Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

20 Aug 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 2305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 2305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jul 2018
9.7

This hostel is great! I was in a 4-bed room felt it was worth it for the small difference in price. The hostel beds are actual beds, not bunk beds, which is a really nice feature. The bathrooms are individual bathrooms, not shared showers and toilet stalls, so the hostel feels more comfy and homely. The breakfast is delicious and filling, and the location is central with a nice view of table mountain. The only complaint is that the lounges aren't super social and the wifi in our room didn't work

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review we are so happy the you enjoyed your stay with us. The Backpack Team

  • mariaarseniuk2512
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2018
10.0

Excellent location, very secure and exceptionally friendly staff. The breakfast is one of the best (variety of pastries, cheeses, veggies, fruits and cereals) and far outweighs most standard toast and jam breakfasts. There is a security desk and the 2 resident cats add extra charm. Great lounges, but the best part is the community engagement and partner projects that the hostel donates to. Environmentally conscious with water saving measures and battery recycle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for reviewing us. We really appreciate that you noticed our Environmental and Community engagements as these are things that are very close to our heart. We hope you will be back one day soon The Backpack Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2018
8.3

The hostel is in a great location with friendly staff and has a friendly atmosphere. The only negative was the bathroom that was attached to the room i was staying in. There was no lock on the door, and then the shower head needs replacing as the water goes all over the place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kathrynrupton7540
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2018
10.0

Great vibes, breakfast, and location. Just a few blocks from Bree Street for great restaurants and Long Street for nightlife - can walk home. The staff were all very kind and helpful. Bar area was cozy and a nice place to socialize. Would definitely stay here again! A friend was staying at a different hostel in town and ended up switching after spending time at the Backpack!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review we are so happy that you loved staying with us and hope that you will be back soon. The Backpack Team

1st Jun 2018
9.1

Overall great stay! Super friendly staff that will recommend things to do and places to eat. Awesome, safe location. The hostel could get a little loud at night depending where your room is, but nothing a pair of earplugs can't fix. I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
30th May 2018
8.9

Popular location close to everything! Excellent staff and really good atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2018
9.4

Great place to hang out and meet people, kitchen is well equipped, rooms are nice and clean, staff are friendly and the bar area is cosy and located enough to one end of the place so as not to disturb those who want to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • inzmmazur347
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2018
10.0

Excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to rate us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us The Backpack Team

  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
22nd May 2018
8.9

Fantastic Hostel! Great location! Awesome Staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bneustadt6813
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2018
9.1

Staff is great. Great location. Great hang out area. Nice bar. Kind of expensive for just a two person room considering the airbnb rates nearby. Also note there is a dog and cat that live there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×