It's a stone's throw from the beach (which is the best beginner surf beach I went to in Canggu). There is plenty of room and lots of power points, showers and cooking facilities. Only downside is that it's a bit tatty, but 100% worth that for everything else - would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for making such an awesome review. Your comment made up our day and felt our effort is appreciated. Glad that you and your friends are really enjoying the place. We are planning to renovate the place to make it more nice and fun to stay. Hope to see you come back again in the future

20th Oct 2017
9.1

Un endroit sympathique !! Proche des plages pour Surfer et faire la fête pour ce qui le veulent !! Dès cafés et restaurant très proches !! Un staff accueillant et très gentille !! Je le recommande !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Sep 2017
6.9

What you pay for is what you're going to get. Basic rooms but super close to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your recent comments. Yes we are not a fancy accommodation, but we will keep improving and upgrading our facilities to make us a better place to stay for all travelers

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
4.9

Booked a room for 8, but they had put matrasses on the floor to add more people. No AC in the room, only one rusty broken fan. You could not lock the door of the room and the main entrance was also open. Since the room was next to the main entrance it did not feel very safe. Location was good, but that was the only positive thing for me.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we apologize for any inconvenient caused. During 1 day of your stay an old customer returned without any notice. I had instructed our staffs to not accepting any new guest and ask him to come back on the next day. But it seems like the staffs feel pity of him and allowed him to stay for 1 day in extra bed on the floor instead. Now, I have warned our staffs to always follow the rules to strictly prohibit any extra bed on the floor. Therefore please rest assure that it will not happen again in the future. Regarding to no AC in the room, please read the description carefully before you make selection as it is clearly stated that budget dorm is fan only dorm. It specifically caters for travelers who is on budget and does not like air conditioning. Please address your issue during your stay to our staffs. They will be happy to re-allocate you to AC Dorm without any penalty. However still in the budget dorm that you chose, we have 3 build in ceiling fan and 3 standing fan to make sure the air is circulating and make a comfortable stay for all of our guests. Thank you

24th Aug 2017
9.7

This place feels like home. I met a lot of nice people here who told me how they and others had kept returning to this place. I can see why. The vibe around the house is welcoming and everyone is welcome to go out to the beach together or to drink at night. Its only a short walk to the beach where you can surf. The owner was in every day cleaning the place but left so that you could enjoy your evenings in peace. Roof terrace, kitchen, scooter rental all part of the package.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Aug 2017
6.6

A mixed bag really, lovely guests staying there and kitchen to hang out in and prepare meals. Rooftop was a great place to chill too. 4 bed dorm was very basic and people were having sex in the full dorm at 8am which wasn't ideal! Wasn't secure, no locker available and room didn't lock with the front doors left open most of the time. Close to the beach which is a redeeming factor and a short walk from nice cafes/restaurants. Would stay closer to old mans beach if I went again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your positive reviews and some feedback. Yes our rooftop is awesome and we will keep improve it to make such a great place to chill, comfortable and fun. So guests will have a perfect day surfing on the beach, eat in nice cafe/restaurant, and chill with bintang on the rooftop area. We apologise for the incident inside your dorm room and will put notice for precaution and to make other guests comfortable. Regarding the locker we have one for every guest and we put it in the separate room to make the dorm room more spacious. However reading your review it seems like you are not aware about the lockers existence, as a result, we have since moved it inside the dorm room to avoid confusion. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Aug 2017
7.7

Small hostel with a friendly vibe. Quite easy to meet people and make friends in the kitchen area. Stayed in a 4 man room which was basic and nice. Good wifi in room. Lukewarm shower. Bathroom fine. Close to beach and 10 min walk along beach to main bar areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your nice comments. We will still keep improving our self to make this hostel an enjoyable place to stay. Hope to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×