Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Apr 2018
9.7

Excellent hostel. Prime time location. Rooms cleaned daily. Good staff A++

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • steveismcgeough6520
  • Ireland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2018
9.4

Great location , friendly competent staff , I'd recommend it to anybody.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • schaabtm1763
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2018
9.1

If I were to come back to Amsterdam I would stay at the bulldog again. Perfect location and high security! The breakfast was very filling and was included which is awesome! The staff were amazing, and while we attempted to bar hop a bit we always ended up going back to the hostel bar because of the atmosphere and the good company from staff and fellow travelers. Oh and the beds were so comfortable!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Jmarcella079556
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2018
7.1

The rooms don't vent. So when someone takes a shower, the entire room turns into a sauna.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aalexandram
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
8.6

Our stay at the Bulldog was great. All people were very friendly and it was right in the city centre. It is in the very touristic part of the city, so if you don‘t like that noise and people everywhere you should probably look for another place to stay a bit more outside of the city. Other than that we are more than happy with our experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katiehendrickson74386
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2018
9.7

if you came to amsterdam to party, this is the place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2018
7.1

This hostel has more of a hotel vibe because it's so big. There not much atmosphere if you are travelling alone. Only communal area was the bar downstairs. Lockers were right next to two beds so sleeping in those beds would be hard. There are no soap in the toilets. WASHING YOUR CLOTHES COSTS 6€. Other than that good location, nice staff and cheap if you compare it to the other hostels in Amsterdam. Food in the hostel bar was cheap and tasty and it's ok to smoke weed at the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elivou6665
  • Greece, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2018
10.0

..felt homey. Interestingly and pleasantly surprised with the situation dere. In a good condition!..cool staff..😎😂😇🙌💘👍😉🙏 Thank you.E.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2018
9.1

Good secure hostel in a good location, friendly and helpful reception and with a nice atmosphere, would use again and recommend to fellow travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2018
9.4

Great security, 24/7 guard at the door. Rooms come with lockers and private bathroom / shower room. Great location, walking distance from everything in Amsterdam. A little pricey, but overall a very good hostel, I recommend staying here. Unless you are not ok with weed smoking, then steer clear.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×