Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Local NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2018
9.1

Beautiful hostel in excellent location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
10.0

The Local NYC is a fantastic hostel! It's located either right on or a short walk to 3 major subway lines. So getting into Manhattan or to Brooklyn was a breeze. The staff was amazing, especially the bar staff. Jorge and Kingsley were fantastic. The rooms are nice and clean and well laid out. There is a kitchen so you can store and cook your own meals if you want. Plus laundry facilities in the building. Oh, and you get a welcome drink. If you plan on going to NYC, this is a phenomenal hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
6th Sep 2018
8.0

Great stay. Had everything we needed. Friendly staff and walking distance to subway. Good bar and shops nearby. Room was clean and very spacious. However no curtain on window so quite bright in the morning

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dhoard214645
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2018
9.7

This place is awesome! If you want to see NYC without breaking the bank I highly recommend staying here. The staff is friendly, there's a bar, library with computers, a kitchen, and even a rooftop view! The best part is that you get all this for well under $100 a night. If I had more time there I definitely would've tried to get to know the other hostel guests there. There was not one unfriendly person there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2018
8.9

Pretty good hostel with good breakfast included. the rooms are clean, not too spacious and no place to sit in the room. In the common areas there are a LOT of places to sit but just not in the room. Virtually no atmosphere, mostly groups unfortunately - but maybe its a matter of luck. Location is good but not amazing. The subway is really close. If you're tall, the dorm beds might be problematic for you (im 6"1' and it was just exact) Overall a very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2018
9.7

This is a fantastic hostel. The staff was great, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and it was very easy to get to Manhatten. When I come back to New York I'll stay with them again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • knightizzy1111663
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2018
9.7

It was awesome. The staff were super friendly. Great location. You could walk to the subway meaning you could get pretty much anywhere in the city super easy. The staff were great with any questions I had. They have heaps of free stuff on at all times. There is an awesome bar downstairs where you meet great people. The only drawback would be that they don’t have an elevator so you will have to hike up the stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2018
10.0

Very friendly staff and clean room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2018
7.1

the cafe is nice to have inside. the mattress was terrible. I felt the coils thru the mattress. the room had a musty smell, not pleasant. I liked the oatmeal from the cafe and being able to sit outside in backyard. It was a nice morning sitting out there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sjvictory982530
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2018
9.7

Super clean, friendly staff, great value, full kitchen was fantastic 😊😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×