Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

23 Feb 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2018
3.1

I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND this hostel! We stayed 5 nights! Its very expensive in comparison with other hostels in cape town! Its VEEEERY DIRTY! there are few toilets, it very uncomfortable because the shower is in one place and the toilets in other! there were cats in the kitchen all time, and they get inside the rooms! We tried to talk with the owner ans she was veeery rude with us! Before going to The backpackers we stayed at 91 loop and once in cape town and they were excellent!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2018
7.1

I think an old folks home would have a better atmosphere than this place. Zzzzzzzzzzzzz Snore..... such a boring hostel, literally no vibe, worst place to go if youre on your own and want to meet fellow travellers and share travel plans with. BUT if you wanna chill and have early nights and not speak to anyone then this is your perfect place. Also from the guests I saw it is a family friendly place and the positive things about here is that its super clean and visually pretty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry you never joined us for our awesome games night on a Friday night which is super lively - have a look at the video on Facebook of one of these nights and its not staged its what happens here. We also do great BBQ nights on a Tuesday yummy food and good evenings. Something happening most nights. Of course we are competing with the Mother city which is totally awesome!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Feb 2018
9.7

Great hostel in a great location! Awesome views of table mountain, close to restaurants and bars. Friendly and helpful staff. Good relaxed atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our friendly service. The Backpack Team

  • bobbailliebb4110
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2018
9.7

If you are traveling through Cape Town, the Backpack is an ideal location to stay. The staff are helpful, friendly and well versed in all that the city has to offer. The rooms are clean, the pool is refreshing and the social activity within the Backpack offers even the seasoned traveler much needed advice. Unlike the Protea's and Hilton's found all over Africa, the Backpack offers a socially relaxed environment suitable for all ages. Traveling is simply what you choose to make of It. Backpack #1

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benedicttreptow4321
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 52 reviews
1st Feb 2018
9.4

Great place. Central location, Nice staff, great to get in contact with people, good starting point to explore Cape Town and the rest of the country. From common area amazing view on the Table mountain. Only negative aspect: Frequent cut offs and instability of Wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review and that you loved our hostel sorry about the wifi its usually awesome and some folks have said its been the best in all of their travels in South Africa. Come back for the awesome views and people! The Backpack Team

  • niallbrophy9261
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2018
10.0

The only place to consider staying in Cape Town. The hostel is huge yet clean and quiet, so much space to relax and meet people. Staff are amazing and friendly, its one big family. Ideal location as well and ridiculous view from the pool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HamidWayne
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2018
9.1

Lovely place. Good breakfast which was value for Money. Drinks were expensive .Decent location. Some very nice staff specially all the house Keeping .The African dude was just Super friendly, (Majid) showed me around the whole place when I showed interest in the other side of the building, sad I couldn't meet him before I left .Kas?, the new frenchie was very polite though she was still learning the doors. Nice place to stay which can booked on weekends so book early . Towels not included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

tts great you took time to meet and talk to the people who really are a big part in making our hostel so special. Thank you. Most people travel with their own towels so we do charge extra for them. Cas is super confident know she knows all the ropes. Kind regards The Backpack Team

  • Tduck9998965
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2018
9.4

over all a really great place, much better than I expected and very close to a lot of the tourist things in Cape town. Staff where friendly, they offer lots of stuff to do if you have no idea and have a view of table mountain, had a great time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks and so happy you liked our hostel and friendly staff The Backpack Team

18th Jan 2018
9.7

One of the best hostels I’ve been to. Incredible location. Spectacular buffet breakfast. Most importantly great vibes. Sleeping areas quiet enough to do your own thing but also plenty of opportunities to meet people. Hostel has a great sense of social responsibility in its hiring practices and attempt to decrease waste. Special shout out to Andrew - an asset to the place due to service or just sit down and chat, and Jabu - hopefully back for another game of pool soon! Thanks for a good time guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much we love that you love our breakfasts and of course for the big shout out to Andrew and Jabu. They are serious about their games night on Fridays - not to be missed! See you back again soon. The Backpack Team

25th Dec 2017
10.0

Backpackers was my second hostel I’ve ever stayed in but it set the bar pretty high. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the guest are just as amazing. Great atmosphere overall. I would go to Cape and stay here forsure. I’m also recommending for fellow travelers I met along my journey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So happy we cut it! Thanks for staying and of course recommending word of mouth is still the best recommendation we could get. Have an awesome 2018 The Backpack Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×