Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Birds Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 85 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 85 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • julissa67
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2018
4.6

Staff was nice and helpful BUT the actual hostel was completely dirty, smelly and super small. The lockers aren’t big enough to hold valuables. The neighborhood is pretty but far from actual London. I went out to london for the day and when I came back there was a homeless man in the room and it wasn’t safe. My friend and I were so uncomfortable we didn’t even spend one night here, we left and booked something else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mbyrne6161
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2018
8.9

This was our first time at a hostel and we were pleasantly surprised! The people were nice, the tube was close and the food at the bar was delicious! Thanks for a great first time experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2018
9.7

This was wonderful!!! I LOVED my time here!!! We were greeted in such a welcoming way, the bed and sheets were AWESOME and clean, the location was FABULOUS, and you know what? IT EVEN INCLUDED BREAKFAST!! Absolutely enjoyed myself and SOOOOO HAPPY I chose this place!!! 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2018
3.4

The room was clean but the toilets were disgusting. No toilet paper and they looked like public toilets. There is zero security in this hostel. The hostel is in a pub so everyone can have access. They give you 2 codes when u check in... one for the door that takes u to the rooms and one for your room. People can share the codes and anyone can have access. After my first night there, they told me that all the codes have changed cos someone stole a girl's laptop and her passport from her room...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2018
8.0

Nice place but a bit far from downtown... the tube doesn't stop at the station past midnight, but there is a local bus to downtown. General guests seemed to be in their thirties or forties.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2018
6.9

Staff is super nice, but they need to have people who are dedicated to the hostel, rather than having to juggle between serving at the pub and checking guests in. I think it's unfair to them. Also, as there's no dedicated staff, the toilets/rooms can stay dirty for days. Finally, no kitchen facilities makes it all a bit complicated. If you're staying here it's likely to be because you're on a budget, so being able to cook rather than eat out or buy ready meals could help things out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2018
6.6

The staff were incredibly helpful and the hostel was easy to find from the train. However I found the whole building smelled bad, kind of like old alcohol which makes sense because there is a bar below the rooms. The bathrooms were gross. Showers backed up constantly and overall cleanliness was very poor. The beds were decent and sheets were clean! Okay, but I wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2018
8.3

Really lovely hostel , staff were nice and friendly & in a great location !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2018
9.4

The staff was AWESOME! We needed a late check in and it was no problem. We also asked to change rooms and they were super helpful. The pub downstairs and the garden are very nice, great places to chill after walking around in the city. Easy access to public transportation (close to Central line).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • wuege69
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2018
8.6

Showers need some work but you get a discount if you stay at the hostel on all food and drink which is a nice bonus. Nice and close to the tube stop, shops and great restaurants

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×