Hostelworld.com

The Birds Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mnew170
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2018
7.1

Really enjoyed the pub and atmosphere of The Birds. Some of the staff were extremely helpful with directions and plans in the city. No location is perfect in London, it's a huge area to cover!! Remember to bring earplugs, biggest regret. Overall, good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mafyoos7373
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Nov 2018
10.0

Cool pub, nice staff, comfy beds, good location and cheap! There's no kitchen but its not like ya need it to make ur sad Tesco sandwich anyway

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2018
6.9

Basic but decent budget accommodation themed on local-born film director Hitchcock. Small dormitories are poky; others adequate if spartan. Slightly remote location but well served by public transport. Generally clean. Ample toilets/showers. More varied breakfast items than some hostels'. Unlimited free coffee 9 am-10 pm. Staff unobtrusive, apart from one 'clingy' bouncer. No guest kitchen or common room (apart from the pub's bar room) - limited scope for nocturnal reading or socialising.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kgmazhuvila208
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2018
8.6

Good hostel..... friendly staff.....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • inkaratia8834
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Nov 2018
8.3

The Birds is a great value hostel with excellent staff and a great atmosphere! The hostel doesn't have big lockers but they do have small ones where you can store your valuables and our luggage was perfectly safe being left in the room. The breakfast was good. The bar/restaurant downstairs is a cosy space to spend time in, although I personally could've used a space for the hostel guests that isn't dependent on the hours of the restaurant. The location has good connections to rest of London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kayleyok3546
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
8.3

The rooms are located above a pub, which I must say was very nice and a great place to hang out in the evenings. If you intend on going to bed early , you are likely to be disturbed by the noise. The room itself was relatively clean and of course the cleanliness will depend in your roommates. If you are claustrophobic or if large build then you will struggle with the 3 tier bunk beds. The shower and toilets were cleaned once a day but got dirty very quickly. Free breakfast was a nice touch!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kimberlyblum845577
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
9.1

Really enjoyed the overall experience of staying here. Would have liked more info on the locker sizes. They don't have lockers to keep your large bags in but you could fit a backpack in one of their larger lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2018
9.7

Yes, I'd book again here. The location is great, a very good area for all basic needs. Rooms are clean, although smallish there is space and I like the beanbags provided for flopping on floor. Good breakfast included, a little late for my tastes but they provide tea n coffee all day for free, plus fruit. My only niggle was, a kettle please boss? But staff are kind and accommodating, and the garden area will be great in spring and summer. Great beds, very comfy!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • klasirillokougnan306
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2018
10.0

Best cool

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • madisonkellymk8077
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
9.7

Although we only spent one night at the Birds Hostel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The staff was friendly, the breakfast was yummy, and the Leytonstone station was super close! If we are ever back in the area I’m sure we will stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×