Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downing Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Dec 2017
10.0

I really like this place, in the middle of the city real cheap compared to many others around the area. Friendly staff, free wifi and $10 dollars meal at the bar. This is a basic hostel which does the trick for me. If you are a flashpackers this may not be your place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karenlangley907152
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2017
9.4

Basically the best place to start your whv in Sydney as it is cheap, close to everything, and not too noisy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aliceraspin
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Dec 2017
3.7

After backpacking through Asia then coming to Sydney, this was the worst hostel by far. No PowerPoints near beds, 1 for a room of 8 to share. No toilet paper in the toilets. 3 showers to share between 5 dorms. Zero atmosphere, most people staying here were working in Australia so there was no party vibe at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
4th Dec 2017
7.7

Was a decent place for a one night stay, but if you're looking to stay longer there are better hostels in Sydney with friendlier staff, better common areas and more toilet/shower facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Dec 2017
6.9

Nice enough place, pretty close to the centre of things, and right next to Museum station which was handy for getting to/from the airport. The 4 bed dorms were dreadfully hot, and didn't have an outside window so were really dark and stuffy - the 8 bed dorms were much nicer, really big and lots of storage space for bags. The kitchen was really small, and didn't have nearly enough stuff - frequently ran out of bowls at breakfast time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • leilakabbage3893
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2017
9.4

Honestly I don't understand what people are expecting for $30/night. The place is right in the city center and you 're close to literally everything! True that the facilities are not the best but they are fine; sinks are very small but showers are nice and big, small kitchen but we'll equipped, no lockers in the room but could store my laptop at Reception. Also I must say that staff is adorable, they are backpackers too and are doing their best so that you enjoy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2017
10.0

Location was perfect. Close to supermarkets, Hyde park and loads of bars. Nice atmosphere and super friendly staff! Will stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lukebrowne075052
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2017
10.0

The facilities are not the best but you definitely won't find a nicer place for such a cheap price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2017
6.9

Do not stay here in the summer, it’s absolutely atrociously hot. No where to hang out besides some tables in the hallway, very unimpressed. Would not stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2017
6.0

Basically you get what you pay for. Cheapest one we found but we regretted it, would’ve been easier to just pay a few more dollars and have a decent accommodation. Our light wouldn’t turn off and keys didn’t work, when I approached a staff member about our light not turning off when we were trying to sleep her rude response was “Well I’m not an electrician”. A few days later they got it fixed, and ther ‘apology’ was a knock-off mini Tim Tam. Will not return here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×