Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bowery House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • inbarblumenthal9652
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2018
2.0

The worst experiance i ever had in hotel. The room wasn't suitable to the number of the people, because of mistake of the hotel, so thay threw us to the street in the middle of the night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2018
7.1

I got bedbugs here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Sorry to hear about your experience as it is not our intention to provide subpar experience! Were you able to express your issues to someone at the front desk? We take this issue with utmost concern and we try our best to rectify any issues our guests may have. Were they able to change your cabin during your stay? Were they able to provide you a solution with your discomfort? Again, we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and we thank you for taking the time to bring it to our attention. Best Regards, Ghia P

3rd Sep 2018
6.9

I was not aware when booking that room would be so small and basically without roof. Felt somewhat like a cell in a prison

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, We understand your concern, but we assure you, our property is a safe setting, with staff readily available to help 24 hours. Also, we are privately owned, therefore only our guests are allowed to be here. We also offer three great common areas solely for our guests and have the freedom to use at any time. Our cabins are open but secured by historic lattice ceilings so we are able to provide adequate air circulation throughout the cabins. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay, but we thank you for staying with us! We hope you can come back again as we owe you a perfect 10 stay. Regards, Ghia P

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2018
4.3

Frustrating room, dirty shared bathroom and tollet. The air qualiry has made me ill. No kitchen, no lift. No sound proof so it was terribly noisy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Sorry to hear about your experience. Have you told anyone at the front desk about your discomfort? We have bigger cabins to offer when they are available. We understand your concern about the air quality as we are currently working hard to fix these issues. Given the history of our building, we are limited to certain things such as kitchen and lift, but we do have staff available 24 hours to help you with luggage, and plenty of restaurants in the area for dining. Also housekeepers are here every day to ensure cleanliness, but we encourage our guests to express their issues at any time so we may be able to rectify them. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, but we thank you for staying with us! Regards, Ghia P

  • jacqwhiteley3472
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2018
7.1

Very dark, dingy,noisy. The window would not open. it was very warm with no obvious air con. just an open too which meant no privacy. i was told off by someone shouting go outside and talk .the time was 8.30,om. if i had gone outside I would not have been able to use what's app to call. there were no privacy areas, you get to wait to have a shower. it felt like a camp site indoors and they should put mirrors in bedrooms. there was very little space and I was supposed to have an upgraded room!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Just a reminder, all our guests at check in are required to read our policy form regarding no noise in the cabin areas to show respect for other guests. We let you know you're more than welcome to use ANY OF THREE common areas we have exclusive to only our guests. Making phone calls in any of these areas are absolutely allowed. If you needed a more private area to speak, we also have other options for you ready in our property, you just had to ask. Just a reminder we are a boutique hostel that is conveniently located, personable staff, and affordable even for NYC standards. Did you speak with anyone at front desk whom are available 24 hours to help regarding your discomforts? Thank you for your valued feedback and staying with us. Best Regards, Ghia P

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2018
6.0

If you want to get a normal (I don't say even good) sleep this is definitely NOT the place you're looking for. A standard hostel is much better because you'd at least share your room with others, so you can warn them if they make noise. In this case, you don't see other people in your mini cubicle. (THE BED'S TOO SHORT for someone 1.75m.) Yet, you hear all the noise and morning alarms of everyone. That being said, the staff were friendly, the location is great, it was safe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Sorry to hear about your experience as it is not our intention to provide subpar service to our guests. Many of our guests prefer to be in a cabin by themselves versus a dormitory. We also have staff readily available 24 hours a day to help enforce our noise policy in the sleeping areas - we take this issue seriously to show respect for our guests. We really do try our best everyday to make things happen for our guests, and we encourage everyone to express their discomforts during their stay so we may be able to rectify these issues. Best Regards, Ghia P

19th Jul 2018
6.6

It was so difficult to charge ones electronics!! The plug would fall out of the socket or it just wouldn’t charge. I have a small iPad mini that couldn’t be charged I’m guessing because if the voltage. I am all for keeping the “integrity” of the old building but, this is a necessity. Sorry guys. Update your outlets at least. My phone never reached 100% even overnight!! Ridiculous.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Sorry to hear about your experience! We try our best to keep everything up to date despite our historical feel. Have you spoken to anyone at the Front Desk regarding this issue? In the meantime we could have made other options for you so you were able to charge your devices. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay as it is not our intention to provide subpar service. Warm Regards, Ghia P

  • apadilla4278754
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2018
10.0

I loved my stay here and will definitely be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Thank you so much for your valued feedback! Please let us know when you will return to visit as we would love to give you an upgrade! Best Regards, Ghia P

  • sashavreca8947
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2018
6.9

Falsely advertised private rooms. It` s a row of small cabins with no ceiling, comparable to sleeping in cubicles in a dormitory. Otherwise, the place has all the necessities you look for in a hostel. Good location, friendly staff and decent bathrooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, We are a small boutique hostel, small in space, but we are conveniently located, great staff that is available 24 hours, and common areas exclusive to only our guests. The open-ceiling concept is us also paying homage to the originality of the building and rich history of Bowery road. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, but we thank you for staying with us. If you would like to give us another try, please let us know, we do offer bigger cabins when they are available. Best Regards, Ghia P

19th Jun 2018
9.4

Great hostel for downtown NYC. Rooms are privates which is awesome- just realize you don't get a lot of space. Rooms are very clean. Staff is super friendly. Washrooms are adequate. Location is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings, Thank you for your valued feedback! We hope you can come back to visit and please let us know so we may be able to better accommodate you with an upgrade or something! Best Regards, Ghia P

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×