Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • harriet0807
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2018
8.3

Overall it was good hostel to stay. The room I stayed was 12beds room, has enough space and big window, tho the noise from the street was quite disturbing. One disappointing thing was the bathroom. It had so many moles and wasn't clean enough. And I couldn't find personal power point so that could be bit uncomfortable if you stay more than one night. However, the staffs were really kind and the atmosphere was nice! Also there's a bus stop right in front of it which is really convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • antti6582
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
9.4

The staff was helpful and the room was clean. The fan in the ensuite turned on for 5-10 minutes every time the door was opened and it was very loud and squeaky. The beds don't have built-in charger ports so devices needed to be charged exposed from a wall outlet. But overall, very smooth and pleasant experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2018
6.3

This hostel was in a really great location, but the staff were not very friendly, and the room was not very clean. Please clean up all the dust and put fans in the rooms!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • stewartrachel934325
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
6.3

The staff were super friendly and the location was great. However our room was at the front of the building, straight on to the street and the window was broken. This meant it couldn’t be closed and it was really loud, making it difficult to sleep. The cleanliness also let it down, there was signs everywhere saying they cleaned everyday but we couldn’t even walk across the floor without shoes on it was that dirty. The poor ventilation meant the bathroom and shower constantly smelt of damp.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • indigotolhurst7654
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
6.6

Good location however it was so hot some nights it was impossible to sleep. Was not as easy to meet people as in other hostels. Showers and bathrooms were tiny and pretty grimy. Overall ok stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • fullerneil
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
4.9

Get some air conditioning. I was sweating all through the night which made it hard to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marthenribasa6254
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.7

Everything was going great - the singing receptionist, the room, the kitchen, the location, the price - until I saw the shower. It’s just me, I know, but if it were my place I’d bleach the crap out of that shower (or use clove oil) and remove the mould in there, top to bottom. Again, it was a great place to stay in. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
3.4

Filthy and overpriced. No fans or air conditioning

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • maggsie
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2018
6.0

We had a great time at The Dictionary. To begin with we had great roommates, some less fun ones after that. But that’s not the hostels fault! Got up early enough for breakfast once over our 5 night stay, would’ve been great if it had been on for further into the day. The room was extremely warm both during the day and at night. All in all, pretty good hostel in a fantastic location!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jamesthomassidhu285
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2018
2.0

Overcrowded, dirty, rude staff. Go to Clink or Wombats

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×