Hostelworld.com

The Baxter

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • niamhhugs2700
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2018
9.7

The staff where so lovely and the facilities where amazing especially the kitchen. Loved me stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Nov 2018
9.1

I had a fantastic stay at this hostel. The free breakfast was great...the bed was comfortable and clean. You can literally walk to all tourist attractions coz the hostel is strategically situated at the heart of the city with a very accommodating staff. Though, comfort room is limited and maybe mirrors at the hallway can lessen the queue as most of the girls do their makeup thing inside (as if it is a makeup room) and never bother themselves with the other users. Highly recommendable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ragnhildurka3621
  • Iceland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2018
7.7

Amazing location and price. I felt very safe. I got a bottom bunk in a female only room, I had no shelf to put my things so I had to use the floor behind the bunk bed which was clean-ish. The space between the bunk and the wall on the far side was FILTHY. I dropped my phone once and it was disgusting. The other bottom bunk bed had a shelf for their things so the amenities are not equal which kind of sucks. There are only two bathrooms (way too few) and four showers, one of which was broken.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • chanraha8748
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2018
9.7

My stay at the hostel was really superb-I felt very safe at all times, the location was great-literally just a few steps away was the train station, airport bus and the highstreet. The staff were so nice and knowledgable. In terms of style, I couldn’t have been more impressed. The photos on Hostelworld are legitimate. Every morning the staff made scrambled eggs and toast to order, and offered hot drinks and cereal. They have a nespresso machine so bring pods if you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2018
9.1

Shame about the cramped rooms with 3 tier beds and the lack of sinks and toilets. And what about the sinks attached to the back of the toilets? Water everywhere!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bexnotbecca
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Oct 2018
8.6

This hostel is great! The location is ideal if you’re taking the train into Edinburgh (250 m from Waverley) and extremely close to the Royal Mile where most people end up at some point during their visit. The staff were friendly and the facilities were obviously redone at some point to modernize them. The only downside was when a couple of radiators got stuck on a high setting which made two rooms extremely warm. The staff were on top of it and fixed the problems in a day. Stuff happens.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jackieozimek645997
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2018
10.0

Amazing place ! Included morning breakfast, It really felt like home I could recommend this place to everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
6.6

I've stayed at 3 hostels in Edinburgh, and this was both the most clean and (by far) the most cramped. The location is great, kept really clean, and fresh eggs for breakfast is nice. However, I wouldn't stay here again - even by Edinburgh standards, guests are packed in like sardines. Only 3 tiny working showers/2 toilets/2 TINY sinks, not enough space for breakfast, and bunk beds where you can't sit upright. The hostel would be lovely if it had half the guests and didn't charge for bag storage.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2018
7.1

Very nicely decorated and furnished. The beds are larger than normal and rather comfortable, but stacked 3 high. Big lockers are provided but you need to bring your own lock. Towels are 2 pounds non-refundable. If you want to leave your luggage before check-in or after check-out, it'll cost you 50p per hour. The only real problem with this hostel is there are just 2 toilets, which is not enough for the number of guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mattsammond6559
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Sep 2018
8.6

The hostel itself was good, very clean, comfortable, in a great location, and a helpful staff. The only complaint I have is that there was little done to promote any commingling among the guests (many places set up pub crawls, games, etc.). Also, it was very hot in the room and in an area with a lot of construction going on. Overall the hostel was a fine experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×