Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • megancf5447
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2018
4.3

This place was disgusting, the bed I arrived to was a broken top bunk and coved in hair so I had to strip the bed myself and sleep without anything on the mattress. The room stank and the fridge was full of disgusting smelling food that had definitely not been cleaned out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I would like to clear up a few issues from your review. 1. We DO NOT have any broken bunks. As soon as we are notified of any issues with bunks, we replace them immediately as we have plenty new ones in storage. 2. We consider ourselves the cleanest hostel in Cairns. We have a very dedicated team of housekeeping staff who clean the rooms 2x every day. The fridges are cleaned every day. If anything we get quite a few complaints about our housekeeping staff being too eager and throwing out food too early. 3. At no point during your stay did you raise these concerns with us. In fact it appears that you EXTENDED your stay for an extra night. Overall, we thank you for your review. However, as per our EXCELLENT scores on all websites, we believe we are the best hostel in Cairns and certainly one of the cleanest. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2018
7.7

It says they offer a free evening meal to all guests. This is not true. They do not cater to vegetarians so if you are veggie do not book this hostel in the hopes of getting a free meal. Wifi only works in communal areas and is a bit spotty.if you're not bothered about the free meal or wifi then this place is pretty good otherwise. Plenty of films to watch in the lounge, terrace outdoor area is good and sociable. Plenty of evening activities, lots of plug sockets, beds not too creaky

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maxobrien5558447
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
2.0

Never checked in, charged full amount

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • thebabyrobin
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2018
9.7

Loud but was warned about that. Good free dinner. Great staff. Really can’t complain, it had everything I needed and more. Would recommend and stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jun 2018
9.7

Great hostel, stayed in a 4 bed en suite - really spacious room with lockers and clean bathroom. Had an issue with the tap in the bathroom which wouldn’t turn off - we contacted reception straight away to let them know but nothing was done in our 3 day stay so it was constantly on. Bar at the hotel was really good, really great atmosphere and lots of space. As they tell you on arrival it’s extremely noisy in the room from the bar, but earplugs sort this out! Free meals was such a good bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nicklolp1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jun 2018
10.0

COULD NOT LEAVE THIS PLACE! Best hostel ever, staff are friendly and a good laugh, rooms are very clean and the bar/restaurant is great! Bar has many projectors that can be seen from the balcony on the motel side so World Cup viewing was perfect! Very good value for money. Only negative is that the ensuite bathroom doors don’t seem to lock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vickycullimore3605
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
8.0

This hostel is extremely noisy, they do make you sign something to say you acknowledge this when you check in but I had no idea quite how bad it would be! However the free dinner does make up for some of this... Overall, good place if you want to party, not so great if you’re wanting to get some sleep so you can see everything Cairns has to offer during the days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • duzeyyyy1009
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th May 2018
8.3

We stayed here for 4 nights in total, there was a “free” dinner each night although it was a very small portion and tbh every night sucked tbh however the beds are comfy enough, the place is clean enough, the WiFi is good and they have a tv room too all until roughly 10 o’clock when everything gets switched off we enjoyed our stay however some of the staff aren’t the friendliest, one dude in particular was very rude, thought he was a ticket not sure why though as he wasn’t built or “fit” lol

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2018
6.9

The Jack was ok. Many of the people staying there were doing work for accommodation or staying long term. The kitchen was awful as there were no plates, utensils, or cups. It was also SO LOUD, I knew that it was above a bar beforehand but it was above and beyond loud until early morning on the weekend. Free dinner was a plus and was what made me stay for my entire visit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alesandrei2979
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2018
9.7

Great time at Jack Bagpackers hostel. Clean room and nice staff. The location is perfect, definitely recommend this hostel !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×