Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downing Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • georgie_dowles52
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
7.1

Only stayed one night, but only has one small kitchen between two floors. Okay beds and good location! Has a free washing machine and dryer which was ideal! really bad showers, only a drizzle and was only hot for two seconds! Staff were friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • danottawa025096
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2018
10.0

Really enjoyed staying here in Sydney! So close to all of the main attractions which was nice. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the place was convenient and clean! Will for sure stay here again next time I’m in Sydney. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fun and social place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • binglebrian8709
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Aug 2018
8.6

Great location and value for the money. The building was a bit old and not the cleanest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2018
10.0

THE BEST PLACE EVER. Great facilities and super central to everything! Lots of fun events every week, very clean kitchen & free laundry! Staff are what makes this place shine! Everyone is so welcoming and are always there to help you with any issues you may have. I’d definitely recommend this hostel if you are looking to work in the city but at the same time, enjoy a little party on the weekends! THANK YOU DOWNING

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2018
7.4

Decent place. Good cheap location downtown, near main transit station. Not much in terms of facilities, small but good kitchen. Bathrooms aren't the best, and there's no lockers but there's shelves for your stuff. Cheap option though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2018
7.7

Really nice and friendly staff, mostly other backpackers, which made for a cool environment, but it's as if as soon as you go upstairs that the whole hostel is cold. It's just a weird place to be honest, facilities are super old and the rooms are tiny with no lockers. But I didn't mind not having one, I was with some good people in my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jyweissberg2677
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
8.9

This place is special because (1) it’s significantly better than other hostels in the same area within the same price range - beds are comfortable & clean and same for rooms… , (2) the staff are epic, specifically the redhead at the desk who listens to motorhead whose name I forgot? Props to her for running things so well. And the hostel tends to draw a good crowd. I'd say the only downside is given it’s location (in city) it can get noisy from city commuting traffic early in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2018
2.3

This hostel was absolute filth. Smelt horrendous walking in and the bathrooms and rooms were filthy. It was actually not safe for my health to stay here. I checked in to my room and went to use the facilities before swiftly checking out. DO NOT stay here if you value your health. The excuse for the dirt from the staff? 'You were checked in earlier than most and the cleaning was still in progress'. Last I checked, mould doesn't happen overnight. Super disappointed in this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sadekabery98253
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2018
6.9

GREAT Location, friendly Staff, reasonable price, Biggest issue was no lockers, also dirty/stinky bathrooms and gets quite loud in weekend nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! You'll be pleased to hear we are going to renovate our bathrooms and install lockers shortly! I do hope you'll come back to see us on your next trip to Sydney and check it out!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2018
8.0

The hostel is well located, and the staff is nice. Unfortunately I had to share the hostel with really noisy people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×