Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alesandrei2979
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2018
9.7

Great time at Jack Bagpackers hostel. Clean room and nice staff. The location is perfect, definitely recommend this hostel !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2018
10.0

We enjoyed our stay so much, due to the amazing staff! Thank you all for making this an unforgettable memory. We stayed there 4 weeks and they made us feel welcome all the time. Furthermore the beds are comfy, the rooms are big and all areas are always clean. Another Highlight is the free meal. The only annoying thing was that they often change the scheduled menu. So, if you have allergies or you don't like the food you have to search for another opportunity.We recommend to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2018
8.9

Really great hostel. Definitely get your money's worth. The free wifi and free evening meals are a huge plus. It is quite loud at night (but they warn you about that). Kitchen and bathrooms are always in really good condition as well. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jasonkirby093364
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
7th Apr 2018
8.0

Great hostel. Dinner provided, however no vegetarian option :( Good location, right by a bar. I stayed in the motel side, felt nice, had own balcony. Will stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rachellecnik6161
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
8.0

The Jack is decent accomodation considering the price. If you're there on the weekend be aware that the pub next door will probably have loud music playing, but a pair of earplugs means that this shouldn't be too much of a problem. It is in a great location in the heart of Cairns, so easy to walk everywhere (the lagoon, cafes/restaurants/bars, shopping, pier etc.). Facilities in the deluxe rooms are minimal but clean and functioning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2018
8.9

Great hostel! Was travelling alone and it was so easy to meet people. Rooms were clean, and had security lockers and wifi which was great. Bathrooms were fine, not amazing but not disgusting. Air con in room was a huge bonus. Great location close to everything. Definitely would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • orla_forde1515
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2018
8.9

We stayed here for 4 nights. On a weekend Jacks is very loud at night but this was clearly stated in the description when booking. The hostel was clean and only short walk from the lagoon and centre of Cairns. The free evening meal was great. We didn’t really cook as we had the evening meal and were usually out on tours so can’t comment on the kitchen facilities. There wasn’t much of a common area so if you’re travelling alone I’d imagine it wouldn’t be great for meeting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fionamarshall27
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Feb 2018
7.4

Couple of rude staff, but the gentleman is lovely and really helpful. Great location, clean toilet and showers. Great happy hour in the bar downstairs. Free evening meal was good as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2018
10.0

I love this place, thank you alot! Perfect location, I like the idea that it’s combined with the pub. Arrived Sunday eve, there was live music :) managed to have the free dinner right on time (served between 6-8pm) and also to book some trips! I must stop by this, cause also thanks to Jason, the manager, was my trip just great! He is super friendly, really patient, gave me great tips for my trips and generally to everything.Thank you!!Another plus fridge in the room aand moka pot in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Feb 2018
7.1

If you want a good night's sleep don't stay here, the music is awful and plays loudly late into the night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×