Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kclancy1034298
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2018
10.0

Loved Sydney Central YHA. Great staff, great facilities, affordable and perfect location. Will stay again and definitely recommend. Thanks YHA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2018
6.3

Staff were friendly and super helpful. The attached cafe was fantastic for breakfast (but make sure to get there before 9am to get your money's worth on the weekend). The bathroom was clean and large enough for our group of five in the semi-low season. The place had an "interesting" assortment of guests - from 6 year olds to 60 year olds. Was not expecting that at all, so be aware when booking this hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2018
10.0

Great atmosphere: party hostel! Very helpful staff and clean hostel. Location is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Ryan_Brooks
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
14th Mar 2018
8.6

Cool place definitely the best large hostel i have stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • loganjmanders8629
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2018
3.7

This place was rated really well online, but in reality it stinks. They really get you by making the lobby and common areas appear bright and beautiful. BUT when you get to your room it looks (dark and dated), feels (depressing), and smells (urine) like a prison. I recommend staying at Base Hostel, which is comparably priced, a good bit cleaner, and WAY closer to the city center!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Dec 2017
7.7

A good hostel, well situated with large common area and good kitchen for those travelling on a budget. The only thing was the lack of free wifi access beyond the communal areas; the common areas were therefore full of people sitting in isolation on laptops or facetiming their mates back home, making it difficult to meet other people or indeed just sit and chat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ankitgupta476425
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2017
6.9

No free wifi and no AC in room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Dec 2017
6.9

Good location, price and level of cleaniness. The only complaint I have was that I was placed in a room with 4 male long term guests - the type that enforces the law of entropy by slowly spreading their belongings in circles centred at their beds. They were also construction workers, so the smell of manly manliness was prevelant. I just wish I was placed in a room with othet short term guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2017
8.9

More hotel than hostel but still worth staying there. It's location is super convenient, close to the rail station and within walking distance of Circular Quay. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • keirahannon9775
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Dec 2017
7.1

Bed sheets aren't clean!!!! They use the same pillow cases and duvets for everyone, they never wash or change these! Saw at least 3 people in my room come and go and not once were these changed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×