Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 779 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 779 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2018
10.0

I love this place, thank you alot! Perfect location, I like the idea that it’s combined with the pub. Arrived Sunday eve, there was live music :) managed to have the free dinner right on time (served between 6-8pm) and also to book some trips! I must stop by this, cause also thanks to Jason, the manager, was my trip just great! He is super friendly, really patient, gave me great tips for my trips and generally to everything.Thank you!!Another plus fridge in the room aand moka pot in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Feb 2018
7.1

If you want a good night's sleep don't stay here, the music is awful and plays loudly late into the night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Feb 2018
7.1

Very noisy from venture downstairs with no attempt to sound proof anything. Aircon very cold. Wires and extension cables across the floor. Why do cleaners clean bathroom and kitchen in the mornings when it’s the most busiest?! Bunk beds were so flimsy and felt like it was going to collapse! Receptionist was a nice women. Luggage storage available until check in. Showers were decent with section to get changed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sfoblair8112
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2018
8.9

Cons: The music venue below is not a fit for everyone, it is very loud until late and the walls are fairly thin so revelers coming home late could be heard through the walls on either side. Overall as long as you stay up late or sleep heavily, not a bad stay. Never could find where free meals were served, but were there over a holiday so it's possible the meals were not available those days. Pros: Great location, easy walk to everything we wanted to see. Bar downstairs was great w/ great HH.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • georgeirwin1222
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2018
7.1

Dead atmosphere. Small free meal for dinner, will probably need another one to fill you up. Decent budget stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jan 2018
6.9

Hostel was okay, however the noise you can hear from the beer garden is very loud, if you want to sleep before 2am over a weekend then this isn’t the place. The beds were clean and comfy, toilets and showers were clean. In the kitchen there was a lot of ants. Free dinner was definitely a highlight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mialeedee
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2018
8.3

I've stayed twice at the Jack and can say it's a very nice place to stay! The location is close to the restaurants and the central mall and a close walk to the esplanade. The bar next door I guess can be either a blessing or a curse depending on what your plans are while in the city. For me it was a bit of a problem as my tours were early starts and I needed to sleep. Though once the live music stops and the bar shuts down it's very quiet and easy to sleep! All and all a pleasant stay! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2018
10.0

Their free dinners are actually really great! Fast wifi in rooms (able to stream movies). Actually thourghly cleaned rooms daily and made sure no left over items stayed there. They have live music almost every night (they play until about 11pm and can hear in rooms, so if you like to sleep early this might not be the best place for you - though with earplugs it's fine). Great location. Best hostel I've been to in all australia so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eskims9439
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2018
9.4

Great hostel in an even better location! The view of the harbor from their rooftop was awesome. I stayed in an ensuite and It was clean and comfortable, for the most part. The only things that were annoying is not having wifi in the rooms and my room had a ton of mosquitoes in it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2017
6.9

Hostel is attached to a live music bar and motel. I was in a motel room and it was soo unbearably loud every night. If you want to sleep or be up early, don’t stay here. The room was soo hot. It had AC but it couldn’t cool the room. The room had lockers and place to put baggage. The bathroom sink has no counter space, mirror was at awkward angel and no hand soap provided. The staff was nice but I’d say security and value here is lost. Would not stay again. Other travelers not considerate!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×