Hostelworld.com

The Jack Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Nov 2018
8.9

Stayed here two nights, rooms were very spacious with lockers. For the price you are paying you can not complain, staff are really really friendly and very helpful. Evening meals were lovely (no veggi options) and even gave us free ear plugs as we stayed Friday and Saturday when the live music was loud. Thanks for having us :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hedonisticmelancholy99848
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2018
7.7

-My room was room 15 bunk 2 so it was right next to the open bar and friday it had a live band performance. Music was incredibly loud but i have managed to sleep thankfully. I heard there are earplugs available at the reception. -Lockers (without padlock) and a big container r provided for each bed. Great that there is a fridge and ensuite bathroom for the 4 bed female dorm. -hostel is right next to a local market which is cool, rather than a very touristy hotspot next to it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • megancf5447
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2018
4.3

This place was disgusting, the bed I arrived to was a broken top bunk and coved in hair so I had to strip the bed myself and sleep without anything on the mattress. The room stank and the fridge was full of disgusting smelling food that had definitely not been cleaned out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I would like to clear up a few issues from your review. 1. We DO NOT have any broken bunks. As soon as we are notified of any issues with bunks, we replace them immediately as we have plenty new ones in storage. 2. We consider ourselves the cleanest hostel in Cairns. We have a very dedicated team of housekeeping staff who clean the rooms 2x every day. The fridges are cleaned every day. If anything we get quite a few complaints about our housekeeping staff being too eager and throwing out food too early. 3. At no point during your stay did you raise these concerns with us. In fact it appears that you EXTENDED your stay for an extra night. Overall, we thank you for your review. However, as per our EXCELLENT scores on all websites, we believe we are the best hostel in Cairns and certainly one of the cleanest. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2018
7.7

It says they offer a free evening meal to all guests. This is not true. They do not cater to vegetarians so if you are veggie do not book this hostel in the hopes of getting a free meal. Wifi only works in communal areas and is a bit spotty.if you're not bothered about the free meal or wifi then this place is pretty good otherwise. Plenty of films to watch in the lounge, terrace outdoor area is good and sociable. Plenty of evening activities, lots of plug sockets, beds not too creaky

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maxobrien5558447
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
2.0

Never checked in, charged full amount

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • thebabyrobin
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2018
9.7

Loud but was warned about that. Good free dinner. Great staff. Really can’t complain, it had everything I needed and more. Would recommend and stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • liamallenstringer1826
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2018
9.7

I can easily say this is the best Hostel I have stayed in whilst in Australia. The reception is incredibly helpful with whatever you need, including discounts on tours and experiences. The housekeeping team do an incredible job of keeping the place clean every day! Night security work really well when put in tricky situations at 3 in the morning.. & the events and games held in the evenings downstairs with free drinks and prizes are a lot of fun, expecialy when you win!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jun 2018
9.7

Great hostel, stayed in a 4 bed en suite - really spacious room with lockers and clean bathroom. Had an issue with the tap in the bathroom which wouldn’t turn off - we contacted reception straight away to let them know but nothing was done in our 3 day stay so it was constantly on. Bar at the hotel was really good, really great atmosphere and lots of space. As they tell you on arrival it’s extremely noisy in the room from the bar, but earplugs sort this out! Free meals was such a good bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nicklolp1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jun 2018
10.0

COULD NOT LEAVE THIS PLACE! Best hostel ever, staff are friendly and a good laugh, rooms are very clean and the bar/restaurant is great! Bar has many projectors that can be seen from the balcony on the motel side so World Cup viewing was perfect! Very good value for money. Only negative is that the ensuite bathroom doors don’t seem to lock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vickycullimore3605
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
8.0

This hostel is extremely noisy, they do make you sign something to say you acknowledge this when you check in but I had no idea quite how bad it would be! However the free dinner does make up for some of this... Overall, good place if you want to party, not so great if you’re wanting to get some sleep so you can see everything Cairns has to offer during the days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×