Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • asiakmba6475
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
10.0

I love this place! I will be staying here every time I visit NYC. I would recommend some earplugs. The rooms are smaller and the doors are closer in proximity. This means you may be woken up but a door closing from another room throughout the night. No fault of the hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kathrynjacksonnc3789
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2017
9.7

Super cool historic hotel with private "cabins" built for sailors and large, clean shared restrooms at the end of the hall. All 100% great except for a little bit of noise from the bar? club? downstairs. But it was Saturday night, and I didn't have any problem falling asleep. The air conditioner almost drowned it out. Great staff, great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2017
9.1

Loved my stay at The Jane! It's a very romantic portal back in time. My single cabin was cozy and comfortable. The hotel breathes fresh air through windows that open! Time has stopped in the most fascinating ballroom. Great building but its the fine service from the friendly staff that made my at The Jane so enjoyable! Everyone from the front desk, to the bellmen, to the barman, to housekeeping staff even the engineer I needed early Sunday morning made me feel welcome. Can't wait to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2017
6.9

Great area but was very noisy at night, with lots of slamming doors.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2017
8.9

I really liked it. the room was cozy and clean, and it was private. Unfortunately, I ran into someone in the bathroom who couldn't sleep due to the bar in the building. I had zero problems with that but where your room is located may affect your ability to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2017
9.4

The Jane is a unique hostel. Amazing location and history. Only loses points for being 'the place to be' on a Friday and Saturday night. The basement club is super popular with the king and queen chodes of NYC. Prepare to have to fight past crowds and explain yourself to bouncers everytime you want to go to sleep on the weekend. The club will also be playing techno until 4am Friday/Saturday. It's a testament to how good the hostel is that this is a minor issue in total.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
9.4

When I'm in NYC, I'm almost always out-and-about, A small affordable room is perfect for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.7

Very nice place to stay for individuals or couples. Good location for tourists. Especially friendly and helpful stuff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Lovely hotel situated in a nice safe neighbourhood. Pros - great members of staff, comfortable beds, daily change of towels and room clean. 30 min walk to Times Square, free bikes to rent, amazing rooftop view from the bar and safe for solo travelers. Cons - the music in the bar goes on until I think 11pm and you can hear it from the rooms, it didn't bother me but if you want to go to bed early it's a no. The carpet in my room smelt funny, I think because the windows won't open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
10.0

Great place, very convenient location. Staff were professional and overall pleasant

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×