Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • armaankapila8515
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2018
9.1

The hostel was in an awesome location, close to everything and right in the centre of the canals and restauatants and easy walking distsnce to tourist sites. Staff were friendly and met some awesome people while here. Has a great terrace to relax and take in the city. Wish the toilets were stocked with handsoap but that's the only complaint I can think of. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katmarkham4000
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
8.9

The location and staff were both great! Right in the heart of red light district so lots to do all over the place day or night. The atmosphere of the hostel itself wasn’t really inviting for people to mingle or get to know each other and from what I could tell there were not planned group events. If they organized some group bike tours or nights out to a club or bar it would really enhance the atmosphere. Room and bathroom were clean. Security was awesome! Breakfast was ok (bread, cheese, meat).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jessica_w_gooding9244
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
9.4

Very chill environment, not the friendly traveler vibes I was expecting, people kept to themselves mainly. Otherwise really lovely, the location is great, WiFi was a bit annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JohnDaniels20097412
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
10.0

Wonderful location, easy to walk around and see everything you heart desires. Good connections to the tram as well when you want to venture out further !!! Highly recommended !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tuotuoliao1599
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
9.7

Great hostel. Friendly staff at the desk and perfect location. No problems at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bella57984
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2018
8.6

Really nice atmosphere and cool rooftop terrace but you needed a certain size of lock to actually lock the lockers which was annoying. The showers are decent and our room was very clean. The hostel was also really central so pretty close to lots of places. Would stay at again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
6.3

Hotel was okay, located in red light district so very busy and rowdy always. Staff were very friendly on arrival, accommodating me being gluten free by buying gluten free bread for the breakfast spread. However breakfast spread was disappointing and underwhelming. Stayed in an 8 bed female only dorm Room was an okay size. Weed could be smoked in all the downstairs area so constantly smelt. Had an area to wash and dry clothes which was helpful, however no kitchen area/microwave/kettle.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
6.0

Location was great, a few minutes walk and you’re at dam square and 10 minutes to centraal station. Hostel itself was pretty dark and lacked atmosphere. Beds were fine and lockers were a good size. Some beds in our room didn’t have plugs at their bedside and the bathroom was quite dirty. Breakfast was sufficient but served in the bar which was also really dark and grim. Amsterdam is expensive as it is but I do not believe this hostel was worth 40-50€ a night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tbernardi8886
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
6.3

First time at a hostel. Honestly pretty much what I expected--no frills but gets the job done. My only problem was one rude staff member at the check-in desk. The rest were pretty welcoming though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mjgiacoman8807
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2018
9.7

Loved the hostel! Very friendly staff, there’s AC in the rooms, it was big. It’s close to everything! Basically in the middle of town and super easy to get to. Will definitely be staying there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×