Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downing Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jun 2018
7.4

Decent place. Good cheap location downtown, near main transit station. Not much in terms of facilities, small but good kitchen. Bathrooms aren't the best, and there's no lockers but there's shelves for your stuff. Cheap option though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2018
7.7

Really nice and friendly staff, mostly other backpackers, which made for a cool environment, but it's as if as soon as you go upstairs that the whole hostel is cold. It's just a weird place to be honest, facilities are super old and the rooms are tiny with no lockers. But I didn't mind not having one, I was with some good people in my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jyweissberg2677
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
8.9

This place is special because (1) it’s significantly better than other hostels in the same area within the same price range - beds are comfortable & clean and same for rooms… , (2) the staff are epic, specifically the redhead at the desk who listens to motorhead whose name I forgot? Props to her for running things so well. And the hostel tends to draw a good crowd. I'd say the only downside is given it’s location (in city) it can get noisy from city commuting traffic early in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2018
2.3

This hostel was absolute filth. Smelt horrendous walking in and the bathrooms and rooms were filthy. It was actually not safe for my health to stay here. I checked in to my room and went to use the facilities before swiftly checking out. DO NOT stay here if you value your health. The excuse for the dirt from the staff? 'You were checked in earlier than most and the cleaning was still in progress'. Last I checked, mould doesn't happen overnight. Super disappointed in this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sadekabery98253
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2018
6.9

GREAT Location, friendly Staff, reasonable price, Biggest issue was no lockers, also dirty/stinky bathrooms and gets quite loud in weekend nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! You'll be pleased to hear we are going to renovate our bathrooms and install lockers shortly! I do hope you'll come back to see us on your next trip to Sydney and check it out!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2018
8.0

The hostel is well located, and the staff is nice. Unfortunately I had to share the hostel with really noisy people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Colmwalsh
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2018
10.0

Thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jagger-1235881
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2018
7.7

The beds, bathrooms, and kitchen are all very clean and well maintained. This is a comfortable hostel. Its a bit dark, as natural light is lacking. There is no common area/dining room, there are only a few tables in the hallway. There is the pub downstairs that shares the same building however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nickpetersen61686
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2018
8.3

We were only in town for a night and just needed a bed to sleep in between our activities, so for that this hostel met our needs perfectly. The location is extremely central and right near a large train station - it was quite loud overnight, but they mention this in their posting and don't try to hide it so you should know this before arriving. The rooms were quite small, but for our short stay it served it's purpose and none of us are particularly fussy. Would recommend it to friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! Please remember us next time you are in Sydney!

4th May 2018
8.6

It’s a good hostel, the most important is free washing machine, other hostel usually charge 8$

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are glad to see you have made great use of our facilities! Hope to see you next time you are in Sydney!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×