Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Brooklyn Riviera

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 160 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 160 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2018
9.4

Phenomenal staff, I would most definitely recommend this Hostel to other travelers. Also amazing food is just around the corner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2018
4.0

Only one restroom for entire hostel! Everything worn out!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2018
8.3

Cool staff and relaxed atmosphere in a calm area with lots of restaurants. A good place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th Mar 2018
6.6

If you are looking for a cheap place to crash, then this hostel is the place to be. Talib is a very welcoming and helpful host. The location is a little sketchy-feeling, but it’s only 10 minutes from the subway and there’s tons of reasonable and tasty restaurants just round the corner. However, only one toilet/shower, the hostel is very run down and there’s no proper heating in the bedrooms - they’re either boiling or freezing! No locks on the bedroom, so I didn’t neccesaeily feel 100% safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2018
6.0

A really old building and not as nice as the name would imply. Still, this is New York and is to be expected. There seemed to only be one restroom in the place. In addition to that there is a shower room which is separate sans toilet which is nice. I was confused as to which door to enter initially and there was no one to help me. Seems they are strict about whichever check in time you put when booking which is usually a rough estimate for me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kelvin_w112
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2018
9.7

Brooklyn Riviera is one of the most down to earth hostel. The staffs there are very welcoming. I can't say enough good things about Talib. He was extremely helpful in every aspects of my stay. I was new to NYC for work and needed to find a rental. Not only Talib was able to extend my stay in the hostel. Once I found a rental, he was being extremely flexible and refunded the remaining days that I didn't use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2018
5.7

Sorry but this hostel dont should be till open,need absolutely a restructuration,no enough locker,breakfast is a piece of bread with butter and coffe without milk,just one basic bathroom,the heating dont worked in my room,there was a small heater,felt not safe in the area,bed incomfortable,choose other location is better!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • gjevans7049
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2018
9.7

I have stayed in a few hostel in NY, but this one should be the number 1. Ok the place is a bit rustic but that's it quality. Hosts are so friendly and amusing from the second you walking in. Awesome atmosphere, fun and interesting travellers, cosy rooms, hot showers every day and kitchen facilities get the job done. Location is good, 25 mins from Manhattan and many supermarkets nearby. I highly recommend this hostel. Great for solo travellers. PS : you can even write on the walls. Thx Talib.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2018
10.0

Brooklyn Riviera is the #1 Hostel in NYC. Talib is bar none the greatest hostel host I've ever encountered. He's the hardest working man this side of the Pacific Ocean! Abbey is great guy as well. If you want to have a great experience. Come to Brooklyn Riviera!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2018
10.0

It was my perfect experience. It was so cheap and reasonable place with nice and kind staff, good location, service, and facilities. Most of all I want to say thanks to staff and his kindness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×