Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2618 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2618 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2018
7.1

I have stayed in this hostel a lot and it’s always been fine but it really depends on what room they give you. I was surprised when a 10 bed dorm had only 2 plugs between everyone and they weren’t very powerful or it took ages to charge or not at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2018
6.9

Hostel on a noisy street but central shoreditch what can you expect! Rooms were fine, mine had a cool swing in the middle of the room with ensuite shower and toilet which was convenient. Breakfast covered the basics with eggs too! However one of the staff members consistently begins shouting at everyone at 9:45am that the kitchen is about to close every morning. That guy cannot wait to get all of the guests out of that kitchen. Makes for an unwelcoming atomosphere. No ovens either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2018
8.9

The place is great! It’s clean, the staff is very friendly and always available. The only problem is that some guests tend to walk noisily around corridors at night slamming doors or even stop to talk loud waking up people in the rooms in the middle of the night. They should put big posters all over the walls urging party people to be extremely quiet and walk carefully in dorms corridors especially because since it’s an old building the floors are cracking. I struggled falling asleep there :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alanb19923859
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2018
10.0

Absolutely loved it. Can't wait to come back. Actually felt sad to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2018
8.6

Had heard some poor reviews but it’s great. Location fantastic, price incredibly cheap, beds are comfy, the bar is London prices but fun - I was there on a Monday night and people were still around. I’ve definetly stayed in way worse! This hostel is worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • adobre5442
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2018
7.1

Distinctly I have issues with persons culminating around my home and a black race supremist tax shelter (occultist) oriented church and other issues with telecommunications crimes , and destruction of property by stickers which is not unusual in the UK today . In this regard I experienced less of the distinct problems I experience at home ,area police and other services were not excessive did not go to extremes to assail concentration distinct of UK peoples. Hostel was polite compared to home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Rigolon
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2018
8.3

I stayed in a 12-bed dorm with a shared bathroom during one full week. The location is so great. It's good if you want a cheap place. The kitchen area was nice but would be better if there were more tables. There was no real common room except for the kitchen and the entrance. The shower was absolutely tiny. Unfortunately, the floors creak even when you walk on tiptoe. If you arrive later in room, probably someone will wake up because of noise. I had no problems in my room and I slept very well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • matthewhamway7566
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2018
7.1

Fine if you want a cheap place, don't care about sharing a room with lots of people and will be out and about all day anyway. Don't expect anything fancy, it's just a cheap and convenient place to stay - nothing more and nothing less!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • yvette7890
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2018
4.3

Possibly the worst hostel I've ever stayed in (and I've stayed in quite a few). The floors screeched even when you tip toe so I was constantly woken during the night when people arrived late. The rooms were tiny and dirty. The worst part of my experience was the terrible shower and toilet- the shower was literally located in a closet where there wasn't even enough room to get changed. There was zero privacy. Would NOT recommend! Avoid! Changed to Palmers Lodge and was MUCH better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2018
7.4

My room was right next to the stairs so you could hear everyone stomping up and down throughout the day, and the showers in the room were sadly out of order, but the location is impeccable for the area and I met some great people here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×