Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 2886 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 2886 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hello2369
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2018
6.6

Staff were very helpful upon check-in. I didn't however know where the kitchen and free breakfast was until I checked out. The room was a bit dark and dingy. The floor and bathroom especially were not well maintained. The was one very flat pillow on the bed. I only stayed one night and it served my purpose but I wouldn't want to stay much longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2018
10.0

The best hostel in London so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hamletavenge500
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Oct 2018
9.7

I'd recommend this gem to anyone wanting to experience the Shoreditch/Hoxton scene with ultimate convenience. The place has everything you need, looks funky and arty with really friendly staff whose music selections are worth hearing downstairs. Then, once you've parked your bag and made your bed, you can just fall out the door into the heart of things and fall back in again when you're done. Simple. Book it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2018
7.7

The location is great for exploring Shoreditch, a really cool area of London--kind of like the Williamsburg/Bushwick scene if you know New York at all. The rooms are basic as hell--mattress and pillow are super thin and not meant for lazy mornings in bed. The toilet in my room was a little janky, but ya know this is one of those you get what you pay for to stay in a cool area of London things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • camilasmalucelli4749
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
5.7

The bedroom and batchroom was really dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • millymay20001314
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Sep 2018
7.7

Great location and chill hostel. Rooms needed a really good clean as they were dusty and had previous guests rubbish (clean bathrooms though). The price to stay on weekends is not great value but the free breakfast is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lanskyjack5081
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2018
2.0

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff was rude, the place was absolutely disgusting, and they blasted rap music 24/7. There are 16 beds to a room, the vibe was the worst I've experienced. Theres a loud club right next door with the queue literally in front of the hostel door. There are a million stairs and the layout is confusing. Bathrooms were gross. Constant drama. I could go on and on. If this is the only place available, go to another city.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2018
6.0

It was alright but I would have probably look for another hostel, had I planned to stay longer than just one nigth. The location is obviously, very good, and the room was alright, if on the smallish side, - a 4 bedded room with an "ensuite" bathroom- & it was clean if not shinning. The things I was missing in the room were: a bedside reading lamp & plug. It has to be also noted that the kitchen & sitting/eating area are just too small, specially for a hostel that offers "breakfast included".

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • stephanieanne19871962
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2018
6.6

Great location, but the rooms were so dusty and dirty they need to be cleaned better, it looked like it had never been mopped and dust had been left for months to gather! The bathroom was particularly bad with damp and mold. I’m not the only one who felt like this other girls in my dorm were complaining about it too!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • alexiglines159
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2018
3.7

This place was horrid! The rooms were super cramped, dusty, and so stuffy. The bathrooms smelled like mold and were always slightly wet, even when no one had showered for a few hours. Common areas are very small and stuffy as well. The only good things about this place were the price (very cheap) and the location (right in the heart of Shoreditch). The location might be a drawback for some, as party noise definitely drifts into the rooms at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×