Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpack Cape Town

24 Jan 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Dec 2017
10.0

Backpackers was my second hostel I’ve ever stayed in but it set the bar pretty high. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the guest are just as amazing. Great atmosphere overall. I would go to Cape and stay here forsure. I’m also recommending for fellow travelers I met along my journey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2017
9.7

This place is the real deal! If you are looking for, a kind staff, lots of places to hang around in and meet new people, large comfortable dorms, great tour booking, this is the place! It’s SO easy to meet people here! Also because it’s so chil and cozy. In danish; hygge!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2017
10.0

we had an amazing three days staying with you. It was a great location with friendly and helpful staff. A great introduction to staying in Cape Town. I accidentally left my credit card at the bar and went out for the day. Andrew tried really hard to get a message to me to let me know they had it in the safe so I didn't cancel it. Thanks for you help with that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Dec 2017
10.0

Staff and atmosphere was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the great score. Wishing you a very merry Festive Season The Backpack Team

4th Dec 2017
9.4

Always a reliable good stay in Cape Town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking your time to review us. Wishing you an awesome Festive Season The Backpack Team

29th Nov 2017
8.9

Gr8 place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2017
8.0

I really wish they wouldn't allow smoking in the hostel. A lot of the hostel is outdoors, so people take that as an invitation to just smoke wherever, and the smell is CONSTANT. It even permeates the furniture and walls, and gave me a near constant headache. My room was clean, but it was super dark and had a mildew smell to it. It was very secure though, and was cleaned daily. Staff was very friendly, but probably wouldn't stay here again though because of the smoke.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2017
10.0

Good staff, tasty breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2017
10.0

Absolutely amazing hostel not only the place but the staff I was supposed to stay 2 days and 12 days later I left with a broken heart big thank you to everybody there and making the start of my trip in South Africa perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2017
7.1

This my third stay here and sadly I can say they have let their standards slip. The location is perfect, but it has lost what made it special, in my opinion. The breakfast used to be a small cooked breakfast made to order or yogurt fruit and oats but now it's continental and plain. The staff didn't seem as happy and interactive with the guests as on my previous visits. One person had his rental car damaged and hub caps stolen. The pool was dirty. I had given 10/10 previously

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for returning to our hostel and giving us this feedback. Although, it is never great receiving bad reviews, we learn where we need to improve to make our guests have a more pleasant stay. In the past, our cooked breakfasts were not selling and this free continental style breakfast with a larger variety has seemed to be received better by all our guests. Unfortunately, the parking outside our hostel is a public space and we try our best to keep it as safe as possible. We do apologise that you found our pool dirty; we have a regular pool service assuring our standards are kept high. Kind Regards, The Backpack Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×